1997 Houston Astros
Personnel | Standings | Splits | Regular Season
National League Division Series


Summary:

84-78, First place, NL Central
NL Central Division Champions


Manager: Larry Dierker

Coaches:

NameAssignmentFirst GameLast Game
Alan AshbyCoach4/1/19979/28/1997
Jose CruzFirst base4/1/19979/28/1997
Mike CubbageThird base4/1/19979/28/1997
Tommy McCrawHitting4/1/19979/28/1997
Vern RuhlePitching4/1/19979/28/1997
Bill VirdonCoach4/1/19979/28/1997

Players:

Bobby Abreu Brad Ausmus Jeff Bagwell Manuel Barrios Derek Bell
Sean Berry Craig Biggio Tim Bogar Jose Cabrera Chuck Carr
Tony Eusebio Sid Fernandez Ramon Garcia Luis Gonzalez Tommy Greene
Ricky Gutierrez Mike Hampton Oscar Henriquez Richard Hidalgo Chris Holt
Thomas Howard John Hudek Russ Johnson Darryl Kile Randy Knorr
Jose Lima Pat Listach Mike Magnante Tom Martin Blas Minor
Ray Montgomery James Mouton Tony Pena J.R. Phillips Ken Ramos
Shane Reynolds Luis Rivera Bill Spiers Russ Springer Billy Wagner
Donne Wall


Standings: 1997 NL Central Division

Team G W L Pct RS RA GB
Houston Astros 162 84 78 .519 777 660 -
Pittsburgh Pirates 162 79 83 .488 725 760 5.0
Cincinnati Reds 162 76 86 .469 651 764 8.0
St. Louis Cardinals 162 73 89 .451 689 708 11.0
Chicago Cubs 162 68 94 .420 687 759 16.0

Finish: First place out of five, -5 games behind


Team splits:

Total Home Road
Team G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
Atlanta Braves 11 4 7 .364 36 40 5 2 3 .400 12 14 6 2 4 .333 24 26
Chicago Cubs 12 9 3 .750 66 45 6 5 1 .833 32 14 6 4 2 .667 34 31
Chicago White Sox 3 0 3 .000 7 17 - - - - - - 3 0 3 .000 7 17
Cincinnati Reds 12 7 5 .583 53 44 6 3 3 .500 21 24 6 4 2 .667 32 20
Cleveland Indians 3 1 2 .333 16 16 3 1 2 .333 16 16 - - - - - -
Colorado Rockies 11 6 5 .545 67 49 6 4 2 .667 34 20 5 2 3 .400 33 29
Florida Marlins 11 4 7 .364 49 52 5 3 2 .600 30 20 6 1 5 .167 19 32
Kansas City Royals 3 1 2 .333 14 13 - - - - - - 3 1 2 .333 14 13
Los Angeles Dodgers 11 7 4 .636 46 39 5 4 1 .800 24 11 6 3 3 .500 22 28
Milwaukee Brewers 3 1 2 .333 8 7 3 1 2 .333 8 7 - - - - - -
Minnesota Twins 3 1 2 .333 5 16 3 1 2 .333 5 16 - - - - - -
Montreal Expos 11 8 3 .727 71 44 6 5 1 .833 46 26 5 3 2 .600 25 18
New York Mets 11 7 4 .636 51 40 5 3 2 .600 19 16 6 4 2 .667 32 24
Philadelphia Phillies 11 4 7 .364 60 56 5 2 3 .400 25 23 6 2 4 .333 35 33
Pittsburgh Pirates 12 6 6 .500 53 45 6 3 3 .500 22 21 6 3 3 .500 31 24
San Diego Padres 11 6 5 .545 82 62 6 2 4 .333 38 40 5 4 1 .800 44 22
San Francisco Giants 11 3 8 .273 42 38 5 2 3 .400 16 13 6 1 5 .167 26 25
St. Louis Cardinals 12 9 3 .750 51 37 6 5 1 .833 25 16 6 4 2 .667 26 21
Total 162 84 78 .519 777 660 81 46 35 .568 373 297 81 38 43 .469 404 363

Division splits:

Total Home Road
Division G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
NL East 55 27 28 .491 267 232 26 15 11 .577 132 99 29 12 17 .414 135 133
NL Central 48 31 17 .646 223 171 24 16 8 .667 100 75 24 15 9 .625 123 96
NL West 44 22 22 .500 237 188 22 12 10 .545 112 84 22 10 12 .455 125 104
AL Central 15 4 11 .267 50 69 9 3 6 .333 29 39 6 1 5 .167 21 30
Total 162 84 78 .519 777 660 81 46 35 .568 373 297 81 38 43 .469 404 363

League splits:

Total Home Road
League G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
National League 147 80 67 .544 727 591 72 43 29 .597 344 258 75 37 38 .493 383 333
American League 15 4 11 .267 50 69 9 3 6 .333 29 39 6 1 5 .167 21 30
Total 162 84 78 .519 777 660 81 46 35 .568 373 297 81 38 43 .469 404 363

Splits by month:

Total Home Road
Month G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
April 26 15 11 .577 113 92 13 8 5 .615 51 39 13 7 6 .538 62 53
May 28 11 17 .393 120 136 12 6 6 .500 51 60 16 5 11 .313 69 76
June 28 14 14 .500 122 128 13 7 6 .538 43 53 15 7 8 .467 79 75
July 26 19 7 .731 142 83 15 10 5 .667 78 55 11 9 2 .818 64 28
August 28 11 17 .393 141 129 14 7 7 .500 77 55 14 4 10 .286 64 74
September 26 14 12 .538 139 92 14 8 6 .571 73 35 12 6 6 .500 66 57
Total 162 84 78 .519 777 660 81 46 35 .568 373 297 81 38 43 .469 404 363

Day/night splits:

Total Home Road
Day / night G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
Day 50 27 23 .540 233 181 23 15 8 .652 104 69 27 12 15 .444 129 112
Night 112 57 55 .509 544 479 58 31 27 .534 269 228 54 26 28 .481 275 251
Total 162 84 78 .519 777 660 81 46 35 .568 373 297 81 38 43 .469 404 363

Splits by day of week:

Total Home Road
Day of week G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
Sunday 26 15 11 .577 120 97 13 9 4 .692 52 39 13 6 7 .462 68 58
Monday 18 7 11 .389 76 82 8 2 6 .250 27 30 10 5 5 .500 49 52
Tuesday 25 13 12 .520 135 103 14 7 7 .500 71 60 11 6 5 .545 64 43
Wednesday 24 14 10 .583 122 96 12 8 4 .667 57 34 12 6 6 .500 65 62
Thursday 17 9 8 .529 97 71 8 5 3 .625 49 28 9 4 5 .444 48 43
Friday 26 12 14 .462 111 106 13 8 5 .615 54 50 13 4 9 .308 57 56
Saturday 26 14 12 .538 116 105 13 7 6 .538 63 56 13 7 6 .538 53 49
Total 162 84 78 .519 777 660 81 46 35 .568 373 297 81 38 43 .469 404 363

Score by inning:

Home 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 Total
Opponent 42 30 23 39 24 21 31 40 38 6 2 0 1 0 297
Houston 48 37 62 44 43 29 54 40 10 3 2 0 0 1 373

Road 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Total
Houston 61 32 44 39 55 51 43 41 30 3 1 0 2 0 2 404
Opponent 43 29 36 51 47 42 44 48 14 5 3 1 0 0 0 363

Total 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Total
Opponent 85 59 59 90 71 63 75 88 52 11 5 1 1 0 0 660
Houston 109 69 106 83 98 80 97 81 40 6 3 0 2 1 2 777


Regular Season

Date Opponent Score Rec Strk WP LP SV A T D/N
Tue 4/1/1997 vs Braves W 2-1 1-0 W1 Reynolds (1-0) Smoltz (0-1) Wagner (1) 44,618 2:29 N
Wed 4/2/1997 vs Braves W 4-3 2-0 W2 Hampton (1-0) Maddux (0-1) Wagner (2) 16,308 2:34 N
Thu 4/3/1997 vs Braves L 2-3 2-1 L1 Glavine (1-0) Kile (0-1) Wohlers (1) 17,963 2:38 N
Fri 4/4/1997 vs Cardinals W 3-2 (11) 3-1 W1 Springer (1-0) Ludwick (0-1) 25,985 3:56 N
Sat 4/5/1997 vs Cardinals W 6-2 4-1 W2 Fernandez (1-0) Osborne (0-1) Garcia (1) 25,957 2:54 N
Sun 4/6/1997 vs Cardinals W 3-2 5-1 W3 Martin (1-0) Frascatore (0-1) Wagner (3) 18,752 2:44 D
Tue 4/8/1997 at Braves L 2-4 5-2 L1 Glavine (2-0) Hampton (1-1) Wohlers (3) 31,064 2:48 N
Wed 4/9/1997 at Braves L 3-4 (12) 5-3 L2 Embree (1-0) Lima (0-1) 33,986 3:48 N
Thu 4/10/1997 at Braves W 5-3 6-3 W1 Holt (1-0) Smoltz (1-2) Hudek (1) 33,637 2:58 N
Fri 4/11/1997 at Cardinals L 2-4 6-4 L1 Batchelor (1-1) Reynolds (1-1) Eckersley (1) 23,744 2:41 N
Sat 4/12/1997 at Cardinals W 7-5 7-4 W1 Garcia (1-0) Stottlemyre (0-1) Wagner (4) 28,235 3:15 D
Sun 4/13/1997 at Cardinals L 2-6 7-5 L1 Alan Benes (1-1) Hampton (1-2) Eckersley (2) 22,705 2:38 N
Mon 4/14/1997 at Cardinals W 4-2 (10) 8-5 W1 Wagner (1-0) Eckersley (0-1) Hudek (2) 22,623 3:11 D
Tue 4/15/1997 vs Expos L 5-7 8-6 L1 Martinez (1-0) Holt (1-1) 18,602 2:30 N
Wed 4/16/1997 vs Expos W 10-2 9-6 W1 Reynolds (2-1) Valdes (0-2) 14,046 3:01 N
Fri 4/18/1997 at Dodgers L 3-5 9-7 L1 Martinez (2-1) Hampton (1-3) Worrell (5) 38,937 3:25 N
Sat 4/19/1997 at Dodgers W 2-1 10-7 W1 Kile (1-1) Nomo (2-1) Wagner (5) 46,244 3:07 N
Sun 4/20/1997 at Dodgers W 3-1 11-7 W2 Holt (2-1) Candiotti (2-1) Hudek (3) 33,250 2:21 D
Tue 4/22/1997 at Padres W 12-3 12-7 W3 Reynolds (3-1) Valenzuela (1-2) 16,748 3:15 N
Wed 4/23/1997 at Padres W 11-7 13-7 W4 Garcia (2-0) Worrell (1-3) 15,534 3:09 N
Fri 4/25/1997 vs Giants W 5-4 14-7 W5 Wagner (2-0) Roa (1-1) 26,705 2:37 N
Sat 4/26/1997 vs Giants L 0-2 14-8 L1 Estes (4-0) Holt (2-2) 36,837 2:17 N
Sun 4/27/1997 vs Giants L 2-3 14-9 L2 Fernandez (3-1) Reynolds (3-2) Beck (11) 22,316 2:33 D
Mon 4/28/1997 vs Rockies L 6-7 (10) 14-10 L3 McCurry (1-0) Wagner (2-1) Ruffin (6) 13,510 3:35 N
Tue 4/29/1997 vs Rockies W 3-1 15-10 W1 Wall (1-0) Bailey (3-1) Hudek (4) 13,567 2:16 D
Wed 4/30/1997 at Expos L 6-8 15-11 L1 Perez (4-1) Kile (1-2) Urbina (2) 12,346 3:01 N
Thu 5/1/1997 at Expos L 0-4 15-12 L2 Martinez (4-0) Holt (2-3) 12,328 2:11 D
Fri 5/2/1997 vs Marlins W 2-1 16-12 W1 Reynolds (4-2) Rapp (2-2) Wagner (6) 25,421 2:32 N
Sat 5/3/1997 vs Marlins L 8-9 (13) 16-13 L1 Heredia (2-0) Garcia (2-1) Powell (1) 24,539 4:54 N
Sun 5/4/1997 vs Marlins W 1-0 17-13 W1 Kile (2-2) Brown (3-2) 16,469 2:25 N
Mon 5/5/1997 vs Phillies W 9-2 18-13 W2 Holt (3-3) Leiter (3-3) 11,268 2:33 N
Tue 5/6/1997 vs Phillies L 1-5 18-14 L1 Schilling (4-3) Garcia (2-2) 12,179 3:05 N
Wed 5/7/1997 vs Mets L 1-4 18-15 L2 Reynoso (2-0) Martin (1-1) J. Franco (8) 12,574 2:55 N
Thu 5/8/1997 vs Mets W 4-2 19-15 W1 Hampton (2-3) Reed (3-2) Wagner (7) 12,842 2:28 D
Fri 5/9/1997 at Marlins L 2-3 19-16 L1 Nen (2-1) Lima (0-2) 30,525 3:04 N
Sat 5/10/1997 at Marlins W 4-2 20-16 W1 Holt (4-3) Helling (1-2) Wagner (8) 42,132 3:04 N
Sun 5/11/1997 at Marlins L 3-6 20-17 L1 Fernandez (4-4) Wall (1-1) Nen (9) 30,030 3:06 D
Mon 5/12/1997 at Marlins L 4-11 20-18 L2 Stanifer (1-0) Reynolds (4-3) 15,342 2:51 N
Tue 5/13/1997 at Mets L 3-4 20-19 L3 McMichael (3-2) Springer (1-1) J. Franco (11) 13,997 2:28 N
Wed 5/14/1997 at Mets W 1-0 21-19 W1 Kile (3-2) McMichael (3-3) Wagner (9) 13,051 2:28 N
Fri 5/16/1997 at Phillies W 12-7 22-19 W2 Holt (5-3) Leiter (3-4) 13,456 3:09 N
Sat 5/17/1997 at Phillies L 2-4 22-20 L1 Schilling (6-3) Reynolds (4-4) Bottalico (9) 17,138 2:27 N
Sun 5/18/1997 at Phillies L 3-5 22-21 L2 Stephenson (1-0) Hampton (2-4) Bottalico (10) 17,367 2:29 D
Mon 5/19/1997 at Phillies W 9-5 23-21 W1 Kile (4-2) Maduro (3-5) 15,122 3:01 N
Tue 5/20/1997 vs Reds L 4-7 23-22 L1 Smiley (4-6) Springer (1-2) Shaw (5) 14,954 2:51 N
Wed 5/21/1997 vs Reds W 4-3 (14) 24-22 W1 Martin (2-1) Sullivan (0-1) 15,088 4:22 N
Fri 5/23/1997 at Rockies L 7-8 24-23 L1 Jones (1-0) Wall (1-2) S. Reed (4) 48,127 2:42 N
Sat 5/24/1997 at Rockies W 7-0 25-23 W1 Kile (5-2) Burke (0-1) 48,129 2:48 D
Sun 5/25/1997 at Rockies L 5-8 25-24 L1 Bailey (5-4) Garcia (2-3) Munoz (1) 48,222 2:55 D
Mon 5/26/1997 at Giants L 3-4 25-25 L2 Tavarez (1-2) Lima (0-3) 16,059 3:09 D
Tue 5/27/1997 at Giants L 4-5 (10) 25-26 L3 Beck (3-2) Wagner (2-2) 8,437 3:18 D
Thu 5/29/1997 vs Padres W 10-6 26-26 W1 Kile (6-2) Valenzuela (2-7) 13,793 3:23 N
Fri 5/30/1997 vs Padres L 2-9 26-27 L1 Cunnane (3-1) Holt (5-4) Worrell (1) 31,339 2:43 N
Sat 5/31/1997 vs Padres L 5-12 26-28 L2 Hitchcock (5-5) Reynolds (4-5) Smith (1) 39,286 2:58 N
Sun 6/1/1997 vs Padres L 3-6 26-29 L3 Hamilton (4-2) Wagner (2-3) Hoffman (8) 19,899 2:57 D
Mon 6/2/1997 vs Dodgers W 2-0 27-29 W1 Wall (2-2) Nomo (5-5) Lima (1) 16,227 2:28 N
Tue 6/3/1997 vs Dodgers W 4-3 (10) 28-29 W2 Magnante (1-0) Radinsky (2-1) 17,268 3:16 D
Wed 6/4/1997 at Reds W 5-2 29-29 W3 Holt (6-4) Burba (4-5) Wagner (10) 18,849 2:29 N
Thu 6/5/1997 at Reds L 5-6 29-30 L1 Schourek (5-4) Reynolds (4-6) Shaw (9) 22,437 2:53 D
Fri 6/6/1997 at Padres W 8-7 30-30 W1 Lima (1-3) Hamilton (4-3) Wagner (11) 21,700 3:27 N
Sat 6/7/1997 at Padres L 4-5 (10) 30-31 L1 Hoffman (3-3) Garcia (2-4) 34,763 3:24 N
Sun 6/8/1997 at Padres W 9-0 31-31 W1 Kile (7-2) Valenzuela (2-8) 28,939 2:40 D
Mon 6/9/1997 at Dodgers L 3-8 31-32 L1 Martinez (6-3) Holt (6-5) 25,585 2:54 N
Tue 6/10/1997 at Dodgers W 6-3 32-32 W1 Magnante (2-0) Osuna (1-2) Wagner (12) 26,491 3:16 N
Wed 6/11/1997 at Dodgers L 5-10 32-33 L1 Park (5-3) Hampton (2-5) 52,873 3:09 N
Fri 6/13/1997 vs Twins L 1-8 32-34 L2 Radke (6-5) Wall (2-3) 30,956 2:40 N
Sat 6/14/1997 vs Twins L 1-6 32-35 L3 Robertson (7-3) Kile (7-3) 27,172 2:44 N
Sun 6/15/1997 vs Twins W 3-2 33-35 W1 Wagner (3-3) Guardado (0-2) 28,218 2:35 D
Mon 6/16/1997 at Royals L 2-5 33-36 L1 Rosado (7-3) Hampton (2-6) 22,528 2:47 N
Tue 6/17/1997 at Royals W 10-2 34-36 W1 Garcia (3-4) Haney (0-2) 20,588 2:46 N
Wed 6/18/1997 at Royals L 2-6 34-37 L1 Pittsley (2-4) Wall (2-4) 20,085 2:30 N
Fri 6/20/1997 vs Cubs W 7-3 35-37 W1 Kile (8-3) Trachsel (4-6) 30,085 2:49 N
Sat 6/21/1997 vs Cubs W 7-3 36-37 W2 Holt (7-5) Castillo (4-9) 25,227 2:52 D
Sun 6/22/1997 vs Cubs W 3-1 37-37 W3 Hampton (3-6) Foster (8-5) Wagner (13) 23,407 2:15 D
Mon 6/23/1997 vs Pirates L 0-6 37-38 L1 Cordova (6-5) Garcia (3-5) 16,738 2:24 N
Tue 6/24/1997 vs Pirates L 3-8 37-39 L2 Lieber (4-8) Wall (2-5) 17,972 2:44 N
Wed 6/25/1997 vs Pirates W 5-1 38-39 W1 Kile (9-3) Sodowsky (0-1) 26,954 2:30 D
Thu 6/26/1997 at Cubs W 7-6 (10) 39-39 W2 Wagner (4-3) Adams (1-4) Minor (1) 30,473 3:52 N
Fri 6/27/1997 at Cubs L 1-2 39-40 L1 Foster (9-5) Hampton (3-7) Wendell (4) 28,265 2:54 D
Sat 6/28/1997 at Cubs L 2-5 39-41 L2 Gonzalez (4-2) Garcia (3-6) Bottenfield (1) 38,244 2:58 D
Sun 6/29/1997 at Cubs W 10-8 40-41 W1 Minor (1-0) Mulholland (5-9) Wagner (14) 30,542 3:34 D
Mon 6/30/1997 vs Indians L 4-6 40-42 L1 Mesa (1-4) Martin (2-2) M. Jackson (9) 29,051 3:07 N
Tue 7/1/1997 vs Indians L 6-8 40-43 L2 Plunk (3-2) Lima (1-4) M. Jackson (10) 23,998 3:05 N
Wed 7/2/1997 vs Indians W 6-2 41-43 W1 Hampton (4-7) Hershiser (7-5) 25,661 2:33 N
Thu 7/3/1997 vs Reds L 3-4 41-44 L1 Smiley (6-10) Garcia (3-7) Shaw (17) 14,708 2:33 N
Fri 7/4/1997 vs Reds L 2-4 41-45 L2 Morgan (3-5) Greene (0-1) Shaw (18) 34,080 2:43 N
Sat 7/5/1997 vs Reds W 2-1 42-45 W1 Kile (10-3) Mercker (6-6) Wagner (15) 24,022 2:26 N
Sun 7/6/1997 vs Reds W 6-5 43-45 W2 Wagner (5-3) Remlinger (3-4) 25,564 2:43 D
Thu 7/10/1997 at Pirates W 7-0 44-45 W3 Kile (11-3) Schmidt (4-5) 17,335 2:39 N
Fri 7/11/1997 at Pirates W 10-0 45-45 W4 Hampton (5-7) Loaiza (6-6) 21,913 2:37 N
Sat 7/12/1997 at Pirates L 0-3 (10) 45-46 L1 Rincon (3-4) Hudek (0-1) 44,119 2:39 N
Sun 7/13/1997 at Pirates L 3-5 45-47 L2 Sodowsky (1-1) Springer (1-3) Loiselle (11) 25,675 3:03 D
Mon 7/14/1997 at Cubs W 9-7 (15) 46-47 W1 Wagner (6-3) Tatis (0-1) Springer (1) 27,803 5:19 N
Tue 7/15/1997 at Cubs W 5-3 47-47 W2 Kile (12-3) Rojas (0-3) Magnante (1) 19,323 2:42 D
Wed 7/16/1997 vs Giants W 8-1 48-47 W3 Hampton (6-7) Foulke (1-4) 24,522 2:45 N
Thu 7/17/1997 vs Giants L 1-3 48-48 L1 Gardner (10-4) Holt (7-6) Beck (30) 29,955 2:33 D
Fri 7/18/1997 at Expos W 2-0 49-48 W1 Garcia (4-7) Martinez (11-5) Wagner (16) 19,379 2:52 N
Sat 7/19/1997 at Expos W 8-6 50-48 W2 Reynolds (5-6) Juden (11-3) Wagner (17) 34,518 3:13 N
Sun 7/20/1997 at Expos W 9-0 51-48 W3 Kile (13-3) Hermanson (4-5) 26,873 2:14 D
Tue 7/22/1997 at Cardinals W 4-2 52-48 W4 Hampton (7-7) Andy Benes (6-5) Wagner (18) 33,964 2:26 N
Wed 7/23/1997 at Cardinals W 7-2 53-48 W5 Magnante (3-0) Stottlemyre (9-7) 33,376 2:52 N
Thu 7/24/1997 vs Expos W 10-5 54-48 W6 Martin (3-2) Telford (2-3) 23,889 2:55 N
Fri 7/25/1997 vs Expos W 5-2 55-48 W7 Kile (14-3) Juden (11-4) 35,102 2:18 N
Sat 7/26/1997 vs Expos W 9-8 (10) 56-48 W8 Wagner (7-3) Urbina (3-7) 33,868 3:21 N
Sun 7/27/1997 vs Expos W 7-2 57-48 W9 Hampton (8-7) Bullinger (6-10) 26,713 2:12 D
Mon 7/28/1997 vs Cardinals L 1-2 57-49 L1 Stottlemyre (10-7) Holt (7-7) Eckersley (26) 25,995 2:20 N
Tue 7/29/1997 vs Cardinals W 5-4 58-49 W1 Reynolds (6-6) Osborne (1-3) Wagner (19) 25,399 3:06 N
Wed 7/30/1997 vs Cardinals W 7-4 59-49 W2 Kile (15-3) Fossas (1-2) Martin (1) 28,204 3:04 N
Fri 8/1/1997 vs Mets L 5-8 (10) 59-50 L1 J. Franco (3-1) Lima (1-5) 33,589 3:28 N
Sat 8/2/1997 vs Mets W 6-0 60-50 W1 Hampton (9-7) Jones (12-7) 31,929 2:33 D
Sun 8/3/1997 vs Mets W 3-2 61-50 W2 Martin (4-2) McMichael (7-9) 35,788 3:06 D
Mon 8/4/1997 at Marlins L 1-4 61-51 L1 Hernandez (6-0) Holt (7-8) Powell (2) 18,323 2:17 N
Tue 8/5/1997 at Marlins L 5-6 61-52 L2 Nen (8-2) Wagner (7-4) 25,483 3:13 N
Wed 8/6/1997 at Phillies L 4-6 61-53 L3 Stephenson (6-5) Garcia (4-8) Bottalico (21) 15,557 2:40 N
Thu 8/7/1997 at Phillies L 5-6 (11) 61-54 L4 Brewer (1-2) Martin (4-3) 18,046 3:17 D
Fri 8/8/1997 at Mets L 1-6 61-55 L5 Bohanon (3-1) Reynolds (6-7) 23,818 2:40 N
Sat 8/9/1997 at Mets W 8-3 62-55 W1 Springer (2-3) Rojas (0-5) 34,352 2:40 N
Sun 8/10/1997 at Mets W 11-8 63-55 W2 Kile (16-3) Reed (10-5) Martin (2) 32,914 3:02 D
Mon 8/11/1997 at Mets W 8-3 64-55 W3 Garcia (5-8) Harnisch (0-1) 20,452 2:49 N
Tue 8/12/1997 vs Marlins W 13-2 65-55 W4 Hampton (10-7) Leiter (8-9) 19,296 2:50 N
Wed 8/13/1997 vs Marlins L 6-8 65-56 L1 Fernandez (15-8) Lima (1-6) Nen (30) 22,543 3:24 N
Fri 8/15/1997 vs Phillies L 1-5 65-57 L2 Schilling (13-10) Holt (7-9) 31,837 2:17 N
Sat 8/16/1997 vs Phillies L 3-5 65-58 L3 Spradlin (2-6) Wagner (7-5) Bottalico (23) 28,260 2:47 D
Sun 8/17/1997 vs Phillies W 11-6 66-58 W1 Martin (5-3) Gomes (2-1) Springer (2) 23,161 3:36 D
Tue 8/19/1997 vs Braves L 3-4 66-59 L1 Smoltz (12-10) Hampton (10-8) Wohlers (30) 32,145 2:46 N
Wed 8/20/1997 vs Braves L 1-3 66-60 L2 Glavine (11-6) Reynolds (6-8) Wohlers (31) 25,593 2:46 N
Thu 8/21/1997 vs Rockies W 10-4 67-60 W1 Holt (8-9) Bailey (9-9) 22,962 3:00 N
Fri 8/22/1997 vs Rockies W 9-1 68-60 W2 Kile (17-3) Thomson (5-8) 33,061 2:49 N
Sat 8/23/1997 vs Rockies L 3-6 68-61 L1 S. Reed (4-5) Hudek (0-2) DiPoto (10) 32,374 3:17 D
Sun 8/24/1997 vs Rockies W 3-1 69-61 W1 Hampton (11-8) Wright (6-10) 28,918 2:09 D
Tue 8/26/1997 at Braves L 6-7 (11) 69-62 L1 Clontz (5-1) Wagner (7-6) 37,313 3:47 N
Wed 8/27/1997 at Braves W 6-4 (13) 70-62 W1 Hudek (1-2) Byrd (3-3) Lima (2) 33,019 4:28 N
Thu 8/28/1997 at Braves L 2-4 70-63 L1 Neagle (18-3) Kile (17-4) Wohlers (32) 37,849 2:32 N
Fri 8/29/1997 at White Sox L 4-5 70-64 L2 Foulke (1-0) Hudek (1-3) Karchner (11) 21,312 3:08 N
Sat 8/30/1997 at White Sox L 2-9 70-65 L3 Bere (3-0) Hampton (11-9) 28,051 2:31 N
Sun 8/31/1997 at White Sox L 1-3 70-66 L4 Baldwin (11-13) Reynolds (6-9) Karchner (12) 22,916 3:18 D
Mon 9/1/1997 vs Brewers L 2-3 70-67 L5 Adamson (5-2) Holt (8-10) Jones (30) 35,685 2:58 D
Tue 9/2/1997 vs Brewers L 2-4 70-68 L6 Villone (1-0) Kile (17-5) Jones (31) 18,258 2:42 N
Wed 9/3/1997 vs Brewers W 4-0 71-68 W1 Garcia (6-8) Karl (10-11) 13,580 2:26 N
Thu 9/4/1997 at Giants W 14-2 72-68 W2 Hampton (12-9) Gardner (12-8) 8,565 3:02 N
Fri 9/5/1997 at Giants L 1-4 72-69 L1 Hernandez (2-1) Reynolds (6-10) Beck (35) 11,934 3:19 N
Sat 9/6/1997 at Giants L 3-5 72-70 L2 Tavarez (6-4) Wagner (7-7) Hernandez (2) 17,636 3:21 D
Sun 9/7/1997 at Giants L 1-5 72-71 L3 Rueter (11-6) Kile (17-6) 19,861 3:17 D
Tue 9/9/1997 at Rockies W 7-4 73-71 W1 Hampton (13-9) Wright (6-11) Springer (3) 48,039 2:46 N
Wed 9/10/1997 at Rockies L 7-9 73-72 L1 Leskanic (4-0) Magnante (3-1) DiPoto (13) 42,321 3:08 D
Fri 9/12/1997 vs Dodgers W 10-3 74-72 W1 Reynolds (7-10) Park (13-7) 36,817 3:02 N
Sat 9/13/1997 vs Dodgers W 5-1 75-72 W2 Kile (18-6) Candiotti (10-6) 33,130 2:43 N
Sun 9/14/1997 vs Dodgers L 3-4 (10) 75-73 L1 Radinsky (5-1) Wagner (7-8) Worrell (35) 32,666 3:32 D
Mon 9/15/1997 vs Padres L 3-4 75-74 L2 Smith (6-5) Hampton (13-10) Hoffman (34) 22,566 3:27 N
Tue 9/16/1997 vs Padres W 15-3 76-74 W1 Garcia (7-8) Hitchcock (10-10) 15,156 3:11 D
Wed 9/17/1997 at Pirates W 8-4 77-74 W2 Reynolds (8-10) Schmidt (9-8) 27,422 2:52 N
Thu 9/18/1997 at Pirates L 3-12 77-75 L1 Cordova (11-8) Kile (18-7) 14,852 2:57 N
Fri 9/19/1997 at Reds L 4-5 77-76 L2 Burba (10-10) Holt (8-11) Shaw (40) 21,791 2:44 N
Sat 9/20/1997 at Reds W 4-1 78-76 W1 Hampton (14-10) Tomko (11-7) Wagner (20) 20,197 2:39 D
Sun 9/21/1997 at Reds W 8-3 79-76 W2 Garcia (8-8) Morgan (8-12) 22,652 3:16 D
Mon 9/22/1997 at Reds W 6-3 80-76 W3 Springer (3-3) Belinda (1-5) Wagner (21) 17,411 3:13 D
Tue 9/23/1997 vs Cubs W 5-3 81-76 W4 Kile (19-7) Trachsel (8-12) Wagner (22) 19,380 2:44 N
Wed 9/24/1997 vs Cubs L 1-3 81-77 L1 M. Clark (14-8) Holt (8-12) Adams (18) 41,560 3:00 N
Thu 9/25/1997 vs Cubs W 9-1 82-77 W1 Hampton (15-10) Gonzalez (11-9) 35,623 2:42 N
Fri 9/26/1997 vs Pirates W 2-0 83-77 W2 Garcia (9-8) Loaiza (11-11) Wagner (23) 37,850 2:18 N
Sat 9/27/1997 vs Pirates W 8-1 84-77 W3 Reynolds (9-10) Schmidt (10-9) 36,170 2:45 N
Sun 9/28/1997 vs Pirates L 4-5 (11) 84-78 L1 Christiansen (3-0) Henriquez (0-1) Loiselle (29) 30,606 2:58 D

Totals:



National League Division Series
Atlanta Braves defeat Houston Astros 3-0

Date G Opponent Score Rec Strk WP LP SV A T D/N
Tue 9/30/1997 1 at Braves L 1-2 0-1 L1 Maddux (1-0) Kile (0-1) 46,467 2:15 D
Wed 10/1/1997 2 at Braves L 3-13 0-2 L2 Glavine (1-0) Hampton (0-1) 49,200 3:06 D
Fri 10/3/1997 3 vs Braves L 1-4 0-3 L3 Smoltz (1-0) Reynolds (0-1) 53,688 2:35 D


Data courtesy of Retrosheet