1994 Houston Astros
Personnel | Standings | Splits | Regular Season


Summary:

66-49, Second place, NL Central


Manager: Terry Collins

Coaches:

NameAssignmentFirst GameLast Game
Matt GalanteCoach4/4/19948/11/1994
Steve HendersonCoach4/4/19948/11/1994
Ben HinesCoach4/4/19948/11/1994
Julio LinaresCoach4/4/19948/11/1994
Mel StottlemyrePitching4/4/19948/11/1994

Players:

Jeff Bagwell Kevin Bass Craig Biggio Sid Bream Ken Caminiti
Andujar Cedeno Chris Donnels Doug Drabek Tom Edens Tony Eusebio
Mike Felder Steve Finley Luis Gonzalez Mike Hampton Pete Harnisch
John Hudek Brian Hunter Todd Jones Darryl Kile Orlando Miller
James Mouton Roberto Petagine Ross Powell Shane Reynolds Scott Servais
Mike Simms Andy Stankiewicz Greg Swindell Ed Taubensee Milt Thompson
Dave Veres Brian Williams Mitch Williams


Standings: 1994 NL Central Division

Team G W L Pct RS RA GB
Cincinnati Reds 115 66 48 .579 609 490 -
Houston Astros 115 66 49 .574 602 503 0.5
Pittsburgh Pirates 114 53 61 .465 466 580 13.0
St. Louis Cardinals 115 53 61 .465 535 621 13.0
Chicago Cubs 113 49 64 .434 500 549 16.5

Finish: Second place out of five, 0.5 games behind


Team splits:

Total Home Road
Team G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
Atlanta Braves 6 3 3 .500 31 25 3 1 2 .333 10 14 3 2 1 .667 21 11
Chicago Cubs 12 8 4 .667 67 50 6 4 2 .667 35 26 6 4 2 .667 32 24
Cincinnati Reds 10 6 4 .600 53 46 3 2 1 .667 13 12 7 4 3 .571 40 34
Colorado Rockies 10 5 5 .500 30 48 7 4 3 .571 20 22 3 1 2 .333 10 26
Florida Marlins 6 4 2 .667 24 21 3 2 1 .667 11 9 3 2 1 .667 13 12
Los Angeles Dodgers 9 1 8 .111 41 48 3 1 2 .333 22 13 6 0 6 .000 19 35
Montreal Expos 6 2 4 .333 26 34 3 1 2 .333 10 19 3 1 2 .333 16 15
New York Mets 6 3 3 .500 25 26 3 2 1 .667 14 12 3 1 2 .333 11 14
Philadelphia Phillies 6 5 1 .833 26 16 3 3 0 1.000 13 5 3 2 1 .667 13 11
Pittsburgh Pirates 12 8 4 .667 89 49 6 4 2 .667 49 21 6 4 2 .667 40 28
San Diego Padres 10 5 5 .500 42 37 7 4 3 .571 33 28 3 1 2 .333 9 9
San Francisco Giants 10 8 2 .800 60 38 6 5 1 .833 36 24 4 3 1 .750 24 14
St. Louis Cardinals 12 8 4 .667 88 65 6 4 2 .667 41 36 6 4 2 .667 47 29
Total 115 66 49 .574 602 503 59 37 22 .627 307 241 56 29 27 .518 295 262

Division splits:

Total Home Road
Division G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
NL East 30 17 13 .567 132 122 15 9 6 .600 58 59 15 8 7 .533 74 63
NL Central 46 30 16 .652 297 210 21 14 7 .667 138 95 25 16 9 .640 159 115
NL West 39 19 20 .487 173 171 23 14 9 .609 111 87 16 5 11 .313 62 84
Total 115 66 49 .574 602 503 59 37 22 .627 307 241 56 29 27 .518 295 262

Splits by month:

Total Home Road
Month G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
April 23 13 10 .565 123 106 12 7 5 .583 65 59 11 6 5 .545 58 47
May 28 16 12 .571 133 112 13 8 5 .615 50 46 15 8 7 .533 83 66
June 27 14 13 .519 124 114 14 8 6 .571 65 50 13 6 7 .462 59 64
July 27 16 11 .593 169 131 10 7 3 .700 74 46 17 9 8 .529 95 85
August 10 7 3 .700 53 40 10 7 3 .700 53 40 - - - - - -
Total 115 66 49 .574 602 503 59 37 22 .627 307 241 56 29 27 .518 295 262

Day/night splits:

Total Home Road
Day / night G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
Day 35 17 18 .486 173 154 15 8 7 .533 75 57 20 9 11 .450 98 97
Night 80 49 31 .613 429 349 44 29 15 .659 232 184 36 20 16 .556 197 165
Total 115 66 49 .574 602 503 59 37 22 .627 307 241 56 29 27 .518 295 262

Splits by day of week:

Total Home Road
Day of week G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
Sunday 18 8 10 .444 87 67 10 5 5 .500 58 39 8 3 5 .375 29 28
Monday 13 8 5 .615 84 80 7 6 1 .857 45 39 6 2 4 .333 39 41
Tuesday 18 9 9 .500 68 72 8 2 6 .250 21 40 10 7 3 .700 47 32
Wednesday 18 13 5 .722 85 65 8 6 2 .750 27 22 10 7 3 .700 58 43
Thursday 12 8 4 .667 77 62 6 4 2 .667 42 29 6 4 2 .667 35 33
Friday 18 9 9 .500 93 71 10 7 3 .700 53 31 8 2 6 .250 40 40
Saturday 18 11 7 .611 108 86 10 7 3 .700 61 41 8 4 4 .500 47 45
Total 115 66 49 .574 602 503 59 37 22 .627 307 241 56 29 27 .518 295 262

Score by inning:

Home 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Total
Opponent 32 29 24 25 28 29 22 21 27 0 2 2 241
Houston 23 37 47 38 33 56 23 35 10 1 1 3 307

Road 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Total
Houston 37 30 31 40 26 38 36 26 23 2 0 6 0 295
Opponent 34 39 28 28 30 27 34 23 16 1 1 0 1 262

Total 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Total
Opponent 66 68 52 53 58 56 56 44 43 1 3 2 1 503
Houston 60 67 78 78 59 94 59 61 33 3 1 9 0 602


Regular Season

Date Opponent Score Rec Strk WP LP SV A T D/N
Mon 4/4/1994 vs Expos W 6-5 (12) 1-0 W1 Edens (1-0) Shaw (0-1) 43,440 3:57 D
Tue 4/5/1994 vs Expos L 1-5 1-1 L1 Hill (1-0) Drabek (0-1) 16,227 3:08 N
Wed 4/6/1994 vs Expos L 3-9 1-2 L2 Rueter (1-0) Kile (0-1) 17,180 2:59 N
Fri 4/8/1994 vs Mets W 6-3 2-2 W1 Swindell (1-0) Hillman (0-1) M. Williams (1) 31,522 2:54 N
Sat 4/9/1994 vs Mets L 2-8 2-3 L1 Saberhagen (1-0) Harnisch (0-1) 23,872 2:32 N
Sun 4/10/1994 vs Mets W 6-1 3-3 W1 Drabek (1-1) Smith (1-1) 17,295 2:51 D
Tue 4/12/1994 at Marlins W 7-2 4-3 W2 Kile (1-1) Bowen (0-2) Edens (1) 43,290 2:58 D
Wed 4/13/1994 at Marlins W 4-2 5-3 W3 Swindell (2-0) Hammond (1-1) 30,225 2:27 N
Thu 4/14/1994 at Marlins L 2-8 5-4 L1 Weathers (1-1) Harnisch (0-2) 26,177 2:48 D
Fri 4/15/1994 at Mets W 8-1 6-4 W1 Drabek (2-1) Smith (1-2) 17,800 2:47 N
Sat 4/16/1994 at Mets L 1-9 6-5 L1 Gooden (2-0) B. Williams (0-1) Maddux (2) 17,508 2:41 D
Sun 4/17/1994 at Mets L 2-4 6-6 L2 Jones (2-1) Jones (0-1) Franco (2) 20,951 2:19 D
Tue 4/19/1994 at Cubs W 3-0 7-6 W1 Swindell (3-0) Trachsel (1-1) M. Williams (2) 27,007 2:24 N
Wed 4/20/1994 at Cubs W 7-5 8-6 W2 Edens (2-0) Bautista (0-1) M. Williams (3) 18,869 2:41 D
Fri 4/22/1994 at Cardinals L 5-6 8-7 L1 Murphy (1-1) M. Williams (0-1) 30,767 3:26 N
Sat 4/23/1994 at Cardinals W 15-5 9-7 W1 Kile (2-1) Arocha (1-2) 40,113 3:31 N
Sun 4/24/1994 at Cardinals L 4-5 9-8 L1 Rodriguez (1-0) Edens (2-1) Perez (6) 37,442 2:41 D
Mon 4/25/1994 vs Pirates W 7-3 10-8 W1 Harnisch (1-2) Neagle (1-3) 16,007 2:24 N
Tue 4/26/1994 vs Pirates L 4-7 10-9 L1 Dewey (2-0) Jones (0-2) White (4) 23,151 3:20 N
Wed 4/27/1994 vs Cubs W 8-5 11-9 W1 Reynolds (1-0) Bautista (0-2) 15,456 2:54 N
Thu 4/28/1994 vs Cubs L 3-5 (11) 11-10 L1 Crim (1-0) M. Williams (0-2) Myers (3) 13,966 3:08 D
Fri 4/29/1994 vs Cardinals W 4-3 (10) 12-10 W1 Hampton (1-0) Rodriguez (1-1) 36,090 2:58 N
Sat 4/30/1994 vs Cardinals W 15-5 13-10 W2 Harnisch (2-2) Watson (2-1) 49,927 3:10 N
Sun 5/1/1994 vs Cardinals L 5-6 13-11 L1 Tewksbury (6-0) Hampton (1-1) Murphy (1) 20,028 2:57 D
Tue 5/3/1994 at Pirates W 7-4 14-11 W1 Drabek (3-1) Smith (3-2) M. Williams (4) 9,790 3:16 N
Wed 5/4/1994 at Pirates W 7-4 15-11 W2 Kile (3-1) Tomlin (0-2) 10,121 2:47 N
Thu 5/5/1994 at Reds W 8-6 (10) 16-11 W3 M. Williams (1-2) Brantley (1-1) Hudek (1) 24,620 2:58 N
Fri 5/6/1994 at Reds L 3-4 16-12 L1 Pugh (3-1) Harnisch (2-3) Carrasco (3) 27,482 3:06 N
Sat 5/7/1994 at Reds L 7-11 16-13 L2 Smiley (4-2) B. Williams (0-2) 26,735 3:20 N
Sun 5/8/1994 at Reds W 5-0 17-13 W1 Drabek (4-1) Hanson (2-2) 27,174 2:22 D
Mon 5/9/1994 at Dodgers L 8-9 17-14 L1 Osuna (1-0) M. Williams (1-3) 36,260 3:13 N
Tue 5/10/1994 at Dodgers L 4-5 (10) 17-15 L2 Gott (4-1) Veres (0-1) 36,766 3:22 N
Wed 5/11/1994 at Dodgers L 0-1 17-16 L3 Astacio (2-3) Reynolds (1-1) 35,587 2:08 N
Fri 5/13/1994 vs Rockies W 4-2 18-16 W1 Drabek (5-1) Freeman (3-1) 29,962 2:40 N
Sat 5/14/1994 vs Rockies L 2-4 18-17 L1 Nied (5-2) Kile (3-2) Ruffin (2) 23,037 3:01 N
Sun 5/15/1994 vs Rockies L 0-4 18-18 L2 Reynoso (3-3) Swindell (3-1) 21,004 2:42 D
Mon 5/16/1994 vs Giants W 3-2 19-18 W1 Veres (1-1) Hickerson (2-2) M. Williams (5) 13,179 2:55 N
Tue 5/17/1994 vs Giants L 2-5 19-19 L1 Swift (6-3) Harnisch (2-4) Beck (7) 17,458 2:43 N
Wed 5/18/1994 vs Giants W 4-2 20-19 W1 Drabek (6-1) Portugal (4-3) Hudek (2) 15,098 2:51 N
Thu 5/19/1994 vs Padres W 9-5 21-19 W2 Edens (3-1) J. Martinez (0-2) 12,115 3:22 N
Fri 5/20/1994 vs Padres W 2-1 22-19 W3 Swindell (4-1) Ashby (0-4) Hudek (3) 28,305 2:21 N
Sat 5/21/1994 vs Padres W 4-2 23-19 W4 Reynolds (2-1) Benes (2-8) M. Williams (6) 21,719 2:42 N
Sun 5/22/1994 vs Padres L 6-7 23-20 L1 P. Martinez (1-1) M. Williams (1-4) Hoffman (4) 20,257 3:07 D
Tue 5/24/1994 at Braves W 8-0 24-20 W1 Drabek (7-1) Glavine (5-4) 49,402 2:48 N
Wed 5/25/1994 at Braves L 5-6 (13) 24-21 L1 Bielecki (1-0) Veres (1-2) 40,747 4:25 N
Thu 5/26/1994 at Braves W 8-5 25-21 W1 Swindell (5-1) Stanton (1-1) Hudek (4) 45,976 3:14 N
Fri 5/27/1994 at Phillies W 4-2 26-21 W2 Reynolds (3-1) Boskie (1-2) Hudek (5) 41,013 3:22 N
Sat 5/28/1994 at Phillies W 7-5 27-21 W3 B. Williams (1-2) Carter (0-2) Jones (1) 40,523 3:18 N
Sun 5/29/1994 at Phillies L 2-4 27-22 L1 West (1-4) Drabek (7-2) Jones (10) 52,390 2:45 D
Mon 5/30/1994 vs Marlins W 4-3 28-22 W1 Edens (4-1) Nen (2-3) 29,854 3:00 D
Tue 5/31/1994 vs Marlins W 5-3 29-22 W2 Veres (2-2) Lewis (1-3) Hudek (6) 14,173 2:27 N
Wed 6/1/1994 vs Marlins L 2-3 29-23 L1 Weathers (6-3) Reynolds (3-2) Nen (3) 17,055 2:49 N
Fri 6/3/1994 vs Phillies W 4-2 30-23 W1 B. Williams (2-2) West (1-5) Hudek (7) 31,280 2:42 N
Sat 6/4/1994 vs Phillies W 5-1 31-23 W2 Drabek (8-2) Munoz (0-2) 23,455 2:29 N
Sun 6/5/1994 vs Phillies W 4-2 32-23 W3 Kile (4-2) Williams (2-2) Hudek (8) 20,694 2:28 D
Mon 6/6/1994 at Expos L 5-10 32-24 L1 Henry (3-0) Swindell (5-2) Wetteland (8) 14,322 3:13 N
Tue 6/7/1994 at Expos L 2-3 32-25 L2 Heredia (2-2) Veres (2-3) Wetteland (9) 17,283 2:57 N
Wed 6/8/1994 at Expos W 9-2 33-25 W1 B. Williams (3-2) Fassero (4-4) 17,289 2:45 N
Fri 6/10/1994 vs Braves L 2-5 33-26 L1 Smoltz (4-6) Drabek (8-3) McMichael (14) 38,435 2:38 N
Sat 6/11/1994 vs Braves W 7-6 34-26 W1 Jones (1-2) McMichael (2-4) 37,857 3:26 N
Sun 6/12/1994 vs Braves L 1-3 34-27 L1 Maddux (10-2) Swindell (5-3) 36,658 2:33 D
Mon 6/13/1994 at Giants L 4-5 34-28 L2 VanLandingham (2-0) Reynolds (3-3) Beck (13) 15,164 2:39 D
Tue 6/14/1994 at Giants W 7-4 35-28 W1 B. Williams (4-2) Torres (2-5) Hudek (9) 15,115 3:12 D
Wed 6/15/1994 at Giants W 7-2 36-28 W2 Drabek (9-3) Burkett (4-5) 18,178 2:52 D
Thu 6/16/1994 at Giants W 6-3 37-28 W3 Kile (5-2) Portugal (5-6) Hudek (10) 16,126 2:24 D
Fri 6/17/1994 at Padres L 2-3 37-29 L1 Benes (5-9) Swindell (5-4) Hoffman (11) 16,693 2:12 N
Sat 6/18/1994 at Padres W 6-1 38-29 W1 Reynolds (4-3) Campbell (0-1) 31,815 3:04 N
Sun 6/19/1994 at Padres L 1-5 38-30 L1 Sanders (3-4) B. Williams (4-3) Hoffman (12) 17,450 2:43 D
Mon 6/20/1994 at Rockies W 5-4 39-30 W1 Drabek (10-3) Harris (3-7) Hudek (11) 50,671 2:58 N
Tue 6/21/1994 at Rockies L 0-8 39-31 L1 Nied (6-4) Kile (5-3) 56,913 2:46 N
Wed 6/22/1994 at Rockies L 5-14 39-32 L2 Painter (2-2) Swindell (5-5) 50,887 2:53 D
Fri 6/24/1994 vs Dodgers W 16-4 40-32 W1 Reynolds (5-3) Martinez (6-4) 34,550 3:08 N
Sat 6/25/1994 vs Dodgers L 2-4 40-33 L1 Astacio (6-5) B. Williams (4-4) Worrell (5) 28,247 2:34 N
Sun 6/26/1994 vs Dodgers L 4-5 40-34 L2 Gross (7-4) Drabek (10-4) Worrell (6) 27,122 3:04 D
Mon 6/27/1994 vs Reds W 7-6 (11) 41-34 W1 Jones (2-2) Brantley (5-4) 21,197 3:43 N
Tue 6/28/1994 vs Reds L 3-5 41-35 L1 Smiley (7-8) Swindell (5-6) Brantley (8) 24,016 2:40 N
Wed 6/29/1994 vs Reds W 3-1 42-35 W1 Veres (3-3) McElroy (1-2) Hudek (12) 24,477 2:41 D
Thu 6/30/1994 vs Cubs W 5-3 43-35 W2 Harnisch (3-4) Foster (2-2) Jones (2) 27,552 2:39 N
Fri 7/1/1994 vs Cubs L 2-3 43-36 L1 Trachsel (7-5) Drabek (10-5) Myers (17) 33,323 2:31 N
Sat 7/2/1994 vs Cubs W 5-4 44-36 W1 Reynolds (6-3) Crim (3-2) 28,423 3:01 N
Sun 7/3/1994 vs Cubs W 12-6 45-36 W2 Swindell (6-6) Morgan (1-9) 27,711 2:30 D
Mon 7/4/1994 at Cardinals W 13-6 46-36 W3 B. Williams (5-4) Watson (5-4) 24,627 3:11 D
Tue 7/5/1994 at Cardinals W 3-1 47-36 W4 Harnisch (4-4) Palacios (1-7) Hudek (13) 26,840 2:32 N
Wed 7/6/1994 at Cardinals W 7-6 48-36 W5 Jones (3-2) Rodriguez (2-4) Hudek (14) 32,036 3:16 N
Thu 7/7/1994 at Cubs W 9-3 49-36 W6 Kile (6-3) Banks (8-7) 31,877 3:21 N
Fri 7/8/1994 at Cubs L 5-6 (11) 49-37 L1 Bautista (3-3) Hudek (0-1) 30,301 3:30 D
Sat 7/9/1994 at Cubs L 3-7 49-38 L2 Young (4-6) B. Williams (5-5) 38,370 2:43 D
Sun 7/10/1994 at Cubs W 5-3 50-38 W1 Harnisch (5-4) Foster (2-3) Hudek (15) 35,401 3:29 N
Thu 7/14/1994 at Pirates L 2-8 50-39 L1 Lieber (5-4) Kile (6-4) 15,847 2:21 N
Fri 7/15/1994 at Pirates L 8-11 50-40 L2 Manzanillo (3-2) Reynolds (6-4) Dyer (2) 19,185 3:02 N
Sat 7/16/1994 at Pirates W 7-1 51-40 W1 Harnisch (6-4) Smith (9-7) 30,595 2:40 N
Sun 7/17/1994 at Pirates W 9-0 52-40 W2 Reynolds (7-4) Wagner (5-8) 23,290 2:38 D
Mon 7/18/1994 vs Cardinals W 15-12 53-40 W3 Hampton (2-1) Eversgerd (2-1) Jones (3) 24,012 3:20 N
Tue 7/19/1994 vs Cardinals L 0-10 53-41 L1 Palacios (2-7) Kile (6-5) 25,338 2:30 N
Wed 7/20/1994 vs Cardinals W 2-0 54-41 W1 Swindell (7-6) Tewksbury (10-9) Hudek (16) 29,442 2:07 D
Thu 7/21/1994 vs Pirates W 13-6 55-41 W2 Harnisch (7-4) Smith (9-8) 27,659 2:56 N
Fri 7/22/1994 vs Pirates L 1-4 55-42 L1 Manzanillo (4-2) Drabek (10-6) Dyer (4) 37,002 2:56 N
Sat 7/23/1994 vs Pirates W 11-0 56-42 W1 Reynolds (8-4) Cooke (4-8) 41,262 2:42 N
Sun 7/24/1994 vs Pirates W 13-1 57-42 W2 Kile (7-5) Lieber (5-5) 36,874 2:42 D
Mon 7/25/1994 at Reds L 4-7 57-43 L1 Smiley (11-9) Swindell (7-7) Carrasco (6) 28,693 3:09 N
Tue 7/26/1994 at Reds W 6-5 58-43 W1 Jones (4-2) Ruffin (6-1) 35,595 2:53 N
Wed 7/27/1994 at Reds W 7-1 (12) 59-43 W2 B. Williams (6-5) Service (0-2) 37,258 3:55 D
Fri 7/29/1994 at Dodgers L 5-7 59-44 L1 Valdez (2-0) Hudek (0-2) 42,757 2:59 N
Sat 7/30/1994 at Dodgers L 1-6 59-45 L2 Gross (8-7) Kile (7-6) 50,880 3:03 N
Sun 7/31/1994 at Dodgers L 1-7 59-46 L3 Martinez (10-7) Swindell (7-8) 43,231 2:55 D
Mon 8/1/1994 vs Rockies L 3-8 59-47 L4 Painter (4-5) Harnisch (7-5) 22,256 3:14 N
Tue 8/2/1994 vs Rockies W 3-1 60-47 W1 Drabek (11-6) Harris (3-11) 22,574 2:36 N
Wed 8/3/1994 vs Rockies W 2-1 61-47 W2 Jones (5-2) Ruffin (3-5) 18,320 2:57 N
Thu 8/4/1994 vs Rockies W 6-2 62-47 W3 Kile (8-6) Ritz (4-6) 30,053 2:52 N
Fri 8/5/1994 vs Giants W 12-4 63-47 W4 Swindell (8-8) Portugal (10-8) 44,297 2:55 N
Sat 8/6/1994 vs Giants W 8-7 64-47 W5 Harnisch (8-5) VanLandingham (7-2) Veres (1) 48,945 3:12 N
Sun 8/7/1994 vs Giants W 7-4 65-47 W6 Drabek (12-6) Swift (8-7) Jones (4) 28,870 3:03 N
Tue 8/9/1994 vs Padres L 3-4 65-48 L1 Ashby (6-11) Reynolds (8-5) Hoffman (19) 24,371 2:28 N
Wed 8/10/1994 vs Padres W 3-1 66-48 W1 Kile (9-6) Benes (6-14) Jones (5) 21,942 2:26 N
Thu 8/11/1994 vs Padres L 6-8 66-49 L1 Hamilton (9-6) Swindell (8-9) Hoffman (20) 25,379 3:26 D

Totals:


Data courtesy of Retrosheet