1985 Houston Astros
Personnel | Standings | Splits | Regular Season


Summary:

83-79, Third place, NL West


Manager: Bob Lillis

Coaches:

NameFirst GameLast Game
Cot Deal4/9/198510/6/1985
Matt Galante4/9/198510/6/1985
Don Leppert4/9/198510/6/1985
Denis Menke4/9/198510/6/1985
Les Moss4/9/198510/6/1985
Jerry Walker4/9/198510/6/1985

Players:

Alan Ashby Mark Bailey Kevin Bass Eric Bullock Enos Cabell
Jeff Calhoun Jose Cruz Glenn Davis Bill Dawley Jim Deshaies
Frank DiPino Bill Doran Ty Gainey Phil Garner Jeff Heathcock
Chris Jones Charlie Kerfeld Bob Knepper Mark Knudson Mike Madden
Ron Mathis John Mizerock Jerry Mumphrey Joe Niekro Jim Pankovits
Bert Pena Terry Puhl Craig Reynolds German Rivera Mark Ross
Nolan Ryan Mike Scott Dave Smith Julio Solano Harry Spilman
Dickie Thon Tim Tolman Denny Walling


Standings: 1985 NL Western Division

Team G W L Pct RS RA GB
Los Angeles Dodgers 162 95 67 .586 682 579 -
Cincinnati Reds 162 89 72 .553 677 666 5.5
Houston Astros 162 83 79 .512 706 691 12.0
San Diego Padres 162 83 79 .512 650 622 12.0
Atlanta Braves 162 66 96 .407 632 781 29.0
San Francisco Giants 162 62 100 .383 556 674 33.0

Finish: Third place out of six, 12 games behind


Team splits:

Total Home Road
Team G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
Atlanta Braves 18 10 8 .556 69 62 9 3 6 .333 20 33 9 7 2 .778 49 29
Chicago Cubs 12 7 5 .583 69 59 6 3 3 .500 25 27 6 4 2 .667 44 32
Cincinnati Reds 18 7 11 .389 77 91 9 4 5 .444 38 49 9 3 6 .333 39 42
Los Angeles Dodgers 18 6 12 .333 60 87 9 2 7 .222 22 48 9 4 5 .444 38 39
Montreal Expos 12 6 6 .500 40 45 6 4 2 .667 31 26 6 2 4 .333 9 19
New York Mets 12 4 8 .333 44 62 6 2 4 .333 11 22 6 2 4 .333 33 40
Philadelphia Phillies 12 4 8 .333 56 57 6 3 3 .500 32 22 6 1 5 .167 24 35
Pittsburgh Pirates 12 6 6 .500 46 50 6 4 2 .667 24 22 6 2 4 .333 22 28
San Diego Padres 18 12 6 .667 85 65 9 8 1 .889 42 30 9 4 5 .444 43 35
San Francisco Giants 18 15 3 .833 95 57 9 8 1 .889 47 32 9 7 2 .778 48 25
St. Louis Cardinals 12 6 6 .500 65 56 6 3 3 .500 41 27 6 3 3 .500 24 29
Total 162 83 79 .512 706 691 81 44 37 .543 333 338 81 39 42 .481 373 353

Division splits:

Total Home Road
Division G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
NL East 72 33 39 .458 320 329 36 19 17 .528 164 146 36 14 22 .389 156 183
NL West 90 50 40 .556 386 362 45 25 20 .556 169 192 45 25 20 .556 217 170
Total 162 83 79 .512 706 691 81 44 37 .543 333 338 81 39 42 .481 373 353

Splits by month:

Total Home Road
Month G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
April 20 10 10 .500 74 72 13 7 6 .538 46 47 7 3 4 .429 28 25
May 26 14 12 .538 125 99 11 7 4 .636 53 38 15 7 8 .467 72 61
June 29 14 15 .483 106 116 14 6 8 .429 41 55 15 8 7 .533 65 61
July 26 8 18 .308 101 139 11 4 7 .364 42 53 15 4 11 .267 59 86
August 26 14 12 .538 129 119 13 8 5 .615 73 63 13 6 7 .462 56 56
September 29 18 11 .621 137 131 18 11 7 .611 76 82 11 7 4 .636 61 49
October 6 5 1 .833 34 15 1 1 0 1.000 2 0 5 4 1 .800 32 15
Total 162 83 79 .512 706 691 81 44 37 .543 333 338 81 39 42 .481 373 353

Day/night splits:

Total Home Road
Day / night G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
Day 39 24 15 .615 204 173 8 5 3 .625 32 26 31 19 12 .613 172 147
Night 123 59 64 .480 502 518 73 39 34 .534 301 312 50 20 30 .400 201 206
Total 162 83 79 .512 706 691 81 44 37 .543 333 338 81 39 42 .481 373 353

Splits by day of week:

Total Home Road
Day of week G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
Sunday 27 15 12 .556 118 120 12 7 5 .583 38 42 15 8 7 .533 80 78
Monday 19 9 10 .474 83 90 10 5 5 .500 37 49 9 4 5 .444 46 41
Tuesday 24 13 11 .542 121 89 12 8 4 .667 75 34 12 5 7 .417 46 55
Wednesday 24 15 9 .625 131 91 12 6 6 .500 59 57 12 9 3 .750 72 34
Thursday 17 8 9 .471 53 58 9 4 5 .444 24 30 8 4 4 .500 29 28
Friday 26 12 14 .462 98 110 13 8 5 .615 58 58 13 4 9 .308 40 52
Saturday 25 11 14 .440 102 133 13 6 7 .462 42 68 12 5 7 .417 60 65
Total 162 83 79 .512 706 691 81 44 37 .543 333 338 81 39 42 .481 373 353

Score by inning:

Home 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 Total
Opponent 33 25 35 35 38 51 33 27 38 7 5 7 0 0 0 0 0 1 3 338
Houston 41 30 37 39 46 44 37 39 13 5 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 333

Road 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Total
Houston 32 34 38 45 24 56 53 46 40 5 0 0 0 373
Opponent 46 35 33 33 57 42 45 40 18 1 1 0 2 353

Total 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 Total
Opponent 79 60 68 68 95 93 78 67 56 8 6 7 2 0 0 0 0 1 3 691
Houston 73 64 75 84 70 100 90 85 53 10 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 706


Regular Season

Date Opponent Score Rec Strk WP LP SV A T D/N
Tue 4/9/1985 vs Dodgers W 2-1 1-0 W1 Ryan (1-0) Valenzuela (0-1) DiPino (1) 42,876 2:19 N
Wed 4/10/1985 vs Dodgers L 4-5 1-1 L1 Reuss (1-0) Niekro (0-1) Howe (1) 9,945 2:45 N
Thu 4/11/1985 vs Dodgers L 3-4 1-2 L2 Diaz (1-0) Dawley (0-1) Howell (1) 5,793 2:25 D
Fri 4/12/1985 vs Phillies W 8-3 2-2 W1 Smith (1-0) Andersen (0-1) Calhoun (1) 11,879 2:55 N
Sat 4/13/1985 vs Phillies L 2-4 2-3 L1 Rawley (1-0) Mathis (0-1) Holland (1) 19,772 2:46 N
Sun 4/14/1985 vs Phillies W 5-3 3-3 W1 Ryan (2-0) Carlton (0-2) 15,277 2:33 D
Mon 4/15/1985 at Dodgers L 3-5 3-4 L1 Diaz (2-0) Niekro (0-2) Howell (2) 26,541 2:42 N
Tue 4/16/1985 at Dodgers W 7-3 4-4 W1 Smith (2-0) Howe (0-1) 32,155 2:53 N
Wed 4/17/1985 at Dodgers L 0-1 (11) 4-5 L1 Hershiser (1-0) DiPino (0-1) 29,789 2:43 N
Fri 4/19/1985 at Braves L 5-9 4-6 L2 Mahler (3-0) Ryan (2-1) 22,067 2:27 N
Sat 4/20/1985 at Braves W 8-1 5-6 W1 Niekro (1-2) Perez (0-2) DiPino (2) 32,887 2:23 N
Sun 4/21/1985 at Braves W 4-2 6-6 W2 Knepper (1-0) Barker (0-1) Smith (1) 23,453 2:33 D
Mon 4/22/1985 vs Reds W 4-1 7-6 W3 Scott (1-0) Tibbs (0-3) Smith (2) 10,197 2:04 N
Tue 4/23/1985 vs Reds W 6-4 8-6 W4 Mathis (1-1) Stuper (2-1) Smith (3) 10,414 2:22 N
Wed 4/24/1985 vs Reds L 3-8 8-7 L1 Soto (4-1) DiPino (0-2) 8,513 2:38 D
Thu 4/25/1985 vs Braves L 2-3 (10) 8-8 L2 Smith (2-1) Smith (2-1) Sutter (4) 9,336 2:45 N
Fri 4/26/1985 vs Braves W 3-2 9-8 W1 DiPino (1-2) Camp (0-3) 13,059 2:40 N
Sat 4/27/1985 vs Braves L 2-8 9-9 L1 Mahler (5-0) Scott (1-1) 34,686 2:28 N
Sun 4/28/1985 vs Braves W 2-1 10-9 W1 Smith (3-1) Forster (0-1) 14,455 2:19 N
Tue 4/30/1985 at Mets L 1-4 10-10 L1 Gooden (3-1) Niekro (1-3) 31,558 2:27 N
Wed 5/1/1985 at Mets W 10-3 11-10 W1 Knepper (2-0) Darling (1-1) DiPino (3) 17,973 2:45 N
Fri 5/3/1985 at Phillies L 2-3 11-11 L1 Tekulve (2-0) DiPino (1-3) 17,330 2:49 N
Sat 5/4/1985 at Phillies L 5-7 (13) 11-12 L2 Rucker (1-0) Dawley (0-2) 25,521 3:13 N
Sun 5/5/1985 at Phillies W 4-3 12-12 W1 Niekro (2-3) Rawley (3-2) DiPino (4) 27,506 2:30 D
Tue 5/7/1985 at Expos W 3-1 13-12 W2 Knepper (3-0) Palmer (2-3) Dawley (1) 11,605 2:34 N
Wed 5/8/1985 at Expos L 0-1 13-13 L1 Hesketh (4-1) Ryan (2-2) Reardon (8) 10,122 2:37 N
Fri 5/10/1985 at Reds L 2-5 13-14 L2 Browning (3-1) DiPino (1-4) Power (5) 22,097 2:07 N
Sat 5/11/1985 at Reds W 10-7 14-14 W1 Solano (1-0) Soto (5-3) Smith (4) 26,098 3:00 N
Sun 5/12/1985 at Reds W 10-5 15-14 W2 Knepper (4-0) Tibbs (2-5) Calhoun (2) 15,749 2:58 D
Mon 5/13/1985 vs Expos W 3-2 (10) 16-14 W3 Smith (4-1) Reardon (1-1) 10,558 2:29 N
Tue 5/14/1985 vs Expos W 10-0 17-14 W4 Mathis (2-1) Rogers (2-3) 9,148 2:52 N
Wed 5/15/1985 vs Mets L 3-5 17-15 L1 Gooden (6-1) Niekro (2-4) Orosco (5) 15,717 2:47 N
Thu 5/16/1985 vs Mets W 1-0 18-15 W1 Scott (2-1) Fernandez (1-1) Smith (5) 11,795 2:03 N
Fri 5/17/1985 vs Cardinals L 6-8 18-16 L1 Campbell (1-1) Calhoun (0-1) Dayley (2) 14,501 2:53 N
Sat 5/18/1985 vs Cardinals W 6-5 19-16 W1 Ryan (3-2) Kepshire (2-4) Ross (1) 39,828 2:43 N
Sun 5/19/1985 vs Cardinals W 7-3 20-16 W2 Mathis (3-1) Tudor (1-6) Dawley (2) 15,652 2:38 D
Mon 5/20/1985 at Pirates L 1-3 20-17 L1 Rhoden (3-4) Niekro (2-5) Holland (3) 4,768 2:09 N
Tue 5/21/1985 at Pirates L 2-3 20-18 L2 Reuschel (1-0) Scott (2-2) Candelaria (6) 5,146 2:29 N
Wed 5/22/1985 at Pirates W 5-3 (10) 21-18 W1 Dawley (1-2) Holland (1-2) Smith (6) 10,681 2:53 N
Fri 5/24/1985 at Cubs W 6-2 22-18 W2 Ryan (4-2) Ruthven (1-3) 35,743 2:38 D
Sat 5/25/1985 at Cubs L 4-5 22-19 L1 Smith (2-0) Ross (0-1) 36,278 2:39 D
Sun 5/26/1985 at Cubs L 8-10 22-20 L2 Frazier (3-1) Ross (0-2) Smith (11) 37,044 2:56 D
Mon 5/27/1985 vs Pirates W 4-2 23-20 W1 Knepper (5-0) DeLeon (0-7) Smith (7) 9,692 2:17 N
Tue 5/28/1985 vs Pirates L 3-4 (12) 23-21 L1 Guante (1-0) Solano (1-1) 8,686 3:50 N
Wed 5/29/1985 vs Pirates W 8-3 24-21 W1 Ryan (5-2) Krawczyk (0-2) 10,133 2:26 N
Fri 5/31/1985 vs Cubs L 2-6 (10) 24-22 L1 Smith (3-0) Smith (4-2) 33,440 3:08 N
Sat 6/1/1985 vs Cubs L 1-4 24-23 L2 Eckersley (7-3) Knepper (5-1) 38,879 2:26 N
Sun 6/2/1985 vs Cubs W 4-3 25-23 W1 Scott (3-2) Gura (0-1) Smith (8) 21,129 2:37 N
Mon 6/3/1985 at Cardinals L 5-9 25-24 L1 Tudor (2-7) Ryan (5-3) Dayley (5) 18,891 2:35 N
Tue 6/4/1985 at Cardinals L 1-6 25-25 L2 Andujar (10-1) Niekro (2-6) 23,203 2:30 N
Wed 6/5/1985 at Cardinals W 8-3 26-25 W1 Knepper (6-1) Cox (6-2) DiPino (5) 23,998 2:41 N
Fri 6/7/1985 vs Giants W 4-1 27-25 W2 Scott (4-2) Hammaker (2-5) Smith (9) 11,202 2:13 N
Sat 6/8/1985 vs Giants W 4-1 28-25 W3 Ryan (6-3) Laskey (1-6) Smith (10) 24,675 2:15 N
Sun 6/9/1985 vs Giants W 5-0 29-25 W4 Niekro (3-6) LaPoint (2-6) 9,667 1:54 N
Mon 6/10/1985 vs Padres L 1-9 29-26 L1 Hoyt (7-4) Knepper (6-2) 10,700 2:31 N
Tue 6/11/1985 vs Padres W 11-0 30-26 W1 Scott (5-2) Thurmond (3-4) 11,989 2:34 N
Wed 6/12/1985 vs Padres W 3-2 31-26 W2 Ryan (7-3) Show (4-4) 15,978 2:10 N
Fri 6/14/1985 vs Dodgers L 2-10 31-27 L1 Reuss (4-5) Niekro (3-7) 21,243 2:48 N
Sat 6/15/1985 vs Dodgers L 0-3 31-28 L2 Hershiser (6-1) Knepper (6-3) 25,422 1:56 D
Sun 6/16/1985 vs Dodgers L 0-9 31-29 L3 Valenzuela (6-7) Scott (5-3) 25,491 2:48 N
Mon 6/17/1985 at Braves W 4-3 32-29 W1 Ryan (8-3) Shields (1-1) Smith (11) 11,346 2:27 N
Tue 6/18/1985 at Braves L 2-3 32-30 L1 Sutter (4-2) Solano (1-2) 10,551 2:11 N
Wed 6/19/1985 at Braves W 7-3 33-30 W1 Niekro (4-7) Bedrosian (3-6) 10,420 2:54 N
Thu 6/20/1985 at Braves W 2-0 34-30 W2 Knepper (7-3) Mahler (10-6) Smith (12) 13,799 2:29 N
Fri 6/21/1985 at Dodgers L 2-7 34-31 L1 Hershiser (7-1) Scott (5-4) 39,584 2:41 N
Sat 6/22/1985 at Dodgers L 3-6 34-32 L2 Valenzuela (7-7) Ryan (8-4) 48,313 2:28 N
Sun 6/23/1985 at Dodgers L 2-6 34-33 L3 Honeycutt (5-6) Mathis (3-2) Niedenfuer (5) 38,716 2:44 D
Mon 6/24/1985 at Dodgers W 8-4 35-33 W1 Niekro (5-7) Reuss (5-6) 34,459 2:42 N
Tue 6/25/1985 vs Braves L 4-6 35-34 L1 Mahler (11-6) Knepper (7-4) Sutter (12) 13,440 2:28 N
Wed 6/26/1985 vs Braves L 1-3 (11) 35-35 L2 Dedmon (4-0) Smith (4-3) Sutter (13) 12,243 2:47 N
Thu 6/27/1985 vs Braves L 1-4 35-36 L3 Smith (4-4) Ryan (8-5) Sutter (14) 15,828 2:36 N
Fri 6/28/1985 at Giants W 3-1 36-36 W1 Niekro (6-7) Laskey (1-10) Smith (13) 6,840 2:35 D
Sat 6/29/1985 at Giants W 8-1 37-36 W2 Knepper (8-4) Hammaker (3-8) 8,820 2:39 D
Sun 6/30/1985 1 at Giants W 6-2 38-36 W3 Scott (6-4) LaPoint (3-7) 2:33 D
Sun 6/30/1985 2 at Giants L 4-7 38-37 L1 Blue (4-2) Mathis (3-3) M. Davis (4) 18,274 2:31 D
Mon 7/1/1985 at Padres L 5-6 (10) 38-38 L2 Gossage (2-1) Ryan (8-6) 36,001 2:25 N
Tue 7/2/1985 at Padres W 3-2 39-38 W1 Niekro (7-7) Wojna (1-1) Calhoun (3) 36,138 2:36 N
Thu 7/4/1985 vs Expos L 3-9 (12) 39-39 L1 St. Claire (3-1) DiPino (1-5) 26,249 3:18 N
Fri 7/5/1985 vs Expos W 4-2 40-39 W1 Scott (7-4) Mahler (1-3) Mathis (1) 16,183 2:23 N
Sat 7/6/1985 vs Expos W 8-7 41-39 W2 Calhoun (1-1) Lucas (3-1) Smith (14) 24,071 2:46 N
Sun 7/7/1985 vs Expos L 3-6 (19) 41-40 L1 Youmans (1-0) Mathis (3-4) 14,493 5:12 N
Mon 7/8/1985 vs Phillies L 4-7 41-41 L2 Hudson (4-7) Knudson (0-1) Tekulve (7) 8,484 2:56 N
Tue 7/9/1985 vs Phillies L 3-5 41-42 L3 K. Gross (8-7) Knepper (8-5) Tekulve (8) 9,606 2:46 N
Wed 7/10/1985 vs Phillies W 10-0 42-42 W1 Scott (8-4) Koosman (3-2) 9,222 2:14 N
Thu 7/11/1985 vs Mets W 4-3 (12) 43-42 W2 Smith (5-3) Gorman (4-4) 20,921 3:44 N
Fri 7/12/1985 vs Mets L 2-3 (10) 43-43 L1 Darling (9-2) Mathis (3-5) McDowell (7) 21,035 3:04 N
Sat 7/13/1985 vs Mets L 1-10 43-44 L2 Lynch (7-5) Knudson (0-2) 23,234 2:58 N
Sun 7/14/1985 vs Mets L 0-1 43-45 L3 Gooden (13-3) Knepper (8-6) 15,117 2:35 N
Thu 7/18/1985 at Expos L 0-3 43-46 L4 Hesketh (6-4) Niekro (7-8) Reardon (23) 23,256 2:27 N
Fri 7/19/1985 at Expos L 0-4 43-47 L5 Smith (11-3) Knepper (8-7) 18,760 2:18 N
Sat 7/20/1985 at Expos L 1-6 43-48 L6 Gullickson (9-6) Ryan (8-7) 31,006 2:13 N
Sun 7/21/1985 at Expos W 5-4 44-48 W1 Scott (9-4) Mahler (1-4) Smith (15) 25,201 3:03 D
Mon 7/22/1985 at Phillies L 6-7 44-49 L1 Carman (3-3) Heathcock (0-1) 20,450 3:07 N
Tue 7/23/1985 at Phillies L 6-12 44-50 L2 Koosman (5-2) Knepper (8-8) 21,074 2:35 N
Wed 7/24/1985 at Phillies L 1-3 44-51 L3 K. Gross (9-8) Ryan (8-8) Tekulve (11) 23,160 2:19 N
Thu 7/25/1985 at Mets L 3-6 44-52 L4 Gooden (15-3) Scott (9-5) 28,421 2:39 N
Sat 7/27/1985 1 at Mets L 4-16 44-53 L5 Orosco (2-4) DiPino (1-6) 3:03 D
Sat 7/27/1985 2 at Mets L 3-7 44-54 L6 Latham (1-1) Kerfeld (0-1) Orosco (10) 51,284 2:55 D
Sun 7/28/1985 at Mets W 12-4 45-54 W1 Niekro (8-8) Darling (10-4) 34,298 3:05 D
Tue 7/30/1985 at Reds L 1-4 45-55 L1 Soto (10-11) Ryan (8-9) 26,822 2:40 N
Wed 7/31/1985 at Reds W 9-2 46-55 W1 Scott (10-5) Browning (9-8) 20,758 2:33 N
Thu 8/1/1985 at Reds L 2-5 46-56 L1 McGaffigan (1-0) Knepper (8-9) 20,608 2:17 N
Fri 8/2/1985 vs Padres W 12-9 47-56 W1 Niekro (9-8) Hoyt (13-6) Smith (16) 20,675 2:58 N
Sat 8/3/1985 vs Padres W 4-3 48-56 W2 Kerfeld (1-1) Lefferts (6-5) 27,858 2:28 N
Sun 8/4/1985 vs Padres W 2-1 49-56 W3 Scott (11-5) Dravecky (8-7) Smith (17) 15,912 1:59 N
Mon 8/5/1985 vs Giants W 7-5 50-56 W4 Knepper (9-9) Hammaker (3-10) Smith (18) 12,482 2:34 N
Thu 8/8/1985 at Padres L 5-6 50-57 L1 Lefferts (7-5) Smith (5-4) 19,977 2:30 N
Fri 8/9/1985 1 at Padres L 4-6 50-58 L2 Dravecky (9-7) Ryan (8-10) Walter (1) 2:37 N
Fri 8/9/1985 2 at Padres L 1-2 50-59 L3 Show (8-7) Scott (11-6) Thurmond (2) 23,656 2:33 N
Sun 8/11/1985 at Padres W 7-2 51-59 W1 Knepper (10-9) Hawkins (14-4) 23,324 2:17 D
Tue 8/13/1985 at Giants L 2-4 51-60 L1 Krukow (8-8) Niekro (9-9) 2,916 2:15 D
Wed 8/14/1985 at Giants W 7-5 52-60 W1 Heathcock (1-1) M. Davis (3-7) Smith (19) 4,778 2:57 D
Thu 8/15/1985 at Giants W 4-1 53-60 W2 Scott (12-6) LaPoint (5-11) 2,384 2:25 D
Fri 8/16/1985 vs Reds W 5-4 54-60 W3 Smith (6-4) Power (4-3) 17,483 2:29 N
Sat 8/17/1985 vs Reds L 0-8 54-61 L1 Browning (11-9) Niekro (9-10) 22,703 2:07 N
Sun 8/18/1985 vs Reds L 3-8 54-62 L2 Tibbs (6-13) Ryan (8-11) Franco (5) 14,216 2:43 N
Tue 8/20/1985 vs Cardinals W 17-2 55-62 W1 Scott (13-6) Kepshire (9-7) 10,348 2:27 N
Wed 8/21/1985 vs Cardinals L 4-7 55-63 L1 Lahti (2-1) Smith (6-5) 14,164 2:53 N
Thu 8/22/1985 vs Cardinals L 1-2 55-64 L2 Horton (2-2) Calhoun (1-2) Dayley (10) 14,555 2:43 N
Fri 8/23/1985 at Pirates W 2-0 (10) 56-64 W1 Dawley (2-2) Clements (0-1) DiPino (6) 4,198 2:39 N
Sun 8/25/1985 1 at Pirates L 3-9 56-65 L1 Reuschel (10-6) Scott (13-7) 2:27 D
Sun 8/25/1985 2 at Pirates L 9-10 56-66 L2 Robinson (4-8) Calhoun (1-3) 7,929 3:29 D
Mon 8/26/1985 vs Cubs L 4-10 56-67 L3 Engel (1-2) Knepper (10-10) 9,557 2:36 N
Tue 8/27/1985 vs Cubs W 11-4 57-67 W1 Smith (7-5) Meridith (2-1) 10,810 2:43 N
Wed 8/28/1985 vs Cubs W 3-0 58-67 W2 Ryan (9-11) Baller (0-2) Heathcock (1) 6,979 2:24 D
Fri 8/30/1985 at Cardinals W 7-5 59-67 W3 Scott (14-7) Kepshire (10-8) Smith (20) 31,975 2:39 N
Sat 8/31/1985 at Cardinals W 3-1 60-67 W4 Knepper (11-10) Cox (14-8) 38,387 2:29 N
Sun 9/1/1985 at Cardinals L 0-5 60-68 L1 Tudor (16-8) Niekro (9-11) 31,927 2:34 D
Mon 9/2/1985 at Cubs W 7-2 61-68 W1 Dawley (3-2) Baller (0-3) 26,620 2:37 D
Tue 9/3/1985 at Cubs W 8-7 (10) 62-68 W2 Smith (8-5) Frazier (7-6) 11,306 3:02 D
Wed 9/4/1985 at Cubs W 11-6 63-68 W3 Scott (15-7) Meridith (2-2) 9,136 3:03 D
Thu 9/5/1985 vs Pirates W 4-3 64-68 W4 Knepper (12-10) Walk (1-2) Smith (21) 6,003 2:06 N
Fri 9/6/1985 vs Pirates W 4-3 (10) 65-68 W5 Dawley (4-2) Robinson (4-11) 7,163 2:56 N
Sat 9/7/1985 vs Pirates L 1-7 65-69 L1 Tunnell (3-9) Kerfeld (1-2) 15,999 2:21 N
Mon 9/9/1985 vs Giants W 4-2 66-69 W1 Scott (16-7) Hammaker (4-11) Smith (22) 3,621 2:30 N
Tue 9/10/1985 vs Giants W 4-1 67-69 W2 Knepper (13-10) Krukow (8-11) 4,343 2:06 N
Wed 9/11/1985 1 vs Giants L 4-11 67-70 L1 Gott (7-10) Niekro (9-12) 2:39 N
Wed 9/11/1985 2 vs Giants W 10-9 68-70 W1 DiPino (2-6) M. Davis (5-9) 5,269 2:45 N
Thu 9/12/1985 vs Giants W 5-2 69-70 W2 Kerfeld (2-2) LaPoint (7-13) 4,113 2:16 N
Fri 9/13/1985 vs Padres W 3-2 70-70 W3 Scott (17-7) Thurmond (6-9) 8,932 2:09 N
Sat 9/14/1985 vs Padres W 4-3 71-70 W4 Knepper (14-10) Dravecky (11-10) Smith (23) 9,885 2:03 N
Sun 9/15/1985 vs Padres W 2-1 72-70 W5 Calhoun (2-3) Lefferts (7-6) Smith (24) 6,412 2:10 N
Mon 9/16/1985 at Braves W 7-2 73-70 W6 Heathcock (2-1) Johnson (4-1) 2,400 2:11 N
Tue 9/17/1985 at Braves W 10-6 74-70 W7 DiPino (3-6) Smith (7-10) 2,484 2:53 N
Wed 9/18/1985 at Dodgers W 7-2 75-70 W8 Scott (18-7) Howell (4-6) Calhoun (4) 34,251 2:47 N
Thu 9/19/1985 at Dodgers W 6-5 76-70 W9 Knepper (15-10) Welch (11-4) Smith (25) 25,466 3:11 N
Fri 9/20/1985 vs Reds L 3-5 76-71 L1 Tibbs (9-15) Ryan (9-12) Power (23) 14,776 2:17 N
Sat 9/21/1985 vs Reds W 9-5 77-71 W1 Smith (9-5) Franco (12-3) 9,582 2:42 D
Sun 9/22/1985 vs Reds L 5-6 77-72 L1 Power (7-4) Dawley (4-3) 10,181 2:48 N
Mon 9/23/1985 vs Dodgers L 3-5 77-73 L2 Diaz (5-3) Calhoun (2-4) Niedenfuer (17) 8,938 2:50 N
Tue 9/24/1985 vs Dodgers L 2-7 77-74 L3 Welch (12-4) Knepper (15-11) 10,043 2:44 N
Wed 9/25/1985 vs Dodgers W 6-4 (10) 78-74 W1 Solano (2-2) Niedenfuer (7-8) 16,955 2:45 N
Fri 9/27/1985 at Reds L 3-4 78-75 L1 Robinson (7-6) Calhoun (2-5) Franco (10) 19,178 2:09 N
Sat 9/28/1985 at Reds L 2-5 78-76 L2 Browning (20-9) Scott (18-8) Power (26) 19,088 2:16 D
Sun 9/29/1985 at Reds L 0-5 78-77 L3 Tibbs (10-15) Knepper (15-12) 33,317 1:53 D
Mon 9/30/1985 vs Braves L 3-6 (11) 78-78 L4 Camp (4-6) DiPino (3-7) 9,973 3:20 N
Tue 10/1/1985 vs Braves W 2-0 79-78 W1 Kerfeld (3-2) Bedrosian (7-15) Smith (26) 2,600 1:53 D
Wed 10/2/1985 at Giants W 7-2 80-78 W2 Dawley (5-3) M. Davis (5-12) 1,213 2:34 D
Thu 10/3/1985 at Giants W 7-2 81-78 W3 Heathcock (3-1) LaPoint (7-17) 1,427 2:34 D
Fri 10/4/1985 at Padres L 3-4 81-79 L1 Thurmond (7-11) Knepper (15-13) Gossage (26) 11,210 2:31 N
Sat 10/5/1985 at Padres W 9-3 82-79 W1 Ryan (10-12) Wojna (2-4) 9,122 2:48 D
Sun 10/6/1985 at Padres W 6-4 83-79 W2 Kerfeld (4-2) Show (12-11) Smith (27) 22,813 2:25 D

Totals:


Data courtesy of Retrosheet