1983 Houston Astros
Personnel | Standings | Splits | Regular Season


Summary:

85-77, Third place, NL West


Manager: Bob Lillis

Coaches:

NameFirst GameLast Game
Cot Deal4/5/198310/2/1983
Don Leppert4/5/198310/2/1983
Denis Menke4/5/198310/2/1983
Les Moss4/5/198310/2/1983
Jerry Walker4/5/198310/2/1983

Players:

Alan Ashby Kevin Bass George Bjorkman Jose Cruz Bill Dawley
Frank DiPino Bill Doran Phil Garner Jeff Heathcock Bob Knepper
Ray Knight Frank LaCorte Mike LaCoss Scott Loucks Mike Madden
John Mizerock Omar Moreno Jerry Mumphrey Joe Niekro Bert Pena
Terry Puhl Luis Pujols Craig Reynolds Vern Ruhle Nolan Ryan
Mike Scott Tony Scott Dave Smith Julio Solano Harry Spilman
Dickie Thon Tim Tolman Denny Walling


Standings: 1983 NL Western Division

Team G W L Pct RS RA GB
Los Angeles Dodgers 163 91 71 .562 654 609 -
Atlanta Braves 162 88 74 .543 746 640 3.0
Houston Astros 162 85 77 .525 643 646 6.0
San Diego Padres 163 81 81 .500 653 653 10.0
San Francisco Giants 162 79 83 .488 687 697 12.0
Cincinnati Reds 162 74 88 .457 623 710 17.0

Finish: Third place out of six, 6 games behind


Team splits:

Total Home Road
Team G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
Atlanta Braves 18 7 11 .389 63 84 10 5 5 .500 36 37 8 2 6 .250 27 47
Chicago Cubs 12 7 5 .583 57 61 6 4 2 .667 18 18 6 3 3 .500 39 43
Cincinnati Reds 18 13 5 .722 94 60 9 6 3 .667 39 30 9 7 2 .778 55 30
Los Angeles Dodgers 18 6 12 .333 69 85 9 4 5 .444 32 44 9 2 7 .222 37 41
Montreal Expos 12 8 4 .667 57 50 6 5 1 .833 32 20 6 3 3 .500 25 30
New York Mets 12 9 3 .750 53 37 6 4 2 .667 21 15 6 5 1 .833 32 22
Philadelphia Phillies 12 4 8 .333 42 62 6 1 5 .167 15 25 6 3 3 .500 27 37
Pittsburgh Pirates 12 6 6 .500 50 43 6 2 4 .333 20 20 6 4 2 .667 30 23
San Diego Padres 18 11 7 .611 64 56 9 7 2 .778 34 24 9 4 5 .444 30 32
San Francisco Giants 18 12 6 .667 59 52 9 6 3 .667 27 21 9 6 3 .667 32 31
St. Louis Cardinals 12 2 10 .167 35 56 6 2 4 .333 20 24 6 0 6 .000 15 32
Total 162 85 77 .525 643 646 82 46 36 .561 294 278 80 39 41 .488 349 368

Division splits:

Total Home Road
Division G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
NL East 72 36 36 .500 294 309 36 18 18 .500 126 122 36 18 18 .500 168 187
NL West 90 49 41 .544 349 337 46 28 18 .609 168 156 44 21 23 .477 181 181
Total 162 85 77 .525 643 646 82 46 36 .561 294 278 80 39 41 .488 349 368

Splits by month:

Total Home Road
Month G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
April 22 8 14 .364 77 104 15 5 10 .333 58 79 7 3 4 .429 19 25
May 28 14 14 .500 120 135 14 7 7 .500 51 53 14 7 7 .500 69 82
June 26 15 11 .577 91 86 10 8 2 .800 28 21 16 7 9 .438 63 65
July 26 15 11 .577 123 96 16 10 6 .625 68 40 10 5 5 .500 55 56
August 30 18 12 .600 109 99 12 8 4 .667 40 34 18 10 8 .556 69 65
September 28 14 14 .500 116 118 13 7 6 .538 42 43 15 7 8 .467 74 75
October 2 1 1 .500 7 8 2 1 1 .500 7 8 - - - - - -
Total 162 85 77 .525 643 646 82 46 36 .561 294 278 80 39 41 .488 349 368

Day/night splits:

Total Home Road
Day / night G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
Day 39 17 22 .436 159 205 10 5 5 .500 44 42 29 12 17 .414 115 163
Night 123 68 55 .553 484 441 72 41 31 .569 250 236 51 27 24 .529 234 205
Total 162 85 77 .525 643 646 82 46 36 .561 294 278 80 39 41 .488 349 368

Splits by day of week:

Total Home Road
Day of week G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
Sunday 25 11 14 .440 103 113 13 7 6 .538 53 49 12 4 8 .333 50 64
Monday 15 9 6 .600 66 65 7 5 2 .714 23 26 8 4 4 .500 43 39
Tuesday 25 18 7 .720 127 100 12 7 5 .583 52 52 13 11 2 .846 75 48
Wednesday 26 13 13 .500 89 103 13 8 5 .615 40 33 13 5 8 .385 49 70
Thursday 19 8 11 .421 66 71 11 6 5 .545 36 32 8 2 6 .250 30 39
Friday 26 15 11 .577 100 91 13 8 5 .615 44 36 13 7 6 .538 56 55
Saturday 26 11 15 .423 92 103 13 5 8 .385 46 50 13 6 7 .462 46 53
Total 162 85 77 .525 643 646 82 46 36 .561 294 278 80 39 41 .488 349 368

Score by inning:

Home 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 Total
Opponent 43 30 23 36 34 34 20 26 25 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 278
Houston 45 29 39 36 29 24 40 33 11 4 3 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 294

Road 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 Total
Houston 49 40 31 53 26 28 28 36 50 5 0 3 0 0 349
Opponent 49 30 44 40 43 48 48 44 12 5 3 0 0 2 368

Total 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 Total
Opponent 92 60 67 76 77 82 68 70 37 10 3 0 0 2 0 0 0 2 646
Houston 94 69 70 89 55 52 68 69 61 9 3 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 643


Regular Season

Date Opponent Score Rec Strk WP LP SV A T D/N
Tue 4/5/1983 vs Dodgers L 7-16 0-1 L1 Pena (1-0) LaCorte (0-1) Stewart (1) 27,343 3:23 N
Wed 4/6/1983 vs Dodgers L 2-4 0-2 L2 Reuss (1-0) Smith (0-1) Howe (1) 9,931 2:47 N
Thu 4/7/1983 vs Pirates L 2-3 0-3 L3 Scurry (1-0) Knepper (0-1) 7,741 2:45 N
Fri 4/8/1983 vs Pirates L 3-5 0-4 L4 Scurry (2-0) DiPino (0-1) Bibby (1) 10,862 3:02 N
Sat 4/9/1983 vs Pirates L 0-1 0-5 L5 McWilliams (1-0) Niekro (0-1) 13,856 2:15 N
Sun 4/10/1983 vs Pirates L 8-10 0-6 L6 Bibby (1-0) Solano (0-1) Scurry (1) 7,668 2:44 D
Mon 4/11/1983 at Dodgers L 3-4 (11) 0-7 L7 Howe (1-0) Solano (0-2) 30,882 3:19 N
Tue 4/12/1983 at Dodgers L 1-3 0-8 L8 Pena (2-0) Ruhle (0-1) Howe (2) 32,841 2:29 N
Wed 4/13/1983 at Dodgers L 3-5 (14) 0-9 L9 Zachry (1-0) LaCorte (0-2) 34,759 4:08 N
Fri 4/15/1983 vs Expos W 7-6 (10) 1-9 W1 Dawley (1-0) Burris (0-1) 10,237 3:09 N
Sat 4/16/1983 vs Expos L 0-2 1-10 L1 Lea (2-0) Knepper (0-2) 12,182 2:03 D
Sun 4/17/1983 vs Expos W 6-3 2-10 W1 Ryan (1-0) Gullickson (1-2) Ruhle (1) 9,334 2:38 D
Tue 4/19/1983 vs Reds W 6-5 3-10 W2 Dawley (2-0) Hume (0-1) 8,027 2:18 N
Wed 4/20/1983 vs Reds L 4-6 3-11 L1 Gale (2-0) LaCoss (0-1) Power (1) 8,476 3:11 N
Thu 4/21/1983 vs Reds W 4-3 (10) 4-11 W1 LaCorte (1-2) Hume (0-2) 7,862 2:48 N
Fri 4/22/1983 vs Phillies L 3-6 4-12 L1 Monge (2-0) Ryan (1-1) Reed (2) 32,130 3:00 N
Sat 4/23/1983 vs Phillies L 3-7 4-13 L2 Denny (2-1) Niekro (0-2) 22,790 2:11 N
Sun 4/24/1983 vs Phillies W 3-2 (11) 5-13 W1 Madden (1-0) Reed (1-1) 9,344 2:47 D
Tue 4/26/1983 at Expos W 2-0 6-13 W2 Knepper (1-2) Gullickson (1-3) 8,737 2:32 D
Wed 4/27/1983 at Expos W 4-2 7-13 W3 Ryan (2-1) Sanderson (3-1) LaCorte (1) 19,309 2:20 D
Fri 4/29/1983 at Phillies W 6-3 (10) 8-13 W4 LaCorte (2-2) Carlton (3-2) Dawley (1) 30,067 3:10 N
Sat 4/30/1983 at Phillies L 0-8 8-14 L1 Denny (3-1) LaCoss (0-2) 24,845 2:03 D
Sun 5/1/1983 at Phillies L 3-11 8-15 L2 Christenson (1-2) Knepper (1-3) 27,968 2:48 D
Mon 5/2/1983 at Mets W 3-2 9-15 W1 Ryan (3-1) Torrez (1-3) LaCorte (2) 5,218 2:30 N
Tue 5/3/1983 at Mets W 7-4 10-15 W2 Niekro (1-2) Swan (1-2) Dawley (2) 4,990 2:36 N
Wed 5/4/1983 at Mets W 4-3 11-15 W3 LaCoss (1-2) Ownbey (0-2) 5,511 2:21 N
Thu 5/5/1983 at Braves L 3-6 11-16 L1 McMurtry (3-1) Knepper (1-4) Bedrosian (3) 14,817 2:24 N
Fri 5/6/1983 at Braves W 6-0 12-16 W1 DiPino (1-1) Niekro (1-3) 29,956 2:39 N
Sat 5/7/1983 at Braves L 1-10 12-17 L1 Perez (5-0) Niekro (1-3) 33,612 2:40 D
Sun 5/8/1983 at Braves L 3-4 12-18 L2 Behenna (3-0) LaCoss (1-3) Forster (4) 20,799 2:13 D
Mon 5/9/1983 vs Mets W 6-4 13-18 W1 Madden (2-0) Ownbey (0-3) LaCorte (3) 7,436 2:31 N
Tue 5/10/1983 vs Mets W 5-4 (11) 14-18 W2 DiPino (2-1) Allen (0-4) 8,941 3:07 N
Wed 5/11/1983 vs Mets L 0-3 14-19 L1 Seaver (2-2) M. Scott (0-1) 8,757 2:03 N
Thu 5/12/1983 vs Braves W 4-3 (10) 15-19 W1 DiPino (3-1) Falcone (1-1) 9,842 2:47 N
Fri 5/13/1983 vs Braves W 5-2 16-19 W2 LaCoss (2-3) Behenna (3-1) 17,757 1:53 N
Sat 5/14/1983 vs Braves L 3-4 (10) 16-20 L1 Forster (1-0) Dawley (2-1) 38,102 2:45 N
Sun 5/15/1983 vs Braves L 4-9 16-21 L2 McMurtry (5-1) Knepper (1-5) 14,857 2:31 D
Tue 5/17/1983 at Cardinals L 4-8 16-22 L3 Forsch (3-3) Niekro (1-4) 40,740 2:20 N
Wed 5/18/1983 at Cardinals L 5-9 16-23 L4 Andujar (3-5) DiPino (3-2) 22,680 2:54 D
Fri 5/20/1983 at Pirates L 3-4 16-24 L5 McWilliams (4-3) Knepper (1-6) Tekulve (1) 13,643 2:42 N
Sat 5/21/1983 at Pirates W 6-4 17-24 W1 LaCoss (3-3) Niemann (0-1) DiPino (1) 8,804 2:38 N
Mon 5/23/1983 vs Cubs W 3-2 18-24 W2 Niekro (2-4) Trout (3-6) DiPino (2) 8,816 2:38 N
Tue 5/24/1983 vs Cubs L 4-5 18-25 L1 Ruthven (2-3) M. Scott (0-2) Campbell (3) 8,859 2:39 N
Wed 5/25/1983 vs Cubs W 1-0 19-25 W1 Madden (3-0) Lefferts (0-2) Dawley (3) 8,833 2:17 N
Thu 5/26/1983 vs Cardinals L 3-5 19-26 L1 Von Ohlen (1-0) LaCoss (3-4) Sutter (4) 10,884 2:47 N
Fri 5/27/1983 vs Cardinals L 1-3 (18) 19-27 L2 Lahti (1-1) Knepper (1-7) 12,651 4:26 N
Sat 5/28/1983 vs Cardinals W 9-2 20-27 W1 Niekro (3-4) Martin (2-1) 24,412 2:35 N
Sun 5/29/1983 vs Cardinals L 3-7 20-28 L1 LaPoint (4-1) M. Scott (0-3) 19,600 2:28 D
Mon 5/30/1983 at Cubs W 9-7 21-28 W1 Dawley (3-1) Campbell (2-2) DiPino (3) 26,487 2:54 D
Tue 5/31/1983 at Cubs W 12-10 22-28 W2 LaCorte (3-2) Lefferts (0-3) Smith (1) 9,595 3:26 D
Wed 6/1/1983 at Cubs L 2-3 22-29 L1 Rainey (5-4) Knepper (1-8) Smith (6) 8,320 2:08 D
Fri 6/3/1983 at Reds L 1-3 22-30 L2 Price (4-2) Niekro (3-5) 8,470 2:22 N
Sat 6/4/1983 at Reds W 13-0 23-30 W1 M. Scott (1-3) Berenyi (3-6) 13,045 2:29 N
Sun 6/5/1983 at Reds W 6-3 24-30 W2 Ruhle (1-1) Scherrer (1-3) Dawley (4) 18,221 2:43 D
Tue 6/7/1983 vs Giants W 4-2 25-30 W3 LaCorte (4-2) Hammaker (6-3) DiPino (4) 16,464 2:39 N
Wed 6/8/1983 vs Giants W 1-0 (11) 26-30 W4 Dawley (4-1) Lavelle (3-1) 10,004 2:53 N
Thu 6/9/1983 vs Giants W 3-0 27-30 W5 Knepper (2-8) Krukow (3-4) 10,701 2:18 N
Fri 6/10/1983 vs Padres W 2-1 28-30 W6 LaCoss (4-4) Whitson (0-4) Dawley (5) 13,385 2:15 N
Sat 6/11/1983 vs Padres L 4-8 28-31 L1 Montefusco (5-1) Ruhle (1-2) 25,173 3:00 N
Sun 6/12/1983 vs Padres W 2-0 29-31 W1 Ryan (4-1) Show (7-3) 14,950 2:06 N
Mon 6/13/1983 vs Padres W 2-0 30-31 W2 Niekro (4-5) Dravecky (9-4) DiPino (5) 11,897 2:17 N
Tue 6/14/1983 at Giants W 3-2 (12) 31-31 W3 Smith (1-1) Minton (1-3) 8,361 3:26 N
Wed 6/15/1983 at Giants L 1-7 31-32 L1 Breining (6-4) LaCoss (4-5) 10,555 2:19 D
Thu 6/16/1983 at Giants W 7-2 32-32 W1 M. Scott (2-3) Laskey (7-7) DiPino (6) 7,879 2:49 N
Fri 6/17/1983 at Padres W 4-1 33-32 W2 Ryan (5-1) Show (7-4) Dawley (6) 20,768 2:40 N
Sat 6/18/1983 at Padres L 1-2 (11) 33-33 L1 Dravecky (10-4) LaCorte (4-3) 26,640 2:38 N
Sun 6/19/1983 at Padres L 4-6 33-34 L2 Sosa (1-1) Knepper (2-9) Monge (3) 16,464 2:36 D
Mon 6/20/1983 vs Braves L 1-7 33-35 L3 Falcone (5-1) Ruhle (1-3) 16,242 2:14 N
Tue 6/21/1983 vs Braves W 5-0 34-35 W1 M. Scott (3-3) Niekro (2-6) 16,251 2:10 N
Wed 6/22/1983 vs Braves W 4-3 35-35 W2 Dawley (5-1) Garber (2-3) 25,322 3:09 N
Fri 6/24/1983 at Dodgers L 2-7 35-36 L1 Hooton (7-2) Niekro (4-6) 40,316 2:41 N
Sat 6/25/1983 at Dodgers L 1-2 (11) 35-37 L2 Niedenfuer (4-0) Dawley (5-2) 44,294 2:50 N
Sun 6/26/1983 at Dodgers W 9-7 36-37 W1 M. Scott (4-3) Pena (6-3) Smith (2) 48,401 3:08 D
Tue 6/28/1983 at Braves W 4-3 37-37 W2 Ryan (6-1) Forster (1-2) Dawley (7) 20,960 2:41 N
Wed 6/29/1983 at Braves L 1-11 37-38 L1 Dayley (2-0) Niekro (4-7) 16,776 2:32 D
Thu 6/30/1983 at Braves L 4-6 37-39 L2 Bedrosian (5-2) DiPino (3-3) 20,117 2:52 N
Fri 7/1/1983 vs Dodgers L 2-5 (10) 37-40 L3 Pena (7-3) LaCorte (4-4) Howe (8) 20,925 2:49 N
Sat 7/2/1983 vs Dodgers W 3-1 38-40 W1 Ryan (7-1) Beckwith (0-2) 38,985 2:15 N
Sun 7/3/1983 vs Dodgers W 8-1 39-40 W2 Niekro (5-7) Welch (6-8) 39,269 2:33 N
Mon 7/4/1983 vs Dodgers W 5-4 40-40 W3 Smith (2-1) Howe (2-3) DiPino (7) 29,462 2:44 N
Fri 7/8/1983 at Mets W 6-3 41-40 W4 Ryan (8-1) Torrez (5-9) 12,722 2:27 N
Sat 7/9/1983 at Mets W 7-3 42-40 W5 Niekro (6-7) Seaver (5-9) DiPino (8) 49,596 2:40 N
Sun 7/10/1983 at Mets L 5-7 42-41 L1 Sisk (3-2) Dawley (5-3) 15,467 2:40 D
Tue 7/12/1983 vs Expos W 7-5 43-41 W1 Ruhle (2-3) Lerch (1-3) Smith (3) 17,027 2:59 N
Wed 7/13/1983 vs Expos W 9-4 44-41 W2 Ryan (9-1) Lea (6-6) 28,905 2:41 N
Thu 7/14/1983 vs Expos W 3-0 45-41 W3 Niekro (7-7) Rogers (12-4) 20,568 1:50 N
Fri 7/15/1983 vs Mets W 6-0 46-41 W4 Knepper (3-9) Lynch (6-4) 19,661 2:14 N
Sat 7/16/1983 vs Mets W 3-1 47-41 W5 M. Scott (5-3) Torrez (5-11) DiPino (9) 34,557 2:03 N
Sun 7/17/1983 vs Mets L 1-3 47-42 L1 Terrell (2-4) Ryan (9-2) Orosco (9) 31,049 2:41 N
Mon 7/18/1983 at Phillies W 8-2 48-42 W1 Niekro (8-7) Carlton (9-11) 23,024 2:42 N
Tue 7/19/1983 at Phillies W 7-3 49-42 W2 Knepper (4-9) Bystrom (3-5) DiPino (10) 23,851 2:56 N
Wed 7/20/1983 at Phillies L 3-10 49-43 L1 Hudson (3-3) M. Scott (5-4) 21,052 2:27 N
Thu 7/21/1983 at Expos L 4-9 49-44 L2 Gullickson (8-10) Ryan (9-3) 22,055 2:26 N
Fri 7/22/1983 at Expos W 11-8 50-44 W1 Smith (3-1) Fryman (0-2) Dawley (8) 34,425 3:02 N
Sat 7/23/1983 at Expos L 1-4 50-45 L1 Schatzeder (4-0) Knepper (4-10) Reardon (15) 28,992 2:13 N
Sun 7/24/1983 at Expos L 3-7 50-46 L2 Rogers (13-5) LaCoss (4-6) 35,184 2:14 D
Tue 7/26/1983 vs Phillies L 0-1 50-47 L3 Hudson (4-3) Ryan (9-4) Holland (9) 25,954 2:19 N
Wed 7/27/1983 vs Phillies L 1-3 50-48 L4 Denny (10-5) Niekro (8-8) Hernandez (6) 18,781 2:04 N
Thu 7/28/1983 vs Phillies L 5-6 50-49 L5 Reed (5-1) LaCoss (4-7) Holland (10) 19,948 2:43 N
Fri 7/29/1983 vs Reds W 4-1 51-49 W1 Madden (4-0) Price (10-6) Smith (4) 18,063 2:18 N
Sat 7/30/1983 vs Reds L 2-3 51-50 L1 Soto (12-9) Ryan (9-5) 26,442 2:40 N
Sun 7/31/1983 vs Reds W 9-2 52-50 W1 Niekro (9-8) Berenyi (5-11) 38,465 2:17 D
Mon 8/1/1983 at Padres L 4-7 (10) 52-51 L1 DeLeon (2-3) Dawley (5-4) 9,055 2:55 N
Tue 8/2/1983 at Padres W 4-2 (12) 53-51 W1 Ruhle (3-3) Monge (4-1) 10,444 3:26 N
Wed 8/3/1983 at Padres W 1-0 54-51 W2 Ryan (10-5) Lollar (4-10) 13,286 2:32 N
Thu 8/4/1983 at Padres L 2-4 54-52 L1 Dravecky (13-8) Niekro (9-9) Lucas (11) 10,516 2:15 D
Fri 8/5/1983 at Giants L 1-7 54-53 L2 Laskey (12-8) Knepper (4-11) 6,212 2:28 N
Sat 8/6/1983 at Giants W 4-2 55-53 W1 Madden (5-0) Martin (1-2) Dawley (9) 9,859 2:49 D
Sun 8/7/1983 at Giants W 2-1 56-53 W2 Ryan (11-5) Minton (5-8) 21,599 2:04 D
Tue 8/9/1983 vs Padres L 2-3 56-54 L1 Lollar (5-10) Niekro (9-10) Monge (6) 17,390 2:25 N
Wed 8/10/1983 vs Padres W 4-3 (14) 57-54 W1 Ruhle (4-3) DeLeon (2-4) 12,605 3:40 N
Thu 8/11/1983 vs Padres W 5-1 58-54 W2 M. Scott (6-4) Thurmond (5-2) Smith (5) 15,120 2:28 N
Fri 8/12/1983 vs Giants W 5-2 59-54 W3 Ryan (12-5) Martin (1-3) DiPino (11) 27,814 2:38 N
Sat 8/13/1983 vs Giants W 4-1 60-54 W4 Niekro (10-10) Krukow (7-7) Dawley (10) 15,547 2:21 D
Sun 8/14/1983 vs Giants L 2-5 60-55 L1 M. Davis (2-3) Madden (5-1) Lavelle (14) 16,923 2:29 N
Mon 8/15/1983 at Reds W 9-1 61-55 W1 Knepper (5-11) Berenyi (6-12) 11,385 2:39 N
Tue 8/16/1983 at Reds W 8-5 62-55 W2 M. Scott (7-4) Puleo (4-9) Dawley (11) 13,844 2:34 N
Wed 8/17/1983 at Reds W 7-6 63-55 W3 Ruhle (5-3) Pastore (6-11) 11,982 2:44 N
Thu 8/18/1983 at Cardinals L 4-5 (10) 63-56 L1 Rucker (4-1) Dawley (5-5) 27,053 3:00 N
Fri 8/19/1983 at Cardinals L 0-2 63-57 L2 LaPoint (11-7) Madden (5-2) Sutter (13) 28,200 2:20 N
Sat 8/20/1983 at Cardinals L 0-3 63-58 L3 Stuper (8-8) Knepper (5-12) 41,539 2:19 N
Sun 8/21/1983 at Cardinals L 2-5 63-59 L4 Cox (1-1) Ryan (12-6) Sutter (14) 31,962 2:33 D
Tue 8/23/1983 1 at Pirates W 6-5 64-59 W1 Ruhle (6-3) Tekulve (6-4) DiPino (12) 3:01 N
Tue 8/23/1983 2 at Pirates W 2-1 65-59 W2 Niekro (11-10) Tunnell (6-5) Dawley (12) 17,484 2:31 N
Wed 8/24/1983 at Pirates W 10-4 66-59 W3 Madden (6-2) Rhoden (9-11) LaCoss (1) 14,279 2:36 N
Thu 8/25/1983 at Pirates L 3-5 66-60 L1 DeLeon (5-2) Knepper (5-13) Scurry (7) 11,019 2:22 N
Fri 8/26/1983 vs Cubs W 1-0 67-60 W1 Ruhle (7-3) Trout (9-12) Dawley (13) 16,735 1:55 N
Sat 8/27/1983 vs Cubs L 5-9 67-61 L1 Ruthven (10-10) Niekro (11-11) Campbell (8) 31,665 2:51 N
Sun 8/28/1983 vs Cubs W 4-2 68-61 W1 M. Scott (8-4) Noles (5-8) DiPino (13) 12,776 2:23 N
Mon 8/29/1983 vs Cardinals L 1-6 68-62 L1 Stuper (9-8) Madden (6-3) 9,848 2:22 N
Tue 8/30/1983 vs Cardinals W 3-1 69-62 W1 Ruhle (8-3) Cox (1-3) Dawley (14) 11,041 2:05 N
Wed 8/31/1983 vs Pirates W 4-1 70-62 W2 Niekro (12-11) Scurry (4-8) 12,347 2:14 N
Thu 9/1/1983 vs Pirates W 3-0 71-62 W3 Ryan (13-6) Guante (2-2) DiPino (14) 7,645 2:28 D
Fri 9/2/1983 at Cubs W 6-5 72-62 W4 Dawley (6-5) Campbell (4-8) DiPino (15) 11,575 3:12 D
Sat 9/3/1983 at Cubs L 3-9 72-63 L1 Jenkins (5-9) Madden (6-4) Bordi (1) 20,107 2:31 D
Sun 9/4/1983 at Cubs L 7-9 72-64 L2 Brusstar (3-1) Dawley (6-6) Smith (24) 17,750 3:12 D
Mon 9/5/1983 at Braves L 5-7 72-65 L3 Barker (1-1) Niekro (12-12) Moore (6) 19,166 2:46 D
Wed 9/7/1983 at Padres L 7-8 72-66 L4 Monge (7-2) DiPino (3-4) 8,274 2:22 N
Thu 9/8/1983 at Padres W 3-2 (10) 73-66 W1 Madden (7-4) DeLeon (4-6) Ruhle (2) 7,858 3:22 D
Fri 9/9/1983 at Giants W 7-4 74-66 W2 Niekro (13-12) M. Davis (3-4) DiPino (16) 4,195 2:40 N
Sat 9/10/1983 at Giants W 5-3 75-66 W3 Heathcock (1-0) Breining (9-12) 6,030 2:26 D
Sun 9/11/1983 at Giants L 2-3 75-67 L1 Minton (7-10) Ryan (13-7) 9,265 2:41 D
Tue 9/13/1983 vs Dodgers L 1-5 75-68 L2 Reuss (11-10) M. Scott (8-5) 19,697 2:08 N
Wed 9/14/1983 vs Dodgers W 4-2 76-68 W1 Niekro (14-12) Welch (14-12) 19,713 2:16 N
Thu 9/15/1983 vs Dodgers L 0-6 76-69 L1 Pena (12-6) Ryan (13-8) 20,697 2:46 N
Fri 9/16/1983 at Reds L 3-8 76-70 L2 Berenyi (8-14) Heathcock (1-1) 9,146 2:21 N
Sat 9/17/1983 at Reds W 4-3 77-70 W1 Madden (8-4) Russell (3-3) DiPino (17) 53,790 2:36 N
Sun 9/18/1983 at Reds W 4-1 78-70 W2 M. Scott (9-5) Soto (16-13) DiPino (18) 14,109 2:45 D
Mon 9/19/1983 at Dodgers L 2-9 78-71 L1 Welch (15-12) Niekro (14-13) 44,748 2:49 N
Tue 9/20/1983 at Dodgers W 15-2 79-71 W1 Ryan (14-8) Pena (12-7) Heathcock (1) 40,843 3:10 N
Wed 9/21/1983 at Dodgers L 1-2 79-72 L1 Valenzuela (14-10) Ruhle (8-4) 45,242 2:29 N
Fri 9/23/1983 vs Giants L 2-3 79-73 L2 Breining (11-12) Niekro (14-14) Minton (20) 10,570 2:25 N
Sat 9/24/1983 vs Giants W 6-5 80-73 W1 M. Scott (10-5) Krukow (11-10) DiPino (19) 12,619 2:41 N
Sun 9/25/1983 vs Giants L 0-3 80-74 L1 Garrelts (2-1) Ryan (14-9) 6,130 2:25 N
Mon 9/26/1983 vs Padres W 5-3 81-74 W1 Madden (9-4) Show (14-12) Ruhle (3) 5,828 2:35 N
Tue 9/27/1983 vs Padres W 8-5 82-74 W2 Knepper (6-13) Lollar (7-12) 6,239 2:44 N
Wed 9/28/1983 1 vs Braves L 1-3 82-75 L1 Perez (15-8) M. Scott (10-6) 2:23 N
Wed 9/28/1983 2 vs Braves W 5-1 83-75 W1 Niekro (15-14) Dayley (4-8) 15,356 2:23 N
Thu 9/29/1983 vs Braves L 4-5 83-76 L1 Garber (4-5) Ruhle (8-5) Forster (13) 12,899 2:25 N
Fri 9/30/1983 vs Reds W 3-2 84-76 W1 LaCoss (5-7) Puleo (6-12) Smith (6) 9,744 2:13 N
Sat 10/1/1983 vs Reds L 4-6 84-77 L1 Pastore (9-12) Madden (9-5) 7,657 2:50 D
Sun 10/2/1983 vs Reds W 3-2 85-77 W1 Heathcock (2-1) Russell (4-5) DiPino (20) 12,357 1:57 N

Totals:


Data courtesy of Retrosheet