1978 Houston Astros
Personnel | Standings | Splits | Regular Season


Summary:

74-88, Fifth place, NL West


Manager: Bill Virdon

Coaches:

NameFirst GameLast Game
Deacon Jones4/6/197810/1/1978
Bob Lillis4/6/197810/1/1978
Tony Pacheco4/6/197810/1/1978
Mel Wright4/6/197810/1/1978

Players:

Jesus Alou Joaquin Andujar Reggie Baldwin Floyd Bannister Dave Bergman
Bruce Bochy Enos Cabell Joe Cannon Cesar Cedeno Jose Cruz
Tom Dixon Keith Drumright Joe Ferguson Mike Fischlin Ken Forsch
Julio Gonzalez Ed Herrmann Wilbur Howard Art Howe Rafael Landestoy
Mark Lemongello Jeffrey Leonard Bo McLaughlin Roger Metzger Joe Niekro
Jim Obradovich Gene Pentz Terry Puhl Luis Pujols Frank Riccelli
J.R. Richard Vern Ruhle Joe Sambito Jimmy Sexton Denny Walling
Dan Warthen Bob Watson Rick Williams Oscar Zamora


Standings: 1978 NL Western Division

Team G W L Pct RS RA GB
Los Angeles Dodgers 162 95 67 .586 727 573 -
Cincinnati Reds 161 92 69 .571 710 688 2.5
San Francisco Giants 162 89 73 .549 613 594 6.0
San Diego Padres 162 84 78 .519 591 598 11.0
Houston Astros 162 74 88 .457 605 634 21.0
Atlanta Braves 162 69 93 .426 600 750 26.0

Finish: Fifth place out of six, 21 games behind


Team splits:

Total Home Road
Team G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
Atlanta Braves 18 10 8 .556 66 38 9 5 4 .556 37 15 9 5 4 .556 29 23
Chicago Cubs 12 6 6 .500 55 53 6 5 1 .833 27 16 6 1 5 .167 28 37
Cincinnati Reds 18 7 11 .389 77 79 9 6 3 .667 38 28 9 1 8 .111 39 51
Los Angeles Dodgers 18 7 11 .389 63 82 9 4 5 .444 36 40 9 3 6 .333 27 42
Montreal Expos 12 6 6 .500 34 53 6 4 2 .667 21 16 6 2 4 .333 13 37
New York Mets 12 7 5 .583 58 51 6 4 2 .667 29 26 6 3 3 .500 29 25
Philadelphia Phillies 12 6 6 .500 42 46 6 5 1 .833 29 12 6 1 5 .167 13 34
Pittsburgh Pirates 12 4 8 .333 46 55 6 4 2 .667 31 27 6 0 6 .000 15 28
San Diego Padres 18 8 10 .444 65 69 9 5 4 .556 38 36 9 3 6 .333 27 33
San Francisco Giants 18 6 12 .333 40 62 9 5 4 .556 23 22 9 1 8 .111 17 40
St. Louis Cardinals 12 7 5 .583 59 46 6 3 3 .500 18 16 6 4 2 .667 41 30
Total 162 74 88 .457 605 634 81 50 31 .617 327 254 81 24 57 .296 278 380

Division splits:

Total Home Road
Division G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
NL East 72 36 36 .500 294 304 36 25 11 .694 155 113 36 11 25 .306 139 191
NL West 90 38 52 .422 311 330 45 25 20 .556 172 141 45 13 32 .289 139 189
Total 162 74 88 .457 605 634 81 50 31 .617 327 254 81 24 57 .296 278 380

Splits by month:

Total Home Road
Month G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
April 22 10 12 .455 81 96 12 7 5 .583 44 44 10 3 7 .300 37 52
May 23 10 13 .435 83 85 13 7 6 .538 56 42 10 3 7 .300 27 43
June 27 13 14 .481 110 107 15 9 6 .600 56 46 12 4 8 .333 54 61
July 32 15 17 .469 119 143 16 11 5 .688 74 58 16 4 12 .250 45 85
August 28 14 14 .500 108 97 13 9 4 .692 54 35 15 5 10 .333 54 62
September 29 11 18 .379 101 106 11 6 5 .545 40 29 18 5 13 .278 61 77
October 1 1 0 1.000 3 0 1 1 0 1.000 3 0 - - - - - -
Total 162 74 88 .457 605 634 81 50 31 .617 327 254 81 24 57 .296 278 380

Day/night splits:

Total Home Road
Day / night G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
Day 43 11 32 .256 144 214 12 6 6 .500 40 38 31 5 26 .161 104 176
Night 119 63 56 .529 461 420 69 44 25 .638 287 216 50 19 31 .380 174 204
Total 162 74 88 .457 605 634 81 50 31 .617 327 254 81 24 57 .296 278 380

Splits by day of week:

Total Home Road
Day of week G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
Sunday 28 7 21 .250 75 129 13 7 6 .538 40 40 15 0 15 .000 35 89
Monday 15 8 7 .533 66 60 11 7 4 .636 44 41 4 1 3 .250 22 19
Tuesday 23 16 7 .696 85 60 13 11 2 .846 49 24 10 5 5 .500 36 36
Wednesday 23 11 12 .478 70 71 11 6 5 .545 36 30 12 5 7 .417 34 41
Thursday 16 5 11 .313 53 73 5 3 2 .600 22 14 11 2 9 .182 31 59
Friday 28 12 16 .429 115 133 13 6 7 .462 49 49 15 6 9 .400 66 84
Saturday 29 15 14 .517 141 108 15 10 5 .667 87 56 14 5 9 .357 54 52
Total 162 74 88 .457 605 634 81 50 31 .617 327 254 81 24 57 .296 278 380

Score by inning:

Home 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Total
Opponent 31 22 27 32 26 30 28 26 30 1 0 0 1 254
Houston 48 31 39 44 39 33 28 35 24 3 1 0 2 327

Road 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 Total
Houston 27 35 26 46 22 32 28 29 28 1 2 0 1 1 278
Opponent 60 39 42 43 36 60 41 40 11 3 5 0 0 0 380

Total 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 Total
Opponent 91 61 69 75 62 90 69 66 41 4 5 0 1 0 634
Houston 75 66 65 90 61 65 56 64 52 4 3 0 3 1 605


Regular Season

Date Opponent Score Rec Strk WP LP SV A T D/N
Thu 4/6/1978 at Reds L 9-11 0-1 L1 Borbon (1-0) Richard (0-1) Tomlin (1) 52,378 2:53 D
Fri 4/7/1978 at Reds L 4-5 0-2 L2 Bonham (1-0) Niekro (0-1) Borbon (1) 22,883 2:25 N
Sat 4/8/1978 at Reds L 1-2 0-3 L3 Norman (1-0) Andujar (0-1) Bair (1) 17,958 2:24 D
Sun 4/9/1978 at Reds L 3-9 0-4 L4 Hume (1-0) Lemongello (0-1) 42,667 2:10 D
Mon 4/10/1978 vs Dodgers L 2-5 0-5 L5 Rau (1-0) Bannister (0-1) Forster (2) 22,882 2:24 N
Tue 4/11/1978 vs Dodgers W 1-0 1-5 W1 Richard (1-1) Hooton (0-1) 11,049 1:52 N
Wed 4/12/1978 vs Dodgers W 11-10 2-5 W2 Sambito (1-0) Castillo (0-1) 11,824 2:44 N
Fri 4/14/1978 vs Reds L 4-8 2-6 L1 Hume (2-0) Andujar (0-2) Murray (1) 25,583 2:37 N
Sat 4/15/1978 vs Reds W 6-1 3-6 W1 Lemongello (1-1) Capilla (0-1) 34,858 2:09 N
Sun 4/16/1978 vs Reds W 4-3 (13) 4-6 W2 Dixon (1-0) Sarmiento (1-1) 27,700 4:06 D
Tue 4/18/1978 at Padres W 5-1 5-6 W3 Niekro (1-1) Shirley (0-3) 10,840 2:34 N
Wed 4/19/1978 at Padres W 2-1 6-6 W4 Andujar (1-2) Freisleben (0-1) Sambito (1) 12,129 2:48 N
Thu 4/20/1978 at Dodgers L 1-5 6-7 L1 Rau (2-0) Lemongello (1-2) 24,049 2:13 N
Fri 4/21/1978 at Dodgers W 8-6 7-7 W1 Forsch (1-0) Castillo (0-2) 44,867 2:59 N
Sat 4/22/1978 at Dodgers L 1-5 7-8 L1 Hooton (1-2) Bannister (0-2) 52,346 2:16 N
Sun 4/23/1978 at Dodgers L 3-7 7-9 L2 Sutton (2-1) Niekro (1-2) 51,500 2:26 D
Mon 4/24/1978 vs Padres W 4-3 (10) 8-9 W1 Sambito (2-0) Fingers (1-3) 7,300 2:48 N
Tue 4/25/1978 vs Padres W 4-3 9-9 W2 Lemongello (2-2) Jones (1-1) 7,459 2:01 N
Wed 4/26/1978 vs Padres L 1-2 9-10 L1 Perry (2-0) Richard (1-2) Fingers (4) 8,769 2:37 N
Fri 4/28/1978 vs Expos L 3-6 9-11 L2 Grimsley (4-0) Niekro (1-3) 11,474 2:03 N
Sat 4/29/1978 vs Expos W 3-1 10-11 W1 Andujar (2-2) Rogers (2-3) 46,215 2:13 N
Sun 4/30/1978 vs Expos L 1-2 10-12 L1 May (2-1) Lemongello (2-3) Bahnsen (4) 11,515 2:01 D
Wed 5/3/1978 at Expos L 3-10 10-13 L2 Grimsley (5-0) Richard (1-3) 5,229 2:46 N
Fri 5/5/1978 at Braves L 2-5 10-14 L3 Boggs (1-3) Niekro (1-4) Solomon (2) 5,699 2:29 N
Sat 5/6/1978 at Braves L 1-2 (10) 10-15 L4 Campbell (1-1) Forsch (1-1) 7,901 2:45 N
Tue 5/9/1978 at Phillies W 5-1 11-15 W1 Richard (2-3) Christenson (2-3) 18,144 2:15 N
Wed 5/10/1978 at Phillies L 1-3 11-16 L1 Lonborg (4-2) Lemongello (2-4) 20,096 2:09 N
Fri 5/12/1978 at Mets W 5-4 (14) 12-16 W1 Dixon (2-0) Lockwood (1-3) 8,649 4:21 N
Sat 5/13/1978 at Mets W 7-4 13-16 W2 Niekro (2-4) Bruhert (1-3) Sambito (2) 19,838 2:45 D
Mon 5/15/1978 vs Phillies W 5-0 14-16 W3 Richard (3-3) Lonborg (4-3) 9,943 2:14 N
Tue 5/16/1978 vs Phillies W 6-1 15-16 W4 Lemongello (3-4) Carlton (4-4) 11,381 2:31 N
Wed 5/17/1978 vs Phillies W 2-1 16-16 W5 Andujar (3-2) Lerch (3-3) Dixon (1) 11,856 2:14 N
Thu 5/18/1978 vs Phillies L 5-8 16-17 L1 Garber (2-0) Sambito (2-1) 10,828 2:36 N
Fri 5/19/1978 vs Braves W 6-0 17-17 W1 Bannister (1-2) Ruthven (2-4) 15,609 2:28 N
Sat 5/20/1978 vs Braves W 13-0 18-17 W2 Richard (4-3) Boggs (1-5) 24,402 2:33 N
Sun 5/21/1978 vs Braves L 4-6 18-18 L1 Niekro (4-6) Lemongello (3-5) Devine (2) 11,715 2:17 D
Tue 5/23/1978 at Giants L 2-3 18-19 L2 Moffitt (3-1) Sambito (2-2) 11,120 2:12 N
Wed 5/24/1978 at Giants L 0-2 18-20 L3 Montefusco (4-2) Forsch (1-2) Lavelle (7) 6,158 2:09 D
Thu 5/25/1978 at Giants L 1-9 18-21 L4 Halicki (1-0) Richard (4-4) 6,209 2:23 D
Fri 5/26/1978 vs Mets W 5-4 19-21 W1 Lemongello (4-5) Koosman (2-5) Forsch (1) 11,158 2:20 N
Sat 5/27/1978 vs Mets L 7-9 19-22 L1 Metzger (1-1) Sambito (2-3) Murray (3) 26,742 2:47 N
Sun 5/28/1978 vs Mets L 1-4 19-23 L2 Espinosa (5-2) Dixon (2-1) 12,133 2:03 D
Mon 5/29/1978 vs Giants L 1-8 19-24 L3 Halicki (2-0) Bannister (1-3) 10,012 2:16 N
Tue 5/30/1978 vs Giants L 0-1 19-25 L4 Knepper (7-2) Richard (4-5) 8,019 2:12 N
Wed 5/31/1978 vs Giants W 1-0 20-25 W1 Lemongello (5-5) Blue (6-3) 11,400 1:54 N
Fri 6/2/1978 vs Cardinals W 2-1 21-25 W2 Sambito (3-3) Denny (4-4) 10,315 2:00 N
Sat 6/3/1978 1 vs Cardinals W 5-2 22-25 W3 Bannister (2-3) Falcone (0-4) Forsch (2) 2:51 N
Sat 6/3/1978 2 vs Cardinals L 1-2 22-26 L1 Vuckovich (2-4) Dixon (2-2) 27,822 1:47 N
Sun 6/4/1978 vs Cardinals L 2-4 22-27 L2 Martinez (2-0) Richard (4-6) Schultz (2) 10,238 2:14 D
Mon 6/5/1978 at Cubs L 1-2 22-28 L3 Hernandez (5-1) Lemongello (5-6) 10,201 2:27 D
Tue 6/6/1978 at Cubs L 4-9 22-29 L4 Roberts (3-0) Andujar (3-3) 14,107 2:20 D
Fri 6/9/1978 at Cardinals W 11-7 23-29 W1 Richard (5-6) Frazier (0-1) Forsch (3) 40,764 3:10 N
Sat 6/10/1978 at Cardinals W 12-5 24-29 W2 Lemongello (6-6) Forsch (7-5) 18,485 2:31 N
Sun 6/11/1978 at Cardinals L 3-5 24-30 L1 Denny (6-4) Andujar (3-4) 17,298 2:01 D
Mon 6/12/1978 vs Pirates W 6-5 25-30 W1 Williams (1-0) Whitson (0-1) Sambito (3) 9,886 3:14 N
Tue 6/13/1978 vs Pirates W 2-1 26-30 W2 Forsch (2-2) Bibby (5-3) Sambito (4) 10,487 2:25 N
Wed 6/14/1978 vs Pirates L 4-6 26-31 L1 Whitson (1-1) Richard (5-7) Tekulve (7) 12,440 2:59 N
Fri 6/16/1978 vs Cubs L 6-7 (13) 26-32 L2 P. Reuschel (2-0) Williams (1-1) 18,948 3:56 N
Sat 6/17/1978 vs Cubs W 5-4 27-32 W1 Niekro (3-4) Hernandez (5-2) 28,091 2:20 N
Sun 6/18/1978 vs Cubs W 3-1 28-32 W2 Dixon (3-2) Lamp (2-7) Sambito (5) 14,770 2:16 N
Tue 6/20/1978 at Dodgers W 5-3 29-32 W3 Richard (6-7) John (8-5) McLaughlin (1) 41,991 2:32 N
Wed 6/21/1978 at Dodgers L 4-5 (11) 29-33 L1 Welch (1-0) Sambito (3-4) 34,975 3:23 N
Thu 6/22/1978 at Dodgers W 4-3 30-33 W1 Niekro (4-4) Rau (7-3) 31,246 2:23 D
Fri 6/23/1978 at Padres L 0-3 30-34 L1 Perry (8-2) Dixon (3-3) 12,055 2:08 N
Sat 6/24/1978 at Padres L 5-6 (10) 30-35 L2 Fingers (3-7) Forsch (2-3) 15,759 3:11 N
Sun 6/25/1978 1 at Padres L 1-6 30-36 L3 Shirley (4-9) Richard (6-8) 1:55 D
Sun 6/25/1978 2 at Padres L 4-7 30-37 L4 Rasmussen (4-7) McLaughlin (0-1) D'Acquisto (4) 20,342 2:57 D
Mon 6/26/1978 vs Reds L 3-4 30-38 L5 Seaver (9-5) Lemongello (6-7) Tomlin (3) 20,388 2:24 N
Tue 6/27/1978 vs Reds W 7-4 31-38 W1 Niekro (5-4) Bonham (8-2) Sambito (6) 16,848 2:24 N
Wed 6/28/1978 vs Reds W 3-0 32-38 W2 Dixon (4-3) Norman (8-5) 16,622 2:10 N
Thu 6/29/1978 vs Reds W 5-0 33-38 W3 Bannister (3-3) Hume (2-8) 17,564 2:20 N
Fri 6/30/1978 vs Padres L 2-5 33-39 L1 Shirley (5-9) Richard (6-9) Fingers (17) 9,194 2:34 N
Sat 7/1/1978 1 vs Padres W 9-2 34-39 W1 Lemongello (7-7) Owchinko (5-7) 2:17 N
Sat 7/1/1978 2 vs Padres L 3-9 34-40 L1 Wiley (1-0) Niekro (5-5) D'Acquisto (6) 22,076 2:33 N
Sun 7/2/1978 vs Padres L 2-6 34-41 L2 Perry (9-3) Dixon (4-4) Fingers (18) 14,737 2:48 D
Mon 7/3/1978 at Reds L 7-8 (11) 34-42 L3 Bair (3-3) Sambito (3-5) 31,840 3:23 N
Tue 7/4/1978 at Reds W 3-1 35-42 W1 Richard (7-9) Hume (2-9) 31,705 2:17 N
Wed 7/5/1978 at Reds L 1-2 35-43 L1 Moskau (1-2) Niekro (5-6) Bair (13) 30,320 2:26 N
Fri 7/7/1978 vs Dodgers L 4-7 35-44 L2 Rau (9-4) Lemongello (7-8) Hough (4) 20,707 2:11 N
Sat 7/8/1978 1 vs Dodgers L 1-7 35-45 L3 Hooton (8-7) Bannister (3-4) 2:29 N
Sat 7/8/1978 2 vs Dodgers L 5-7 35-46 L4 John (10-6) Dixon (4-5) 37,073 2:32 N
Sun 7/9/1978 vs Dodgers W 5-1 36-46 W1 Richard (8-9) Sutton (9-7) 30,285 2:30 D
Thu 7/13/1978 at Expos L 0-6 36-47 L1 Grimsley (12-6) Niekro (5-7) 15,337 2:18 N
Fri 7/14/1978 1 at Expos W 4-3 (13) 37-47 W1 Forsch (3-3) Bahnsen (0-3) 3:59 N
Fri 7/14/1978 2 at Expos W 5-4 (10) 38-47 W2 Forsch (4-3) Pirtle (0-1) McLaughlin (2) 21,696 2:50 N
Sat 7/15/1978 at Expos L 0-8 38-48 L1 Fryman (4-7) Dixon (4-6) 15,360 2:08 N
Sun 7/16/1978 at Expos L 1-6 38-49 L2 Schatzeder (3-1) Bannister (3-5) 21,440 2:35 D
Mon 7/17/1978 vs Phillies W 2-1 (11) 39-49 W1 Niekro (6-7) Eastwick (2-1) 14,397 2:35 N
Tue 7/18/1978 vs Phillies W 9-1 40-49 W2 Richard (9-9) Lonborg (7-7) 15,478 2:28 N
Wed 7/19/1978 1 at Mets W 8-3 41-49 W3 Dixon (5-6) Zachry (10-6) Sambito (7) 2:46 N
Wed 7/19/1978 2 at Mets L 1-2 41-50 L1 Swan (2-5) Lemongello (7-9) 13,539 2:09 N
Thu 7/20/1978 1 at Mets L 4-7 41-51 L2 Bruhert (2-5) Bannister (3-6) Lockwood (12) 2:32 D
Thu 7/20/1978 2 at Mets L 4-5 (11) 41-52 L3 Murray (5-4) Sambito (3-6) 13,341 3:00 D
Fri 7/21/1978 1 at Phillies L 1-6 41-53 L4 Ruthven (7-8) Niekro (6-8) 2:35 N
Fri 7/21/1978 2 at Phillies L 2-8 41-54 L5 Christenson (7-8) Williams (1-2) 35,389 2:07 N
Sat 7/22/1978 at Phillies L 2-3 (10) 41-55 L6 Reed (1-0) Forsch (4-4) 33,672 2:56 N
Sun 7/23/1978 at Phillies L 2-13 41-56 L7 Carlton (9-9) Dixon (5-7) 30,554 2:27 D
Mon 7/24/1978 vs Expos W 6-5 42-56 W1 Forsch (5-4) Knowles (2-3) 7,843 2:39 N
Tue 7/25/1978 vs Expos W 3-2 (13) 43-56 W2 Forsch (6-4) Twitchell (3-10) 8,383 3:25 N
Wed 7/26/1978 vs Expos W 5-0 44-56 W3 Niekro (7-8) Grimsley (12-8) 8,465 2:05 N
Thu 7/27/1978 vs Mets W 8-3 45-56 W4 Richard (10-9) Hausman (2-1) 9,730 2:21 N
Fri 7/28/1978 vs Mets W 4-3 (10) 46-56 W5 Sambito (4-6) Lockwood (7-9) 26,779 2:44 N
Sun 7/30/1978 vs Mets W 4-3 47-56 W6 Andujar (4-4) Bernard (0-1) 17,502 2:33 N
Mon 7/31/1978 vs Giants W 4-1 48-56 W7 Niekro (8-8) Halicki (5-5) 12,900 2:08 N
Tue 8/1/1978 vs Giants W 4-2 49-56 W8 Richard (11-9) Knepper (11-8) Sambito (8) 16,515 2:39 N
Wed 8/2/1978 vs Giants L 2-4 49-57 L1 Montefusco (8-4) Dixon (5-8) 14,754 2:17 N
Fri 8/4/1978 at Braves L 2-7 49-58 L2 Niekro (13-11) Lemongello (7-10) 11,282 2:30 N
Sat 8/5/1978 1 at Braves W 5-3 50-58 W1 Niekro (9-8) Hanna (7-10) Forsch (4) 2:48 N
Sat 8/5/1978 2 at Braves W 7-0 51-58 W2 Ruhle (1-0) Boggs (2-7) 20,950 1:59 N
Sun 8/6/1978 at Braves L 2-3 51-59 L1 McWilliams (4-0) Richard (11-10) Garber (17) 8,551 2:24 D
Tue 8/8/1978 at Giants L 2-3 51-60 L2 Montefusco (9-4) Dixon (5-9) Moffitt (10) 31,904 2:25 N
Wed 8/9/1978 at Giants W 6-5 52-60 W1 Lemongello (8-10) Barr (6-9) Forsch (5) 13,757 2:30 D
Fri 8/11/1978 vs Braves L 0-1 52-61 L1 McWilliams (5-0) Niekro (9-9) Garber (19) 16,035 2:27 N
Sat 8/12/1978 vs Braves W 5-2 53-61 W1 Richard (12-10) Niekro (14-12) 25,023 2:00 N
Sun 8/13/1978 vs Braves W 3-0 54-61 W2 Ruhle (2-0) Hanna (7-11) 15,878 2:09 D
Mon 8/14/1978 at Cardinals W 6-0 55-61 W3 Dixon (6-9) Forsch (9-14) 12,555 2:11 N
Tue 8/15/1978 at Cardinals L 5-11 55-62 L1 Lopez (3-1) Bannister (3-7) 12,606 2:39 N
Wed 8/16/1978 at Cardinals W 4-2 56-62 W1 Niekro (10-9) Martinez (6-6) 10,829 2:24 D
Thu 8/17/1978 1 at Pirates L 1-5 56-63 L1 D. Robinson (9-5) Richard (12-11) 2:12 N
Thu 8/17/1978 2 at Pirates L 2-3 56-64 L2 Kison (4-4) Lemongello (8-11) Tekulve (20) 8,470 2:36 N
Fri 8/18/1978 at Pirates L 3-6 56-65 L3 Bibby (7-7) Ruhle (2-1) Tekulve (21) 8,632 2:39 N
Sat 8/19/1978 at Pirates L 2-4 56-66 L4 Blyleven (10-8) Bannister (3-8) Tekulve (22) 22,015 2:29 N
Sun 8/20/1978 1 at Pirates L 6-7 56-67 L5 Rooker (8-8) Dixon (6-10) Tekulve (23) 2:45 D
Sun 8/20/1978 2 at Pirates L 1-3 56-68 L6 Reuss (1-2) Niekro (10-10) 21,851 2:27 D
Mon 8/21/1978 vs Cubs W 8-3 57-68 W1 Richard (13-11) R. Reuschel (12-11) 9,906 2:27 N
Tue 8/22/1978 vs Cubs W 2-1 58-68 W2 Lemongello (9-11) Krukow (5-2) 9,721 2:06 N
Wed 8/23/1978 vs Cubs W 3-0 59-68 W3 Forsch (7-4) Lamp (5-13) Sambito (9) 9,217 2:06 N
Fri 8/25/1978 vs Pirates W 7-5 60-68 W4 Niekro (11-10) Rooker (8-9) Andujar (1) 11,641 2:51 N
Sat 8/26/1978 vs Pirates W 7-2 61-68 W5 Richard (14-11) Kison (4-5) 9,985 2:18 D
Sun 8/27/1978 vs Pirates L 5-8 61-69 L1 Jackson (6-3) Lemongello (9-12) Tekulve (26) 10,947 2:59 D
Tue 8/29/1978 vs Cardinals W 6-3 62-69 W1 Forsch (8-4) Vuckovich (12-10) 6,692 2:14 N
Wed 8/30/1978 vs Cardinals L 2-4 62-70 L1 Forsch (10-15) Niekro (11-11) 6,480 2:06 N
Fri 9/1/1978 at Cubs L 11-14 62-71 L2 Hernandez (8-2) Sambito (4-7) Sutter (24) 16,117 3:33 D
Sat 9/2/1978 at Cubs W 8-5 63-71 W1 Andujar (5-4) Sutter (7-5) Sambito (10) 24,064 3:02 D
Sun 9/3/1978 1 at Cubs L 2-3 63-72 L1 Lamp (6-13) Forsch (8-5) Hernandez (2) 2:20 D
Sun 9/3/1978 2 at Cubs L 2-4 63-73 L2 Moore (9-6) Ruhle (2-2) Hernandez (3) 29,528 3:17 D
Mon 9/4/1978 vs Reds L 3-6 63-74 L3 Bonham (10-4) Niekro (11-12) Bair (24) 11,090 2:47 N
Tue 9/5/1978 vs Reds W 3-2 64-74 W1 Richard (15-11) Seaver (12-14) 8,811 2:11 N
Thu 9/7/1978 vs Dodgers L 2-3 64-75 L1 Hooton (17-8) Lemongello (9-13) Forster (18) 7,846 2:13 N
Fri 9/8/1978 vs Dodgers W 5-0 65-75 W1 Forsch (9-5) Welch (5-3) 12,905 1:45 N
Sat 9/9/1978 vs Padres W 10-4 66-75 W2 Niekro (12-12) Mura (0-1) 8,240 2:49 N
Sun 9/10/1978 vs Padres W 3-2 67-75 W3 Richard (16-11) Rasmussen (14-12) 5,720 2:23 D
Mon 9/11/1978 at Reds L 8-9 67-76 L1 Tomlin (8-1) Andujar (5-5) 20,400 2:47 N
Tue 9/12/1978 at Reds L 3-4 67-77 L2 Bair (7-5) Sambito (4-8) 20,801 2:20 D
Wed 9/13/1978 at Dodgers L 0-6 67-78 L3 Welch (6-3) Forsch (9-6) 27,063 1:53 N
Thu 9/14/1978 at Dodgers L 1-2 67-79 L4 Rhoden (9-7) Niekro (12-13) Forster (20) 37,423 2:27 N
Fri 9/15/1978 at Padres W 8-4 68-79 W1 Richard (17-11) Rasmussen (14-13) 6,866 2:27 N
Sat 9/16/1978 at Padres L 1-2 68-80 L1 Perry (19-6) Sambito (4-9) 10,171 2:23 N
Sun 9/17/1978 at Padres L 1-3 68-81 L2 Jones (12-14) Lemongello (9-14) Fingers (34) 10,004 1:58 D
Tue 9/19/1978 vs Braves L 2-3 68-82 L3 Garber (5-5) Andujar (5-6) 5,710 2:24 N
Wed 9/20/1978 vs Braves L 2-3 68-83 L4 Garber (6-5) Niekro (12-14) 3,950 2:11 N
Thu 9/21/1978 vs Braves W 2-0 69-83 W1 Forsch (10-6) Niekro (19-16) 3,775 1:47 N
Fri 9/22/1978 at Giants L 0-2 69-84 L1 Knepper (16-11) Ruhle (2-3) 4,510 2:04 N
Sat 9/23/1978 at Giants L 2-3 69-85 L2 Lavelle (13-10) Andujar (5-7) Moffitt (12) 6,433 2:26 D
Sun 9/24/1978 1 at Giants L 0-7 69-86 L3 Blue (18-9) Bannister (3-9) 1:51 D
Sun 9/24/1978 2 at Giants L 4-6 69-87 L4 Barr (8-11) Dixon (6-11) 25,276 3:19 D
Tue 9/26/1978 at Braves W 2-0 70-87 W1 Niekro (13-14) Niekro (19-17) Forsch (6) 3,089 2:15 N
Wed 9/27/1978 at Braves W 4-0 71-87 W2 Ruhle (3-3) LaCorte (0-1) 2,710 2:08 N
Thu 9/28/1978 at Braves W 4-3 72-87 W3 Richard (18-11) McWilliams (9-3) Forsch (7) 2,560 2:14 N
Fri 9/29/1978 vs Giants L 1-2 72-88 L1 Halicki (9-10) Warthen (0-1) 8,339 1:58 N
Sat 9/30/1978 vs Giants W 7-4 73-88 W1 Dixon (7-11) Blue (18-10) Sambito (11) 10,182 2:18 N
Sun 10/1/1978 vs Giants W 3-0 74-88 W2 Niekro (14-14) Nastu (0-1) Lemongello (1) 7,077 1:41 D

Totals:


Data courtesy of Retrosheet