1971 Houston Astros
Personnel | Standings | Splits | Regular Season


Summary:

79-83, Fifth place, NL West


Manager: Harry Walker

Coaches:

NameFirst GameLast Game
Buddy Hancken4/5/19719/30/1971
Hub Kittle4/5/19719/30/1971
Jim Owens4/5/19719/30/1971
Salty Parker4/5/19719/30/1971

Players:

Jesus Alou Jack Billingham Wade Blasingame Ray Busse Cesar Cedeno
Rich Chiles Ron Cook George Culver Larry Dierker Johnny Edwards
Ken Forsch Cesar Geronimo Fred Gladding Bill Greif Tom Griffin
Skip Guinn Buddy Harris Jack Hiatt Larry Howard Denny Lemaster
Marty Martinez John Mayberry Denis Menke Roger Metzger Norm Miller
Joe Morgan Doug Rader Jim Ray J.R. Richard JayD Schlueter
Scipio Spinks Derrel Thomas Bob Watson Don Wilson Jim Wynn
Larry Yount


Standings: 1971 NL Western Division

Team G W L Pct RS RA GB
San Francisco Giants 162 90 72 .556 706 644 -
Los Angeles Dodgers 162 89 73 .549 663 587 1.0
Atlanta Braves 162 82 80 .506 643 699 8.0
Cincinnati Reds 162 79 83 .488 586 581 11.0
Houston Astros 162 79 83 .488 585 567 11.0
San Diego Padres 161 61 100 .379 486 610 28.5

Finish: Fifth place out of six, 11 games behind


Team splits:

Total Home Road
Team G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
Atlanta Braves 18 9 9 .500 69 81 9 4 5 .444 30 39 9 5 4 .556 39 42
Chicago Cubs 12 7 5 .583 38 35 6 4 2 .667 18 20 6 3 3 .500 20 15
Cincinnati Reds 18 13 5 .722 52 35 9 7 2 .778 31 19 9 6 3 .667 21 16
Los Angeles Dodgers 18 8 10 .444 67 64 9 4 5 .444 23 29 9 4 5 .444 44 35
Montreal Expos 12 4 8 .333 47 45 6 1 5 .167 19 19 6 3 3 .500 28 26
New York Mets 12 5 7 .417 47 56 6 3 3 .500 26 25 6 2 4 .333 21 31
Philadelphia Phillies 12 8 4 .667 49 34 6 4 2 .667 19 15 6 4 2 .667 30 19
Pittsburgh Pirates 12 4 8 .333 43 54 6 2 4 .333 18 25 6 2 4 .333 25 29
San Diego Padres 18 10 8 .556 56 44 9 4 5 .444 23 25 9 6 3 .667 33 19
San Francisco Giants 18 9 9 .500 67 60 9 5 4 .556 26 24 9 4 5 .444 41 36
St. Louis Cardinals 12 2 10 .167 50 59 6 1 5 .167 23 23 6 1 5 .167 27 36
Total 162 79 83 .488 585 567 81 39 42 .481 256 263 81 40 41 .494 329 304

Division splits:

Total Home Road
Division G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
NL East 72 30 42 .417 274 283 36 15 21 .417 123 127 36 15 21 .417 151 156
NL West 90 49 41 .544 311 284 45 24 21 .533 133 136 45 25 20 .556 178 148
Total 162 79 83 .488 585 567 81 39 42 .481 256 263 81 40 41 .494 329 304

Splits by month:

Total Home Road
Month G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
April 23 11 12 .478 78 70 14 7 7 .500 37 36 9 4 5 .444 41 34
May 26 14 12 .538 87 70 12 6 6 .500 45 38 14 8 6 .571 42 32
June 27 12 15 .444 94 107 15 8 7 .533 48 55 12 4 8 .333 46 52
July 30 16 14 .533 148 132 13 9 4 .692 59 44 17 7 10 .412 89 88
August 29 11 18 .379 84 107 15 4 11 .267 30 49 14 7 7 .500 54 58
September 27 15 12 .556 94 81 12 5 7 .417 37 41 15 10 5 .667 57 40
Total 162 79 83 .488 585 567 81 39 42 .481 256 263 81 40 41 .494 329 304

Day/night splits:

Total Home Road
Day / night G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
Day 40 19 21 .475 175 149 14 6 8 .429 60 57 26 13 13 .500 115 92
Night 122 60 62 .492 410 418 67 33 34 .493 196 206 55 27 28 .491 214 212
Total 162 79 83 .488 585 567 81 39 42 .481 256 263 81 40 41 .494 329 304

Splits by day of week:

Total Home Road
Day of week G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
Sunday 26 14 12 .538 122 108 13 6 7 .462 59 55 13 8 5 .615 63 53
Monday 18 12 6 .667 66 55 12 9 3 .750 41 31 6 3 3 .500 25 24
Tuesday 25 13 12 .520 72 81 12 4 8 .333 20 35 13 9 4 .692 52 46
Wednesday 24 9 15 .375 84 76 11 3 8 .273 23 39 13 6 7 .462 61 37
Thursday 16 5 11 .313 59 60 9 3 6 .333 35 32 7 2 5 .286 24 28
Friday 29 12 17 .414 111 119 12 6 6 .500 43 44 17 6 11 .353 68 75
Saturday 24 14 10 .583 71 68 12 8 4 .667 35 27 12 6 6 .500 36 41
Total 162 79 83 .488 585 567 81 39 42 .481 256 263 81 40 41 .494 329 304

Score by inning:

Home 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Total
Opponent 32 32 31 32 27 30 25 18 31 3 1 1 0 263
Houston 40 20 29 30 34 25 21 29 23 1 2 1 1 256

Road 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 Total
Houston 38 29 45 39 40 34 35 32 30 3 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 0 0 0 1 329
Opponent 43 35 31 35 28 41 39 30 15 4 1 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 304

Total 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 Total
Opponent 75 67 62 67 55 71 64 48 46 7 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 567
Houston 78 49 74 69 74 59 56 61 53 4 2 1 1 0 3 0 0 0 0 0 1 585


Regular Season

Date Opponent Score Rec Strk WP LP SV A T D/N
Mon 4/5/1971 vs Dodgers W 5-2 1-0 W1 Dierker (1-0) Singer (0-1) 22,421 2:23 N
Tue 4/6/1971 vs Dodgers L 0-2 1-1 L1 Osteen (1-0) Wilson (0-1) 11,883 1:58 N
Wed 4/7/1971 vs Dodgers W 2-1 2-1 W1 Blasingame (1-0) Sutton (0-1) Culver (1) 11,009 2:11 N
Thu 4/8/1971 vs Cubs W 7-3 3-1 W2 Billingham (1-0) Holtzman (0-1) 11,375 2:14 N
Fri 4/9/1971 vs Cubs L 0-6 3-2 L1 Pappas (1-0) Griffin (0-1) 17,359 1:58 N
Sat 4/10/1971 vs Cubs W 2-1 4-2 W1 Culver (1-0) Jenkins (1-1) 22,341 2:32 N
Sun 4/11/1971 vs Cubs W 7-4 5-2 W2 Wilson (1-1) Hands (0-2) 12,978 2:13 D
Mon 4/12/1971 at Cardinals L 4-5 5-3 L1 Carlton (2-0) Blasingame (1-1) Linzy (1) 11,270 2:38 N
Tue 4/13/1971 at Cardinals W 8-4 6-3 W1 Culver (2-0) Torrez (0-1) Lemaster (1) 5,105 2:21 D
Wed 4/14/1971 at Giants L 1-2 (11) 6-4 L1 McMahon (1-1) Culver (2-1) 3,588 3:20 D
Thu 4/15/1971 at Giants L 3-4 (10) 6-5 L2 J. Johnson (1-0) Ray (0-1) 3,557 2:39 D
Fri 4/16/1971 at Dodgers L 5-6 (10) 6-6 L3 Mikkelsen (1-0) Culver (2-2) 18,492 2:47 N
Sat 4/17/1971 at Dodgers W 5-3 7-6 W1 Blasingame (2-1) Singer (0-4) Lemaster (2) 16,172 2:44 N
Sun 4/18/1971 at Dodgers W 8-6 8-6 W2 Billingham (2-0) Osteen (2-2) Culver (2) 19,097 2:43 N
Tue 4/20/1971 at Cubs L 1-3 8-7 L1 Jenkins (2-2) Griffin (0-2) 6,199 1:54 D
Thu 4/22/1971 at Cubs W 6-1 9-7 W1 Dierker (2-0) Hands (1-3) 4,100 2:16 D
Fri 4/23/1971 vs Expos L 2-3 9-8 L1 Morton (2-2) Wilson (1-2) Marshall (3) 25,430 2:20 N
Sat 4/24/1971 vs Expos L 2-3 9-9 L2 Renko (3-0) Blasingame (2-2) Marshall (4) 17,252 2:30 N
Sun 4/25/1971 vs Expos L 1-2 9-10 L3 Stoneman (2-1) Billingham (2-1) 12,122 2:10 D
Mon 4/26/1971 vs Phillies L 1-2 9-11 L4 Wise (1-0) Griffin (0-3) 7,227 2:19 N
Tue 4/27/1971 vs Phillies W 1-0 10-11 W1 Dierker (3-0) Bunning (1-3) 8,152 1:52 N
Wed 4/28/1971 vs Phillies W 4-3 (10) 11-11 W2 Ray (1-1) Brandon (1-1) 8,576 2:52 N
Fri 4/30/1971 vs Mets L 3-4 (12) 11-12 L1 McGraw (2-1) Culver (2-3) 13,860 3:36 N
Sat 5/1/1971 vs Mets W 3-1 12-12 W1 Dierker (4-0) Seaver (4-1) 23,571 1:58 N
Sun 5/2/1971 vs Mets L 5-6 (10) 12-13 L1 Taylor (1-0) Culver (2-4) 15,616 2:40 D
Wed 5/5/1971 at Expos L 1-5 12-14 L2 Stoneman (3-1) Blasingame (2-3) 8,282 2:39 N
Thu 5/6/1971 at Expos W 5-2 13-14 W1 Dierker (5-0) Renko (3-1) Gladding (1) 7,403 2:41 N
Fri 5/7/1971 at Phillies W 8-1 14-14 W2 Wilson (2-2) Bunning (1-5) 15,728 2:24 N
Sun 5/9/1971 at Phillies L 1-2 14-15 L1 Lersch (3-1) Billingham (2-2) 36,145 2:11 D
Mon 5/10/1971 at Mets L 1-2 14-16 L2 Gentry (3-3) Blasingame (2-4) McGraw (2) 16,056 2:04 N
Tue 5/11/1971 at Mets L 1-8 14-17 L3 Ryan (4-0) Dierker (5-1) 20,612 2:35 N
Wed 5/12/1971 at Mets W 5-4 15-17 W1 Wilson (3-2) Seaver (5-2) Gladding (2) 20,547 2:04 D
Fri 5/14/1971 vs Cardinals L 2-4 15-18 L1 Gibson (4-3) Billingham (2-3) 16,437 2:09 N
Sat 5/15/1971 vs Cardinals L 5-6 15-19 L2 Carlton (6-2) Griffin (0-4) Taylor (1) 19,285 2:10 N
Sun 5/16/1971 vs Cardinals W 12-4 16-19 W1 Dierker (6-1) Reuss (4-4) Ray (1) 14,983 2:39 D
Mon 5/17/1971 vs Padres W 2-0 17-19 W2 Wilson (4-2) Roberts (3-3) 7,457 1:49 N
Tue 5/18/1971 vs Padres W 3-2 18-19 W3 Gladding (1-0) Miller (0-1) 8,015 2:36 N
Wed 5/19/1971 vs Padres L 1-2 (10) 18-20 L1 Miller (1-1) Gladding (1-1) 8,816 2:42 N
Thu 5/20/1971 vs Padres L 2-4 18-21 L2 Kirby (2-4) Blasingame (2-5) Severinsen (6) 7,162 2:44 N
Fri 5/21/1971 vs Giants W 4-1 19-21 W1 Dierker (7-1) Perry (4-2) Gladding (3) 18,555 2:27 N
Sat 5/22/1971 vs Giants W 2-1 (12) 20-21 W2 Culver (3-4) McMahon (3-3) 25,893 3:04 N
Sun 5/23/1971 vs Giants L 4-7 20-22 L1 Bryant (5-1) Griffin (0-5) J. Johnson (4) 23,692 2:43 D
Tue 5/25/1971 at Padres W 3-2 21-22 W1 Billingham (3-3) Kirby (2-5) Gladding (4) 2,863 2:13 N
Wed 5/26/1971 1 at Padres W 2-1 22-22 W2 Blasingame (3-5) Roberts (3-5) Culver (3) 2:11 N
Wed 5/26/1971 2 at Padres W 8-0 23-22 W3 Dierker (8-1) Santorini (0-2) 4,221 2:02 N
Fri 5/28/1971 at Reds L 0-1 (13) 23-23 L1 Carroll (2-1) Culver (3-5) 11,471 3:02 N
Sat 5/29/1971 at Reds W 2-1 24-23 W1 Forsch (1-0) Nolan (3-5) 15,285 2:00 N
Sun 5/30/1971 at Reds L 1-2 24-24 L1 Grimsley (2-1) Billingham (3-4) 23,111 2:11 D
Mon 5/31/1971 at Reds W 4-1 25-24 W1 Dierker (9-1) Cloninger (2-3) 12,186 2:19 D
Tue 6/1/1971 at Braves W 7-6 26-24 W2 Blasingame (4-5) Kelley (1-1) Gladding (5) 6,754 2:53 N
Wed 6/2/1971 at Braves L 1-3 26-25 L1 Reed (6-3) Wilson (4-3) Upshaw (6) 4,586 1:48 N
Thu 6/3/1971 at Braves L 2-5 26-26 L2 Jarvis (1-7) Forsch (1-1) Priddy (3) 5,425 2:22 N
Fri 6/4/1971 at Pirates L 2-3 26-27 L3 Moose (5-2) Billingham (3-5) Giusti (11) 14,025 2:12 N
Sat 6/5/1971 at Pirates W 4-1 27-27 W1 Dierker (10-1) Blass (5-3) Gladding (6) 23,793 2:50 N
Sun 6/6/1971 at Pirates L 8-9 27-28 L1 Ellis (8-3) Blasingame (4-6) Veale (2) 23,051 2:54 D
Tue 6/8/1971 vs Reds W 2-0 28-28 W1 Wilson (5-3) Nolan (3-7) 17,402 2:00 N
Wed 6/9/1971 vs Reds L 1-2 28-29 L1 Carroll (3-2) Billingham (3-6) 16,354 2:19 N
Thu 6/10/1971 vs Braves L 1-2 28-30 L2 Kelley (2-1) Dierker (10-2) Upshaw (7) 14,591 2:00 N
Fri 6/11/1971 vs Braves W 5-4 29-30 W1 Gladding (2-1) Priddy (2-3) 14,885 2:22 N
Sat 6/12/1971 vs Braves W 3-2 30-30 W2 Forsch (2-1) Reed (6-4) 23,876 2:07 N
Sun 6/13/1971 vs Braves L 0-9 30-31 L1 Jarvis (2-7) Wilson (5-4) 19,646 2:08 D
Mon 6/14/1971 vs Pirates W 5-4 31-31 W1 Gladding (3-1) Nelson (1-1) 11,655 2:39 N
Tue 6/15/1971 vs Pirates L 0-3 31-32 L1 Blass (7-3) Dierker (10-3) 16,307 2:27 N
Wed 6/16/1971 vs Pirates L 4-6 31-33 L2 Ellis (10-3) Blasingame (4-7) 16,098 2:27 N
Fri 6/18/1971 at Dodgers L 4-5 31-34 L3 Osteen (8-4) Wilson (5-5) Brewer (8) 20,756 2:32 N
Sat 6/19/1971 at Dodgers L 0-4 31-35 L4 Sutton (6-6) Billingham (3-7) 24,677 2:04 N
Sun 6/20/1971 at Dodgers W 9-7 32-35 W1 Ray (2-1) Downing (7-4) Gladding (7) 24,277 2:48 D
Tue 6/22/1971 at Padres W 4-2 33-35 W2 Forsch (3-1) Arlin (2-11) Gladding (8) 4,300 2:42 N
Wed 6/23/1971 1 at Padres L 2-3 (12) 33-36 L1 Miller (4-2) Gladding (3-2) 3:06 N
Wed 6/23/1971 2 at Padres L 3-4 33-37 L2 Miller (5-2) Culver (3-6) 5,936 2:23 N
Fri 6/25/1971 vs Giants W 5-4 34-37 W1 Ray (3-1) Perry (6-6) 24,713 2:38 N
Sat 6/26/1971 vs Giants L 1-3 34-38 L1 Bryant (7-3) Dierker (10-4) Hamilton (1) 32,025 2:49 N
Sun 6/27/1971 vs Giants W 5-2 35-38 W1 Forsch (4-1) Stone (5-6) 24,908 2:46 D
Mon 6/28/1971 1 vs Braves W 6-5 36-38 W2 Wilson (6-5) Barber (0-1) 2:09 N
Mon 6/28/1971 2 vs Braves W 6-4 37-38 W3 Ray (4-1) Nash (5-5) Culver (4) 18,908 3:06 N
Tue 6/29/1971 vs Braves L 4-5 37-39 L1 Niekro (7-7) Billingham (3-8) Upshaw (9) 14,855 2:26 N
Fri 7/2/1971 vs Reds W 3-2 38-39 W1 Dierker (11-4) Nolan (6-8) Gladding (9) 17,996 2:11 N
Sat 7/3/1971 vs Reds W 4-3 (13) 39-39 W2 Ray (5-1) Gibbon (1-4) 26,217 3:24 N
Sun 7/4/1971 vs Reds W 6-1 40-39 W3 Forsch (5-1) Grimsley (4-4) 25,768 2:21 D
Mon 7/5/1971 vs Reds W 4-3 41-39 W4 Blasingame (5-7) Simpson (1-2) Gladding (10) 19,854 2:18 D
Tue 7/6/1971 at Giants W 5-2 42-39 W5 Billingham (4-8) Bryant (7-4) Culver (5) 5,765 2:37 N
Wed 7/7/1971 at Giants W 18-4 43-39 W6 Dierker (12-4) Stone (5-8) Ray (2) 5,791 3:01 D
Thu 7/8/1971 at Giants L 2-4 43-40 L1 Cumberland (5-0) Wilson (6-6) 6,849 2:01 D
Fri 7/9/1971 1 at Cardinals L 2-5 43-41 L2 Carlton (12-5) Forsch (5-2) 2:02 N
Fri 7/9/1971 2 at Cardinals L 5-9 43-42 L3 Reuss (8-8) Blasingame (5-8) Drabowsky (5) 24,748 2:39 N
Sat 7/10/1971 at Cardinals L 5-6 43-43 L4 Linzy (2-1) Gladding (3-3) 32,895 2:34 N
Sun 7/11/1971 at Cardinals L 3-7 43-44 L5 Gibson (6-8) Ray (5-2) 15,252 2:12 D
Thu 7/15/1971 vs Mets L 4-9 43-45 L6 McGraw (6-3) Forsch (5-3) 20,412 2:33 N
Fri 7/16/1971 vs Mets W 9-4 44-45 W1 Billingham (5-8) Ryan (8-7) Gladding (11) 20,621 2:47 N
Sat 7/17/1971 vs Mets W 2-1 45-45 W2 Ray (6-2) Seaver (10-7) 32,852 2:01 N
Sun 7/18/1971 1 vs Phillies L 0-1 45-46 L1 Reynolds (2-2) Wilson (6-7) 1:52 D
Sun 7/18/1971 2 vs Phillies W 10-7 46-46 W1 Culver (4-6) Bunning (5-12) 32,181 2:10 D
Mon 7/19/1971 vs Phillies W 3-2 (11) 47-46 W2 Harris (1-0) Wilson (1-3) 13,693 3:12 N
Tue 7/20/1971 vs Expos L 3-4 (10) 47-47 L1 Marshall (2-5) Harris (1-1) 12,397 2:53 N
Wed 7/21/1971 vs Expos L 3-5 47-48 L2 Renko (9-10) Gladding (3-4) 13,780 2:10 N
Thu 7/22/1971 vs Expos W 8-2 48-48 W1 Blasingame (6-8) McAnally (2-8) Culver (6) 15,058 2:27 N
Fri 7/23/1971 at Mets W 5-1 49-48 W2 Wilson (7-7) Ryan (8-8) 37,227 2:13 N
Sat 7/24/1971 at Mets L 3-9 49-49 L1 McGraw (7-3) Greif (0-1) 24,368 2:42 D
Sun 7/25/1971 at Mets L 6-7 49-50 L2 Gentry (8-8) Forsch (5-4) Taylor (1) 28,776 3:06 D
Mon 7/26/1971 at Phillies W 7-4 (15) 50-50 W1 Ray (7-2) Brandon (4-4) 10,848 4:12 N
Tue 7/27/1971 1 at Phillies L 3-8 50-51 L1 Fryman (7-4) Dierker (12-5) 2:11 N
Tue 7/27/1971 2 at Phillies W 5-1 51-51 W1 Blasingame (7-8) Reynolds (3-3) 20,779 2:10 N
Wed 7/28/1971 at Phillies W 6-3 52-51 W2 Wilson (8-7) Wise (9-9) 15,802 2:35 N
Fri 7/30/1971 1 at Expos L 4-7 52-52 L1 Strohmayer (4-3) Forsch (5-5) Marshall (12) 2:17 N
Fri 7/30/1971 2 at Expos W 6-5 (10) 53-52 W1 Ray (8-2) Marshall (2-6) 23,654 2:59 N
Sat 7/31/1971 at Expos L 4-6 53-53 L1 Renko (10-11) Billingham (5-9) Marshall (13) 14,306 2:04 N
Sun 8/1/1971 at Expos W 8-1 54-53 W1 Blasingame (8-8) McAnally (3-9) 17,605 2:20 D
Mon 8/2/1971 vs Cubs W 2-1 55-53 W2 Wilson (9-7) Jenkins (17-9) 20,020 2:22 N
Tue 8/3/1971 vs Cubs L 0-5 55-54 L1 Hands (10-12) Dierker (12-6) 14,622 2:22 N
Wed 8/4/1971 vs Dodgers W 2-0 56-54 W1 Forsch (6-5) Downing (13-7) 23,338 2:13 N
Thu 8/5/1971 vs Dodgers L 0-3 56-55 L1 Singer (6-13) Billingham (5-10) 17,893 2:21 N
Fri 8/6/1971 vs Padres L 3-4 56-56 L2 Roberts (9-12) Ray (8-3) Miller (6) 21,915 2:13 N
Sat 8/7/1971 vs Padres W 5-3 57-56 W1 Wilson (10-7) Arlin (6-14) Culver (7) 23,334 2:27 N
Sun 8/8/1971 vs Padres L 2-3 57-57 L1 Norman (2-8) Lemaster (0-1) Miller (7) 19,757 2:15 D
Tue 8/10/1971 at Reds W 3-2 58-57 W1 Forsch (7-5) Simpson (3-5) 15,083 2:04 N
Wed 8/11/1971 at Reds L 1-5 58-58 L1 Nolan (10-12) Billingham (5-11) 15,053 1:55 N
Thu 8/12/1971 at Braves L 5-10 58-59 L2 Reed (12-8) Blasingame (8-9) 10,430 2:19 N
Fri 8/13/1971 at Braves W 8-2 59-59 W1 Wilson (11-7) Niekro (12-9) 11,568 2:06 N
Sat 8/14/1971 at Braves L 0-7 59-60 L1 Jarvis (5-11) Cook (0-1) 25,188 2:05 N
Sun 8/15/1971 at Braves W 5-4 60-60 W1 Culver (5-6) Upshaw (9-6) 12,895 2:45 D
Mon 8/16/1971 at Pirates L 3-8 60-61 L1 Ellis (17-6) Billingham (5-12) Giusti (24) 12,664 2:22 N
Tue 8/17/1971 at Pirates W 6-5 61-61 W1 Blasingame (9-9) Miller (7-5) Ray (3) 16,694 2:40 N
Wed 8/18/1971 at Pirates L 2-3 61-62 L1 Miller (8-5) Lemaster (0-2) 29,670 2:50 N
Fri 8/20/1971 1 at Cubs L 2-3 61-63 L2 Jenkins (20-9) Cook (0-2) 1:59 D
Fri 8/20/1971 2 at Cubs L 4-5 61-64 L3 Regan (4-3) Culver (5-7) 30,711 2:59 D
Sat 8/21/1971 at Cubs W 3-0 62-64 W1 Billingham (6-12) Hands (10-15) 26,386 2:05 D
Sun 8/22/1971 at Cubs W 4-3 63-64 W2 Ray (9-3) Pappas (15-11) 28,933 2:23 D
Mon 8/23/1971 vs Cardinals L 2-3 63-65 L1 Gibson (12-11) Wilson (11-8) 19,167 1:52 N
Tue 8/24/1971 vs Cardinals L 1-2 63-66 L2 Cleveland (11-10) Forsch (7-6) Santorini (1) 13,860 2:01 N
Wed 8/25/1971 vs Cardinals L 1-4 63-67 L3 Carlton (17-7) Cook (0-3) 11,025 2:09 N
Fri 8/27/1971 vs Pirates L 3-7 63-68 L4 Ellis (18-7) Billingham (6-13) Giusti (26) 14,933 2:41 N
Sat 8/28/1971 vs Pirates W 4-0 64-68 W1 Wilson (12-8) Blass (12-7) 25,619 2:20 N
Sun 8/29/1971 vs Pirates L 2-5 64-69 L1 Johnson (9-9) Blasingame (9-10) Giusti (27) 15,723 2:40 D
Mon 8/30/1971 vs Dodgers L 2-3 64-70 L2 Downing (16-8) Forsch (7-7) Brewer (17) 6,410 2:08 N
Tue 8/31/1971 vs Dodgers L 1-6 64-71 L3 Alexander (6-4) Cook (0-4) 7,340 2:18 N
Wed 9/1/1971 vs Dodgers L 2-9 64-72 L4 Sutton (13-11) Billingham (6-14) 6,474 2:27 N
Thu 9/2/1971 vs Dodgers W 9-3 65-72 W1 Wilson (13-8) Osteen (12-10) 7,508 2:07 N
Fri 9/3/1971 at Giants L 6-16 65-73 L1 Barr (1-1) Ray (9-4) J. Johnson (16) 9,120 3:24 N
Sat 9/4/1971 at Giants L 0-1 65-74 L2 Carrithers (4-2) Forsch (7-8) 10,698 1:57 D
Sun 9/5/1971 1 at Giants W 1-0 66-74 W1 Billingham (7-14) Perry (14-11) 2:44 D
Sun 9/5/1971 2 at Giants W 5-3 67-74 W2 Richard (1-0) Willoughby (0-1) 25,527 2:39 D
Mon 9/6/1971 at Braves W 6-4 68-74 W3 Spinks (1-0) Stone (6-6) 7,978 2:35 N
Tue 9/7/1971 at Braves W 5-1 69-74 W4 Wilson (14-8) Reed (12-12) 5,753 2:22 N
Fri 9/10/1971 at Reds W 1-0 70-74 W5 Billingham (8-14) McGlothlin (7-12) 12,002 2:16 N
Sat 9/11/1971 at Reds W 5-2 71-74 W6 Richard (2-0) Grimsley (9-6) Gladding (12) 17,092 2:37 N
Sun 9/12/1971 at Reds W 4-2 72-74 W7 Wilson (15-8) Simpson (4-6) 12,529 2:11 D
Mon 9/13/1971 vs Padres W 3-2 73-74 W8 Ray (10-4) Kirby (13-13) 7,476 2:17 N
Tue 9/14/1971 vs Padres L 2-5 73-75 L1 Acosta (2-2) Blasingame (9-11) 5,986 2:19 N
Wed 9/15/1971 vs Braves L 2-4 73-76 L2 Niekro (14-12) Billingham (8-15) 6,513 2:10 N
Thu 9/16/1971 vs Braves L 3-4 73-77 L3 Jarvis (6-13) Richard (2-1) 7,906 2:40 N
Fri 9/17/1971 vs Reds W 4-1 74-77 W1 Wilson (16-8) Simpson (4-7) 8,070 2:05 N
Sat 9/18/1971 vs Reds L 2-3 (11) 74-78 L1 Carroll (9-3) Culver (5-8) Wilcox (1) 6,963 2:45 D
Sun 9/19/1971 vs Reds W 5-4 (11) 75-78 W1 Gladding (4-4) Carroll (9-4) 9,260 2:31 N
Tue 9/21/1971 vs Giants W 3-1 76-78 W2 Billingham (9-15) Cumberland (9-6) 7,777 1:52 N
Wed 9/22/1971 vs Giants L 1-3 76-79 L1 Marichal (16-11) Griffin (0-6) 11,208 2:44 N
Thu 9/23/1971 vs Giants L 1-2 76-80 L2 Perry (15-12) Wilson (16-9) 12,281 2:06 N
Fri 9/24/1971 1 at Padres W 2-1 (21) 77-80 W1 Greif (1-1) Ross (1-3) Guinn (1) 5:25 N
Fri 9/24/1971 2 at Padres L 4-5 77-81 L1 Roberts (14-16) Gladding (4-5) 6,339 2:15 N
Sat 9/25/1971 at Padres W 5-1 78-81 W1 Billingham (10-15) Arlin (9-19) 2,718 2:00 N
Tue 9/28/1971 at Dodgers L 1-2 78-82 L1 Singer (10-17) Wilson (16-10) 29,628 1:37 N
Wed 9/29/1971 at Dodgers W 11-0 79-82 W1 Forsch (8-8) Downing (20-9) 34,802 2:28 N
Thu 9/30/1971 at Dodgers L 1-2 79-83 L1 Sutton (17-12) Billingham (10-16) 52,684 2:13 N

Totals:


Data courtesy of Retrosheet