1970 Houston Astros
Personnel | Standings | Splits | Regular Season


Summary:

79-83, Fourth place, NL West


Manager: Harry Walker

Coaches:

NameFirst GameLast Game
Buddy Hancken4/7/197010/1/1970
Mel McGaha4/7/197010/1/1970
Jim Owens4/7/197010/1/1970
Salty Parker4/7/197010/1/1970

Players:

Jesus Alou Jim Beauchamp Jack Billingham Wade Blasingame Jim Bouton
Don Bryant Cesar Cedeno Ron Cook George Culver Tommy Davis
Larry Dierker Jack DiLauro Johnny Edwards Ken Forsch Gary Geiger
Cesar Geronimo Fred Gladding Tom Griffin Buddy Harris Larry Howard
Keith Lampard Denny Lemaster Mike Marshall Marty Martinez John Mayberry
Leon McFadden Denis Menke Norm Miller Joe Morgan Dan Osinski
Joe Pepitone Doug Rader Jim Ray Scipio Spinks Hector Torres
Bob Watson Don Wilson Jim Wynn


Standings: 1970 NL Western Division

Team G W L Pct RS RA GB
Cincinnati Reds 162 102 60 .630 775 681 -
Los Angeles Dodgers 161 87 74 .540 749 684 14.5
San Francisco Giants 162 86 76 .531 831 826 16.0
Houston Astros 162 79 83 .488 744 763 23.0
Atlanta Braves 162 76 86 .469 736 772 26.0
San Diego Padres 162 63 99 .389 681 788 39.0

Finish: Fourth place out of six, 23 games behind


Team splits:

Total Home Road
Team G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
Atlanta Braves 18 9 9 .500 88 91 9 5 4 .556 41 42 9 4 5 .444 47 49
Chicago Cubs 12 5 7 .417 47 62 6 4 2 .667 21 20 6 1 5 .167 26 42
Cincinnati Reds 18 3 15 .167 55 81 9 2 7 .222 32 45 9 1 8 .111 23 36
Los Angeles Dodgers 18 8 10 .444 99 84 9 3 6 .333 43 42 9 5 4 .556 56 42
Montreal Expos 12 8 4 .667 59 44 6 4 2 .667 31 22 6 4 2 .667 28 22
New York Mets 12 6 6 .500 51 54 6 4 2 .667 26 21 6 2 4 .333 25 33
Philadelphia Phillies 12 4 8 .333 43 55 6 3 3 .500 27 33 6 1 5 .167 16 22
Pittsburgh Pirates 12 6 6 .500 56 64 6 4 2 .667 32 27 6 2 4 .333 24 37
San Diego Padres 18 14 4 .778 89 66 9 7 2 .778 27 18 9 7 2 .778 62 48
San Francisco Giants 18 10 8 .556 94 100 9 7 2 .778 49 44 9 3 6 .333 45 56
St. Louis Cardinals 12 6 6 .500 63 62 6 1 5 .167 21 37 6 5 1 .833 42 25
Total 162 79 83 .488 744 763 81 44 37 .543 350 351 81 35 46 .432 394 412

Division splits:

Total Home Road
Division G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
NL East 72 35 37 .486 319 341 36 20 16 .556 158 160 36 15 21 .417 161 181
NL West 90 44 46 .489 425 422 45 24 21 .533 192 191 45 20 25 .444 233 231
Total 162 79 83 .488 744 763 81 44 37 .543 350 351 81 35 46 .432 394 412

Splits by month:

Total Home Road
Month G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
April 21 7 14 .333 89 109 10 6 4 .600 47 42 11 1 10 .091 42 67
May 29 14 15 .483 142 149 13 6 7 .462 60 69 16 8 8 .500 82 80
June 26 12 14 .462 108 99 15 8 7 .533 56 52 11 4 7 .364 52 47
July 27 13 14 .481 121 142 14 7 7 .500 62 74 13 6 7 .462 59 68
August 29 16 13 .552 138 138 14 7 7 .500 63 72 15 9 6 .600 75 66
September 29 16 13 .552 141 122 14 9 5 .643 57 38 15 7 8 .467 84 84
October 1 1 0 1.000 5 4 1 1 0 1.000 5 4 - - - - - -
Total 162 79 83 .488 744 763 81 44 37 .543 350 351 81 35 46 .432 394 412

Day/night splits:

Total Home Road
Day / night G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
Day 47 18 29 .383 227 254 16 9 7 .563 87 78 31 9 22 .290 140 176
Night 115 61 54 .530 517 509 65 35 30 .538 263 273 50 26 24 .520 254 236
Total 162 79 83 .488 744 763 81 44 37 .543 350 351 81 35 46 .432 394 412

Splits by day of week:

Total Home Road
Day of week G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA G W L Pct RS RA
Sunday 28 11 17 .393 134 144 13 7 6 .538 73 63 15 4 11 .267 61 81
Monday 15 9 6 .600 71 48 10 6 4 .600 41 29 5 3 2 .600 30 19
Tuesday 25 12 13 .480 107 105 13 6 7 .462 41 48 12 6 6 .500 66 57
Wednesday 24 12 12 .500 101 112 10 7 3 .700 41 29 14 5 9 .357 60 83
Thursday 17 10 7 .588 78 82 9 5 4 .556 42 40 8 5 3 .625 36 42
Friday 28 13 15 .464 129 131 13 7 6 .538 48 57 15 6 9 .400 81 74
Saturday 25 12 13 .480 124 141 13 6 7 .462 64 85 12 6 6 .500 60 56
Total 162 79 83 .488 744 763 81 44 37 .543 350 351 81 35 46 .432 394 412

Score by inning:

Home 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 Total
Opponent 42 30 31 39 30 42 49 35 43 9 0 0 1 0 351
Houston 64 24 43 41 23 39 32 50 24 6 1 1 1 1 350

Road 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 Total
Houston 38 30 33 59 39 43 52 39 46 7 0 4 3 1 394
Opponent 55 29 44 43 53 64 37 50 30 2 0 1 1 3 412

Total 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 Total
Opponent 97 59 75 82 83 106 86 85 73 11 0 1 2 3 763
Houston 102 54 76 100 62 82 84 89 70 13 1 5 4 2 744


Regular Season

Date Opponent Score Rec Strk WP LP SV A T D/N
Tue 4/7/1970 at Giants W 8-5 1-0 W1 Dierker (1-0) Perry (0-1) Gladding (1) 30,933 3:22 D
Wed 4/8/1970 at Giants L 4-5 1-1 L1 McMahon (1-0) DiLauro (0-1) Linzy (1) 4,399 2:22 N
Thu 4/9/1970 at Giants L 4-7 1-2 L2 Bryant (1-0) DiLauro (0-2) McMahon (1) 2,810 2:30 D
Fri 4/10/1970 vs Braves L 0-5 1-3 L3 Stone (1-0) Griffin (0-1) 20,305 2:35 N
Sat 4/11/1970 vs Braves W 8-7 2-3 W1 Bouton (1-0) Pappas (0-1) Gladding (2) 16,047 2:36 N
Sun 4/12/1970 vs Braves W 8-3 3-3 W2 Dierker (2-0) Niekro (0-2) 12,747 2:16 D
Mon 4/13/1970 vs Dodgers L 0-2 3-4 L1 Sutton (1-1) Lemaster (0-1) 10,222 2:20 N
Tue 4/14/1970 vs Dodgers L 2-3 3-5 L2 Foster (1-1) Ray (0-1) Brewer (1) 8,897 2:34 N
Wed 4/15/1970 vs Giants W 7-6 (10) 4-5 W1 Gladding (1-0) Bryant (1-2) 11,174 3:03 N
Thu 4/16/1970 vs Giants L 9-11 (10) 4-6 L1 Bryant (2-2) Osinski (0-1) 10,814 3:31 N
Fri 4/17/1970 vs Padres W 4-1 5-6 W1 Dierker (3-0) Roberts (1-1) 10,737 2:14 N
Sat 4/18/1970 vs Padres W 4-3 6-6 W2 Lemaster (1-1) Ross (1-1) 16,522 2:20 N
Sun 4/19/1970 vs Padres W 5-1 7-6 W3 Griffin (1-1) Santorini (1-2) 13,344 2:27 D
Mon 4/20/1970 at Pirates L 1-3 7-7 L1 Ellis (2-0) Bouton (1-1) Giusti (1) 4,051 1:57 N
Tue 4/21/1970 at Pirates L 8-9 7-8 L2 Veale (1-1) Dierker (3-1) Gibbon (1) 3,589 2:38 N
Wed 4/22/1970 at Pirates L 1-6 7-9 L3 Blass (2-1) Lemaster (1-2) 6,178 2:20 N
Fri 4/24/1970 at Cubs L 3-6 7-10 L4 Holtzman (3-1) Griffin (1-2) 10,840 2:29 D
Sat 4/25/1970 at Cubs L 5-11 7-11 L5 Hands (3-0) Bouton (1-2) Aguirre (1) 25,389 2:47 D
Sun 4/26/1970 at Cubs L 3-6 7-12 L6 Jenkins (2-2) Dierker (3-2) 31,529 2:17 D
Tue 4/28/1970 at Reds L 2-4 7-13 L7 Nolan (4-0) Lemaster (1-3) Granger (5) 7,884 2:16 N
Wed 4/29/1970 at Reds L 3-5 7-14 L8 Merritt (5-1) Griffin (1-3) Carroll (3) 6,766 2:07 D
Fri 5/1/1970 at Cardinals W 9-3 8-14 W1 Dierker (4-2) Carlton (1-3) 10,547 2:26 N
Sat 5/2/1970 at Cardinals W 5-3 (10) 9-14 W2 Gladding (2-0) Hilgendorf (0-1) 23,069 2:39 N
Sun 5/3/1970 1 at Cardinals L 4-7 9-15 L1 Briles (1-1) Griffin (1-4) Johnson (1) 2:52 D
Sun 5/3/1970 2 at Cardinals W 8-1 10-15 W1 Lemaster (2-3) Culver (3-1) 16,950 2:25 D
Mon 5/4/1970 vs Cubs W 7-2 11-15 W2 Bouton (2-2) Hands (4-1) 16,142 2:16 N
Tue 5/5/1970 vs Cubs W 3-1 12-15 W3 Dierker (5-2) Jenkins (2-4) 15,758 2:10 N
Thu 5/7/1970 vs Pirates L 5-9 12-16 L1 Walker (4-2) Bouton (2-3) Giusti (4) 11,678 3:06 N
Fri 5/8/1970 vs Pirates W 7-5 13-16 W1 Ray (1-1) Blass (2-4) 13,383 2:31 N
Sat 5/9/1970 vs Pirates L 3-6 13-17 L1 Moose (1-3) Griffin (1-5) 15,137 2:37 D
Sun 5/10/1970 vs Pirates W 9-2 14-17 W1 Dierker (6-2) Ellis (2-3) 16,768 2:34 D
Tue 5/12/1970 at Dodgers W 8-3 15-17 W2 Wilson (1-0) Foster (2-3) Gladding (3) 12,494 2:54 N
Wed 5/13/1970 at Dodgers W 6-5 16-17 W3 Lemaster (3-3) Osteen (3-4) Ray (1) 11,612 2:47 N
Thu 5/14/1970 at Padres W 3-1 17-17 W4 Dierker (7-2) Kirby (2-4) 2,522 2:37 N
Fri 5/15/1970 at Padres L 8-10 (10) 17-18 L1 Coombs (3-2) Ray (1-2) 9,692 3:00 N
Sat 5/16/1970 at Padres W 9-7 18-18 W1 Billingham (1-0) Dobson (3-4) Gladding (4) 8,432 3:08 N
Sun 5/17/1970 at Padres L 3-5 18-19 L1 Corkins (3-3) Lemaster (3-4) Herbel (6) 8,957 2:24 D
Mon 5/18/1970 vs Cardinals W 6-0 19-19 W1 Dierker (8-2) Gibson (2-3) 17,916 2:04 N
Tue 5/19/1970 vs Cardinals L 3-12 19-20 L1 Guzman (1-0) Spinks (0-1) 12,219 2:25 N
Wed 5/20/1970 vs Cardinals L 2-3 19-21 L2 Torrez (4-3) Griffin (1-6) Chuck Taylor (4) 13,977 2:35 N
Thu 5/21/1970 vs Reds L 0-3 19-22 L3 McGlothlin (5-3) Lemaster (3-5) 9,508 1:56 N
Fri 5/22/1970 vs Reds L 2-5 19-23 L4 Merritt (9-2) Dierker (8-3) 23,378 2:26 N
Sat 5/23/1970 vs Reds L 3-14 19-24 L5 Simpson (6-1) Wilson (1-1) Granger (9) 27,822 2:40 N
Sun 5/24/1970 vs Reds W 10-7 20-24 W1 Gladding (3-0) Carroll (1-1) DiLauro (1) 18,552 2:43 D
Tue 5/26/1970 at Braves L 3-5 20-25 L1 Nash (6-1) Dierker (8-4) Wilhelm (4) 18,239 2:33 N
Wed 5/27/1970 at Braves L 1-8 20-26 L2 Niekro (5-6) Lemaster (3-6) 11,025 2:05 N
Fri 5/29/1970 at Mets W 5-0 21-26 W1 Billingham (2-0) Seaver (7-4) 35,753 2:21 N
Sat 5/30/1970 at Mets L 3-4 21-27 L1 Ryan (4-3) Dierker (8-5) Taylor (6) 54,421 2:45 D
Sun 5/31/1970 1 at Mets L 4-14 21-28 L2 Sadecki (4-0) Lemaster (3-7) Taylor (7) 2:57 D
Sun 5/31/1970 2 at Mets L 3-4 (14) 21-29 L3 McGraw (1-2) Lemaster (3-8) 47,193 3:50 D
Tue 6/2/1970 vs Expos W 6-4 22-29 W1 Ray (2-2) Morton (4-3) Gladding (5) 12,756 2:55 N
Wed 6/3/1970 vs Expos W 5-0 23-29 W2 Billingham (3-0) Moore (0-1) 12,665 2:19 N
Thu 6/4/1970 vs Expos W 8-0 24-29 W3 Griffin (2-6) McGinn (3-5) 10,189 2:35 N
Fri 6/5/1970 vs Phillies W 8-7 (11) 25-29 W4 Ray (3-2) Selma (2-4) 12,292 3:32 N
Sat 6/6/1970 vs Phillies L 3-7 25-30 L1 Wise (4-3) Wilson (1-2) Hoerner (6) 18,644 2:55 N
Sun 6/7/1970 vs Phillies L 3-10 25-31 L2 Fryman (4-2) Dierker (8-6) 16,353 2:35 D
Mon 6/8/1970 vs Mets L 0-2 25-32 L3 McAndrew (2-4) Billingham (3-1) 13,957 2:18 N
Tue 6/9/1970 vs Mets L 1-2 25-33 L4 Seaver (8-5) Griffin (2-7) 19,935 2:13 N
Wed 6/10/1970 vs Mets W 5-3 26-33 W1 Lemaster (4-8) Ryan (4-5) Gladding (6) 17,973 2:36 N
Fri 6/12/1970 at Expos L 6-7 26-34 L1 Reed (2-3) Marshall (0-1) Raymond (9) 14,820 3:02 N
Sat 6/13/1970 at Expos W 5-2 27-34 W1 Billingham (4-1) Stoneman (3-8) 22,042 2:22 N
Sun 6/14/1970 at Expos L 1-2 27-35 L1 Renko (2-3) Lemaster (4-9) Raymond (10) 20,547 2:12 D
Tue 6/16/1970 at Phillies L 1-2 (13) 27-36 L2 Hoerner (4-2) Bouton (2-4) 3,708 3:38 N
Wed 6/17/1970 at Phillies L 2-4 27-37 L3 Fryman (5-3) Dierker (8-7) Lersch (1) 6,767 2:24 N
Fri 6/19/1970 1 at Braves L 6-7 27-38 L4 Reed (1-0) Ray (3-3) 2:50 N
Fri 6/19/1970 2 at Braves L 2-4 27-39 L5 Jarvis (7-5) Lemaster (4-10) 26,474 2:26 N
Sat 6/20/1970 at Braves W 9-6 28-39 W1 Bouton (3-4) Stone (6-2) Gladding (7) 17,528 2:59 N
Sun 6/21/1970 at Braves L 4-6 28-40 L1 Nash (9-2) Dierker (8-8) Priddy (6) 17,558 2:30 N
Mon 6/22/1970 vs Padres W 4-1 29-40 W1 Wilson (2-2) Roberts (5-4) 14,640 1:53 N
Tue 6/23/1970 vs Padres W 2-1 30-40 W2 Billingham (5-1) Coombs (6-6) 11,666 2:15 N
Wed 6/24/1970 vs Padres W 5-4 31-40 W3 Lemaster (5-10) Santorini (1-6) Gladding (8) 14,017 2:30 N
Fri 6/26/1970 vs Reds L 2-3 31-41 L1 Simpson (11-1) Bouton (3-5) Granger (16) 24,710 2:22 N
Sat 6/27/1970 vs Reds L 2-5 31-42 L2 Merritt (12-6) Griffin (2-8) Carroll (7) 28,913 2:18 N
Sun 6/28/1970 vs Reds L 2-3 31-43 L3 Carroll (5-1) Wilson (2-3) 27,040 2:04 D
Mon 6/29/1970 at Dodgers W 10-5 32-43 W1 Billingham (6-1) Singer (3-3) Cook (1) 15,397 2:55 N
Tue 6/30/1970 at Dodgers W 6-2 33-43 W2 Lemaster (6-10) Moeller (3-4) Gladding (9) 16,895 2:38 N
Wed 7/1/1970 at Dodgers L 3-6 33-44 L1 Osteen (11-7) Gladding (3-1) Brewer (11) 17,773 2:29 N
Fri 7/3/1970 1 at Reds L 0-3 33-45 L2 Nolan (9-4) Wilson (2-4) 2:11 N
Fri 7/3/1970 2 at Reds W 10-4 34-45 W1 Griffin (3-8) Cloninger (1-2) DiLauro (2) 33,114 3:10 N
Sat 7/4/1970 at Reds L 0-3 34-46 L1 McGlothlin (11-4) Billingham (6-2) Granger (17) 23,466 2:10 N
Sun 7/5/1970 at Reds L 1-3 34-47 L2 Simpson (13-1) Lemaster (6-11) 18,943 1:53 D
Mon 7/6/1970 vs Dodgers L 8-10 (10) 34-48 L3 Brewer (4-1) Bouton (3-6) Mikkelsen (2) 17,744 3:23 N
Tue 7/7/1970 vs Dodgers L 2-7 34-49 L4 Moeller (4-4) Griffin (3-9) Pena (3) 17,113 2:40 N
Wed 7/8/1970 vs Dodgers L 5-6 34-50 L5 Lamb (3-0) DiLauro (0-3) Brewer (12) 16,865 2:26 N
Thu 7/9/1970 vs Dodgers W 9-5 35-50 W1 Billingham (7-2) Foster (6-8) Ray (2) 12,798 3:14 N
Fri 7/10/1970 vs Giants L 5-8 35-51 L1 Reberger (2-3) Lemaster (6-12) Jerry Johnson (2) 17,770 2:52 N
Sat 7/11/1970 vs Giants W 5-4 (14) 36-51 W1 Bouton (4-6) Davison (0-3) 27,208 4:13 D
Sun 7/12/1970 vs Giants W 8-7 37-51 W2 Ray (4-3) McMahon (5-2) 25,003 3:04 D
Thu 7/16/1970 vs Cubs W 2-1 38-51 W3 Wilson (3-4) Holtzman (9-8) Ray (3) 18,466 2:04 N
Fri 7/17/1970 vs Cubs W 5-2 39-51 W4 Dierker (9-8) Jenkins (10-11) 18,207 2:23 N
Sat 7/18/1970 vs Cubs L 3-7 39-52 L1 Hands (11-7) Billingham (7-3) Colborn (4) 25,448 2:47 N
Sun 7/19/1970 vs Cubs L 1-7 39-53 L2 Pappas (5-3) Griffin (3-10) 21,293 2:18 D
Mon 7/20/1970 vs Pirates W 5-4 (12) 40-53 W1 Cook (1-0) Dal Canton (4-1) 17,934 3:13 N
Tue 7/21/1970 vs Pirates W 3-1 41-53 W2 Wilson (4-4) Nelson (4-1) Cook (2) 17,741 2:13 N
Wed 7/22/1970 at Cardinals W 13-9 42-53 W3 Culver (4-3) Briles (2-3) Gladding (10) 16,315 3:31 N
Thu 7/23/1970 at Cardinals W 3-2 43-53 W4 Billingham (8-3) Gibson (12-5) 17,532 2:00 N
Fri 7/24/1970 at Pirates L 0-11 43-54 L1 Ellis (10-7) Griffin (3-11) 43,290 2:20 N
Sat 7/25/1970 at Pirates W 8-4 44-54 W1 Cook (2-0) Veale (6-11) Dierker (1) 14,069 2:49 D
Sun 7/26/1970 at Pirates W 6-4 (10) 45-54 W2 Lemaster (7-12) Giusti (8-2) Gladding (11) 40,131 2:42 D
Tue 7/28/1970 at Cubs W 10-4 46-54 W3 Billingham (9-3) Pappas (6-4) Ray (4) 23,159 2:52 D
Wed 7/29/1970 at Cubs L 2-9 46-55 L1 Holtzman (11-9) Dierker (9-9) 22,881 2:51 D
Thu 7/30/1970 at Cubs L 3-6 46-56 L2 Jenkins (12-12) Griffin (3-12) 22,003 2:46 D
Fri 7/31/1970 vs Cardinals L 1-5 46-57 L3 Carlton (6-14) Cook (2-1) 21,697 2:39 N
Sat 8/1/1970 vs Cardinals L 7-14 46-58 L4 Briles (3-3) Wilson (4-5) Campisi (4) 29,923 3:07 N
Sun 8/2/1970 vs Cardinals L 2-3 46-59 L5 Gibson (14-5) Billingham (9-4) 23,965 1:53 D
Mon 8/3/1970 1 vs Braves W 7-5 47-59 W1 Culver (5-3) Niekro (9-14) Lemaster (1) 2:50 N
Mon 8/3/1970 2 vs Braves L 1-3 47-60 L1 Reed (4-4) Dierker (9-10) 23,443 2:21 N
Tue 8/4/1970 vs Braves L 1-6 47-61 L2 Jarvis (13-8) Cook (2-2) Wilhelm (9) 17,842 2:30 N
Wed 8/5/1970 at Padres W 4-3 (10) 48-61 W1 Gladding (4-1) Dukes (0-3) 3,286 2:44 N
Thu 8/6/1970 at Padres W 8-6 49-61 W2 Billingham (10-4) Coombs (9-9) Culver (1) 3,221 3:08 N
Fri 8/7/1970 at Giants W 11-2 50-61 W3 Dierker (10-10) Bryant (3-5) 5,394 2:58 N
Sat 8/8/1970 at Giants L 5-6 50-62 L1 McMahon (7-3) Culver (5-4) 8,023 3:00 D
Sun 8/9/1970 1 at Giants W 7-5 (10) 51-62 W1 DiLauro (1-3) Robertson (6-8) 3:39 D
Sun 8/9/1970 2 at Giants L 1-6 51-63 L1 Perry (16-10) Griffin (3-13) 14,540 2:30 D
Tue 8/11/1970 vs Phillies L 5-6 51-64 L2 Bunning (9-11) Billingham (10-5) Selma (16) 18,184 2:20 N
Wed 8/12/1970 vs Phillies W 4-0 52-64 W1 Dierker (11-10) G. Jackson (3-11) 16,677 1:51 N
Thu 8/13/1970 vs Phillies W 4-3 53-64 W2 Ray (5-3) Selma (5-6) Gladding (12) 14,413 2:28 N
Fri 8/14/1970 vs Expos L 2-10 53-65 L1 Renko (7-8) Cook (2-3) 13,772 2:37 N
Sat 8/15/1970 vs Expos W 7-3 54-65 W1 Wilson (5-5) Morton (14-9) Gladding (13) 14,527 2:21 D
Sun 8/16/1970 vs Expos L 3-5 54-66 L1 Raymond (4-7) Cook (2-4) 19,235 3:00 D
Tue 8/18/1970 at Mets L 1-7 54-67 L2 Gentry (9-6) Dierker (11-11) 36,496 2:08 N
Wed 8/19/1970 at Mets W 9-4 55-67 W1 Blasingame (1-0) Seaver (17-8) Gladding (14) 38,539 3:12 D
Fri 8/21/1970 1 at Phillies L 3-9 55-68 L1 Bunning (10-12) Billingham (10-6) 2:13 N
Fri 8/21/1970 2 at Phillies W 9-1 56-68 W1 Wilson (6-5) G. Jackson (3-13) 8,113 2:14 N
Sat 8/22/1970 at Phillies L 1-2 56-69 L1 Hoerner (7-3) Gladding (4-2) 15,276 2:30 D
Sun 8/23/1970 at Phillies L 0-4 56-70 L2 Wise (11-11) Blasingame (1-1) Selma (17) 3,485 2:37 D
Tue 8/25/1970 at Expos W 6-3 (13) 57-70 W1 Cook (3-4) Marshall (1-6) DiLauro (3) 19,897 3:51 N
Wed 8/26/1970 at Expos W 5-4 58-70 W2 Gladding (5-2) Renko (9-9) 11,088 2:19 N
Thu 8/27/1970 at Expos W 5-4 59-70 W3 Dierker (12-11) Wegener (3-5) 16,158 2:10 N
Fri 8/28/1970 vs Mets W 2-1 60-70 W4 Blasingame (2-1) Seaver (17-10) 19,076 1:59 N
Sat 8/29/1970 vs Mets W 9-8 (10) 61-70 W5 Culver (6-4) McGraw (2-5) 16,203 3:24 D
Sun 8/30/1970 vs Mets W 9-5 62-70 W6 Wilson (7-5) Ryan (6-10) Gladding (15) 15,754 2:40 D
Tue 9/1/1970 vs Padres L 1-2 (10) 62-71 L1 Dobson (11-13) Culver (6-5) 6,492 2:38 N
Wed 9/2/1970 vs Padres W 2-1 63-71 W1 Blasingame (3-1) Coombs (9-11) Gladding (16) 6,395 1:59 N
Thu 9/3/1970 vs Padres L 0-4 63-72 L1 Kirby (9-14) Billingham (10-7) 5,465 2:23 N
Fri 9/4/1970 vs Dodgers W 7-3 64-72 W1 Wilson (8-5) Vance (5-6) Gladding (17) 3,909 2:17 N
Sat 9/5/1970 vs Dodgers W 7-2 65-72 W2 Dierker (13-11) Osteen (14-12) 15,053 1:59 N
Sun 9/6/1970 vs Dodgers L 3-4 65-73 L1 Mikkelsen (3-2) Gladding (5-3) Brewer (22) 15,687 2:18 D
Mon 9/7/1970 1 at Padres W 10-5 66-73 W1 Forsch (1-0) Nyman (0-1) 2:05 D
Mon 9/7/1970 2 at Padres W 9-4 67-73 W2 Billingham (11-7) Coombs (9-12) 5,524 2:39 D
Tue 9/8/1970 at Padres W 8-7 68-73 W3 Wilson (9-5) Kirby (9-15) Gladding (18) 1,893 2:35 N
Wed 9/9/1970 at Giants L 5-9 68-74 L1 Jerry Johnson (5-3) Dierker (13-12) McMahon (15) 3,180 2:49 D
Thu 9/10/1970 at Giants L 0-11 68-75 L2 Perry (20-13) Blasingame (3-2) 2,449 2:12 D
Fri 9/11/1970 vs Braves W 3-2 69-75 W1 Billingham (12-7) Wilhelm (6-4) 7,928 2:11 N
Sat 9/12/1970 vs Braves L 3-5 69-76 L1 Jarvis (16-12) Forsch (1-1) 9,821 2:20 N
Sun 9/13/1970 vs Braves W 10-6 70-76 W1 Wilson (10-5) Stone (11-10) Ray (5) 8,232 2:29 N
Tue 9/15/1970 vs Reds W 9-2 71-76 W2 Dierker (14-12) McGlothlin (13-9) 9,369 2:15 N
Wed 9/16/1970 vs Reds L 2-3 71-77 L1 Nolan (17-7) Blasingame (3-3) Carroll (13) 11,376 2:06 N
Thu 9/17/1970 at Dodgers W 10-5 72-77 W1 Cook (4-4) Foster (9-13) Lemaster (2) 9,033 2:52 N
Fri 9/18/1970 at Dodgers L 2-3 72-78 L1 Vance (6-7) Billingham (12-8) Mikkelsen (5) 12,072 2:39 N
Sat 9/19/1970 at Dodgers L 5-6 72-79 L2 Strahler (1-0) Wilson (10-6) Brewer (24) 10,458 2:24 D
Sun 9/20/1970 at Dodgers L 6-7 (14) 72-80 L3 Lamb (6-0) Culver (6-6) 21,048 4:13 D
Mon 9/21/1970 at Reds L 0-2 72-81 L4 Gullett (4-2) Forsch (1-2) Granger (34) 10,659 2:21 N
Tue 9/22/1970 at Reds L 5-6 72-82 L5 Wilcox (3-1) Gladding (5-4) Granger (35) 11,975 2:37 N
Wed 9/23/1970 at Reds L 2-6 72-83 L6 Cloninger (9-6) Billingham (12-9) Carroll (15) 11,845 2:25 N
Fri 9/25/1970 at Braves W 7-4 (12) 73-83 W1 Gladding (6-4) Jarvis (16-15) Culver (2) 2,902 3:21 N
Sat 9/26/1970 at Braves W 5-2 74-83 W2 Dierker (15-12) Stone (11-11) 3,078 1:54 N
Sun 9/27/1970 at Braves W 10-7 75-83 W3 Ray (6-3) Nash (13-9) Culver (3) 6,159 3:22 N
Mon 9/28/1970 vs Giants W 3-0 76-83 W4 Billingham (13-9) Bryant (5-8) 6,160 2:10 N
Tue 9/29/1970 vs Giants W 3-1 77-83 W5 Wilson (11-6) Reberger (7-8) Lemaster (3) 6,768 2:07 N
Wed 9/30/1970 vs Giants W 4-3 78-83 W6 Dierker (16-12) McMahon (9-5) 8,673 2:24 N
Thu 10/1/1970 vs Giants W 5-4 79-83 W7 Gladding (7-4) Davison (3-5) 9,018 2:42 N

Totals:


Data courtesy of Retrosheet